KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Song For Today


This album came out back in 2004. My kids were nine and six at the time. I don’t know that I was an immediate fan of the album.Ā  (And yes, I still refer to them as albums. Deal with it.) At some point, the songs started getting regular play on the radio and other listening devices in the ol’ castle. And I had those kiddos with their big ears who liked everything I liked back then. And they started rocking to this stuff pretty quickly.

I remember having a conversation with a co-worker who had kids a little younger. The issue was when do you as the parent and listener allow your kids to listen to songs with “bad words” in them. When do you open that door? It was this album that cracked that door open for our kids. Sure seems like such a small issue now, all these years later.

Anyway. Enjoy. This song requires maximum volume.

7 responses to “A Song For Today

  1. coastalmom October 14, 2017 at 5:51 pm

    I didn’t notice the bad words. I watched this all the way through. It’s sad because the singer has a pretty good voice. What bothers me is all the times they referred to Jesus. Even when I was a rebellious teenager. It would have bothered me. Six and nine years old? Forty is too young if you ask me. Besides being politically incorrect on so many levels (and I GET that, that’s the whole point of the song.) I feel that listening to the lyrics and watching the video all the way through it’s an obvious waste of artistic talent. And whether I “allowed” my kids to watch or listen to this genre of “music” and o have trouble calling it that. We know by now that if our kids want to watch or listen to something they will ( I’m talking about as teenagers, not elementary or intermediate school age which I feel we DO have way more control if we are good parents) and make their own minds up regarding how they feel about it I just think our job is letting them know how we feel.
    You always give me food for thought.

    • kingmidget October 14, 2017 at 6:03 pm

      I thought of you when this song came on my playlist on my drive home from a hike today and I thought about blogging the song. The Jesus references in particular. There are sorts of ideas and principles out there and I think the worst thing we can do as parents is to try to shield our kids from those we disagree with. As you say, at the end of the day they will make their own minds up and we should allow them to do that.

      By the way, I continue to be a non-believer of the worst sort. ;). But my wife is Jewish and we have raised our kids in that faith. As a result, the references to Jesus don’t have the same impact.

      And how are you? Aren’t you somewhere near Santa Rosa and the fires?

      • coastalmom October 14, 2017 at 6:10 pm

        No we are between Santa Barbara and San Francisco. Thanks for asking. My heart goes out to them. Last summer we had evacuations pretty close to us when fires came very close (within a dozen miles to us.) We were okay. Yesterday day several fires broke out near us due to a truck and trailer chain being dragged.
        I have to say that you make me smile.
        I’m glad that you thought of me when you thought of that song. I’m making a dent. šŸ˜œ

      • kingmidget October 14, 2017 at 6:42 pm

        There is a Jewish camp in the hills outside of Santa Rosa. My kids have been there a number of times. It is one of those things that seems so small but matters in a big way. It was burned to the ground Sunday night. There are many tales of tragedy from these fires. Glad that you are safe. And that I can make you, or anybody else, smile.

      • coastalmom October 14, 2017 at 6:44 pm

        So sorry to hear about the camp.
        Knowing you, I bet you make more people smile than you know. šŸ˜šŸ˜‰

      • kingmidget October 14, 2017 at 6:45 pm

        By the way, I was sure you were in the Santa Rosa area. Where did I go wrong?

  2. coastalmom October 15, 2017 at 11:45 am

    Not sure. It’s about 250 miles North of us.

Leave a comment