KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Mr. King, I’m Done With You


Yes, I’m reading 11/22/63, purchased in paperback with my hard-earned cash.  Based on the reviews, I thought this book was different.  That maybe, just maybe, you had finally broken out of the endless repetitiveness that has been your schtick lately.  I swore after reading Under the Dome that I was done with you.  Talk about a story that is identical to so many others of you.  Yes, change the premise a bit, the setting a little, and you have a new book.  But the reality is the characters are the same, the good versus evil is the same, the story is basically what you have written over and over and over.

But those reviews of 11/22/63 suggested something new.  Something better.

Well, apparently not.  You’ve taken us right back to Derry which, along with Castle Rock, represents everything that is evil in the world.  Just how many stories is it that you have written that bring us back to Derry?  Well, thanks to Google, which took me to Goodreads, I can answer that question:

– The Running Man (1982)
– Pet Sematary (1983)
– “Uncle Otto’s Truck” (1983)
– “Mrs. Todd’s Shortcut” (1984)
– It (1986)
– The Tommyknockers (1987)
– “The Night Flier” (1988)
– Secret Window, Secret Garden (1990)
– Needful Things (1991)
– Insomnia (1994)
– “Autopsy Room Four” (1997)
– Bag of Bones (1998)
– “The Road Virus Heads North” (1999)
– Dreamcatcher (2001)
– The Dark Tower VII: The Dark Tower (2004)
– Lisey’s Story (2006)
– “Mute” (2007)
– “Fair Extension” (2010)
– 11/22/63 (2011)

Do you see a problem here, Mr. King?  No, probably not.  How can it be a problem if you’re continuing to rake in millions of dollars?  How can it be a problem when you continue to top the bestseller list and have at least some critics singing your praises?

I read The Shining when I was in high school.  Alone at home one Saturday evening.  It was my first book of yours and I was terrified.  Pet Sematary was equally frightening.  I loved The Stand the Dead Zone.  It was a classic.  I looked forward to each chapter of the Dark Tower series until you ruined it with your incredibly self-absorbed, self-centered ending that was really nothing more than taking the easy way out.

I think that’s where my love of your storytelling began to erode.  You completely f$%$#@’d up a great story with the ending to Dark Tower.  The first book in the series — an absolute classic.  The ending destroyed it all.

And, now, when it comes to your novels, you can do nothing more than write stories that are twice as long as they need to be and are really nothing more than repeats of prior stories or mining the deep, dark corners of places you’ve already been.

I would so love to see you take us somewhere new.  Sadly, I don’t think you’re capable of it anymore.

P.S.  Thanks to a friend I read the novel Replay a few months ago.  Some of the similarities between that story and 11/22/63 are remarkable.  You sure you can claim 11/22/63 as your own?

P.P.S.  Please, please do not let me read another novel of yours.

4 responses to “Mr. King, I’m Done With You

  1. Kathy February 17, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    You’ve been mad at him since the Dark Tower. I still love him, although I see some titles I haven’t read. Some I know I wouldn’t be interested in, but I’m going to have to check out a couple titles. I loved Under the Dome. I want to re-read Needful Things. Did you ever read Gerald’s Game? I think that’s the name … I know it’s a man’s name and “game.”

    • kingmidget February 17, 2013 at 5:43 pm

      I read Gerald’s Game. Don’t remember it though. Problem is I keep buying his books. I wasn’t going to anymore, but the reviews I heard about for 11/22/63 suggested it was a different story. That I just had to spend a significant chunk of time reading through Derry again pissed me off.

  2. ManatheCat February 18, 2013 at 12:32 pm

    Have you read Full Dark, No Stars? It really unnerved me and I don’t think I could read it again because it was so dark and morbid. However I also did go off King. Bag of Bones was the cause, the plot was incredibly tedious and lackluster. Unashamedly I will say I loved Under the Dome but can completely understand your reasoning behind your opinion too. Towards the end it began to feel very reminiscent of ‘It’. I have also just purchased Blaze and The Stand. Let’s see how I fare.

    • kingmidget February 18, 2013 at 3:44 pm

      I don’t remember Blaze. Years ago when I first read The Stand, I loved it. thought it was one of his best books. Now, it seems so much like all the other stuff he’s written. Hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

