KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Gal Gadot is Beautiful, Car Commercials Suck


It’s over 100 degrees in the homeland this weekend.  There came a point at which I realized I could either stay in the air conditioned coolness of the ol’ home, or do something else.  Too hot for hiking or doing much of anything outside, I suggested to the Queen Midget that we should go see a movie.  There isn’t much out these days I care about so “whatever you want to see” was my offer.

We went to see Wonder Woman.  I’m not a big fan of superhero movies anymore.  They seem incredibly repetitive, redundant, and utterly ridiculous.  Yes, it’s all entertainment and escapist, but I can only see so many movies where there is a mysterious cube that casts off an eerie blue light and then sends lightning to the sky to open the clouds and let in the alien hoards.

Wonder Woman was somewhat different and better than my last few superhero experiences.  Having Gal Gadot to look at for 2 hours and 20 minutes didn’t hurt.  Not a bit.

But … what really gets me is this.

While we waited for the movie to start and the theater went through all of the commercials and other crap that leads up to the movie, a thing came on.  It looked like a preview to me, even though we weren’t actually in the official preview portion of the pre-movie entertainment.  Slickly made, with one of my favorite songs — Simon & Garfunkel’s America playing — I spent almost 90 seconds thinking this was a movie I needed to see.

I was intrigued.  Fascinated.  I wanted to see this movie when it came out.

Oh wait.  This is a frickin’ car commercial?!  Are you kidding me?!?!?!

Fine.

Back to Ms. Gadot.

I’d have her baby.  Never mind that she apparently was pregnant when this movie was filmed and doesn’t need me to have her baby (or that whole other thing about biological impossibility) … I’m willing to make the sacrifice.

And I’m never going to buy a Volkswagen.  But I am going to listen to America.

5 responses to “Gal Gadot is Beautiful, Car Commercials Suck

  1. COastalmom July 8, 2017 at 11:52 pm

    It was 110 here today! I remember you mentioning that you were going to visit my stomping grounds ( I live 30 miles away from San Luis Obispo.) & meant to come back to comment but was on my iPhone & hate later reading what I typed & realize my smart phone autocorrected a totally wrong word that makes no sense.
    Anyway, too funny about the commercials in the previews. They don’t gouge us enough already?? I personally love the trailers but please don’t slip in a commercial when you’re asking me to pay $6 bucks for a Diet Coke!! 😏

    • kingmidget July 9, 2017 at 7:35 am

      We were in Arroyo Grande last weekend. Spent a few hours at Pismo one day, went to a melodrama in Grover Beach, hung out with the family for a couple of days. You must be up by Paso Robles. It’s amazing the difference in temp in those 30 miles.

      As for the commercial, I was blown away by the quality of the thing and was incredibly annoyed when it ended up as a car commercial. Can you tell?

  2. Pamela Beckford July 9, 2017 at 5:20 am

    Loved Wonder Woman. For many reasons.

  3. Kevin Brennan July 9, 2017 at 7:51 am

    Yep, it hit 107 up here the other day. We’re headed to the City today to experience some coolness …

    We actually bought a VW just before the diesel scandal came out, and we got a tidy sum from them as a result. It’s a great car too, but I’d rather be driving a Tesla. 😉

Leave a Reply

