KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Vacation Thoughts


Actually, the title should be Post-Vacation Thoughts because I didn’t spend one single second thinking about this while on vacation.

I’ve had facial hair since I was twenty.  So, that’s thirty years, well except for that one day.  Sometimes it’s a full beard, typically trimmed pretty close.  Most of the time, it’s a Van Dyke style beard.  Go here if you want to make sure you know what a Van Dyke is.  I’ve always thought of what I have as a goatee.  Turns out I’m wrong.  It’s a Van Dyke.  Lately, I’ve grown the Van Dyke longer than I ever used to.  I had it going pretty good, but trimmed it back just before we left.

The reason why I stick with the Van Dyke over a full beard most of the time is that the hair on my cheeks and sides isn’t as thick as the area around my mouth.  So, it just doesn’t look as good.  When I go the full beard it’s because I’m tired of the daily shaving.  Or because…

I shave five days a week — Monday through Friday.  And on Saturdays and Sundays, I rest.  No shaving.  Don’t even think about it.  And, on Monday, I drag the razor across my skin to be presentable for work.

When I’m on vacation, I don’t shave either.  So, I spent the last week in Cabo and never once thought about shaving or the need to shave — didn’t even take the necessary implements of torture.  It’s time for the full beard again.

Which leads to the thought for today.  My question.  When I retire and am permanently on vacation, what will compel me to shave?  I’m struggling to see why I won’t end up looking like this…

Duvall_wild-hair_400px

 

9 responses to “Vacation Thoughts

  1. sknicholls July 14, 2014 at 1:14 pm

    I think the guy actually has character. The rocket scientist grew a beard. i didn’t like it at first. The clean cut look that had attracted me was gone and it was scratchy, but it grows on you (no pun intended..you’ll find that in my latest novel). he has a sort of seafarer’s look going on and I like it.

    • kingmidget July 14, 2014 at 5:35 pm

      My wife doesn’t like when my beard gets longer, but that will be inevitable over the years to come as I have less and less of a need to shave. I plan on growing my Van Dyke as long as I can stand in the months ahead. A friend says it makes me look more like a writer. 😉

  2. Justine July 16, 2014 at 10:21 am

    Ahem. Dare I ask if the hair on the head will grow as long as the chin? I still think that’s a cool post-retirement look to go for!

  3. Anonymous July 16, 2014 at 9:35 pm

    No question….that picture will be you post retirement about 6 months after driving around the US in an RV scaring everyone you meet and not caring.

  4. melissa nacinovich July 22, 2014 at 7:20 am

    I think as long as you take a shower nobody really cares if you have a crazy beard and hair LOL.

Leave a Reply

