KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Worst Song Contest


I’ve posted a lot of Songs For the Day around here over the five years I’ve been hanging out on this blog. But today, as the title suggests, it’s time for something a little different. As I drove home from work today, I went through the pre-programmed stations. I have satellite radio and a car that lets me program either 25 or 30 stations. So, there’s a lot of them.

When I got to the station that features 80s music, I heard a song that prompted this idea. I’ll get to that song in a minute.

What are the criteria for this contest?  I think they are the following:

  1. The song had to be popular in its time.
  2. The song had to be wrong then.
  3. And still wrong now.

So, here’s my nominee. This song was released in January 1985. Both the song and the record it was on went to #1 on the U.S. Billboard charts. I hated it then. I still hate it now. It has absolutely no redeeming quality or value to it.

What song is your nominee?

6 responses to “A Worst Song Contest

  1. Kevin Brennan July 11, 2017 at 9:53 am

    I never really got over “Me And You And a Dog Named Boo.” https://youtu.be/aTbBvPoxUkk

    Of course there were a lot of very, very wrong songs in the ’70s. This is but one.

    • kingmidget July 11, 2017 at 6:50 pm

      And it peaked at #5 of the Billboard charts! We definitely have a contender. I couldn’t make it through 5 seconds of the song. And you’re right, there was a lot of particularly bad stuff in the 70’s. Not just music, but the clothes!

  2. Cayman Thorn July 12, 2017 at 6:06 pm

    I never understood Sussudio…or the fascination with it.
    I would say “We Built This City” by Jefferson Starship.

    • kingmidget July 12, 2017 at 7:55 pm

      We Built This City is a song a lot of people throw out as one of the worst ever … probably because of the lineage of the group and the utterly inane lyrics of the song. But I think it’s just slightly a notch above Sussudio. As bad as We Built This City is, it’s got a little bit of good in it. It is a worthy nomination for this shameful group of songs.

Leave a Reply

