KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

My Proudest Moment As An American


When I read about this today …

18 responses to “My Proudest Moment As An American

  1. Carrie Rubin June 29, 2017 at 6:18 pm

    So ridiculous and embarrassing for our country, isn’t it? I laughed when I saw this tweet because it’s how I feel every time I say I’m done watching this stuff: https://twitter.com/andrew_nunez/status/880431113335865344

  2. cinthiaritchie June 29, 2017 at 6:20 pm

    Sometimes, there are just no words (except to think: WTF?).

  3. Cayman Thorn June 29, 2017 at 8:07 pm

    Where HAVE you gone..Joe Dimaggio? Our nation turns it’s lonely eyes to you…

    • kingmidget June 29, 2017 at 8:22 pm

      Indeed. I’m over on a right-wing blog arguing with people who claim that Obama was worse. It’s just stunning how, in this world of information overload, we have divided into two completely different worlds with two completely different sets of facts.

      • Cayman Thorn June 30, 2017 at 5:47 am

        Remember after 9/11 how people were like . .”Well, this will bring us all closer together”. Somehow, the opposite has happened. Sadly.

      • kingmidget June 30, 2017 at 6:33 am

        Yes, 9/11 could have done that, at least for a while, but I pin the divide as starting with the Clinton Presidency. Sure, there have always been passionate disagreements between the right and left, but it was the unhinged response to his election by the right, who had come to believe in the Presidency as their birthright, that started us down this path.

  4. Pingback: I’m Really Getting Tired Of This | KingMidget's Ramblings

  5. coastalmom June 30, 2017 at 6:46 am

    I was at a wedding last weekend. The mother of the bride’s son, (who is my friend) worked for Trump. (We both lived in Palos Verdes CA.) At his golf course. He kept moving up and ended up having quite a good little position. It made me laugh a little when his show came out and I’d always wondered how her son was doing.
    When I saw her at the wedding, I asked about her son and her thoughts on Trump “now.”
    Turns out her son was eventually fired by Trump himself.
    Not knowing any of the details (I didn’t ask why he was fired & there could have been a legitimate reason) she said Trump humiliated her son, did it in front of everyone and is a despicable human being but proceeded to tell me that she voted for him because “unfortunately he is what our country needs right now.”
    At first I rolled my eyes. I’ve had it with the unpresidential and unfiltered ramblings of Trump. But it made me look at her perspective. Who more but a mother’s heart can you judge a man by? I’d just have been all consumed in regarding a man who’d hurt any of my kids as the idiot he looks like on Twitter. But it also made me look at what she meant.
    And I’m not so sure she’s wrong. No matter how sure we are that Trump’s a bumbling idiot. I’m not convinced that Hillary would have been a lighthouse in the darkness. And that no one since Regan (Republican or Democrat) has made a difference.
    Trump is definitely no Regan!! And he has proven by this tweet that even all the King’s horses and all the King’s men can NOT filter his tweets, I’m curious what my friend meant and why she voted for him. She definitely is not ignorant by any means.

    • kingmidget June 30, 2017 at 6:55 am

      As I’ve written, I did not vote for either Trump or Clinton. I also didn’t vote for Clinton in the primary in 2008. So, I’m no fan of hers, but even on a policy level, I am flummoxed by people who (a) believe they actually know what Trump’s policies are in any real sense; and (b) believe those policies are what are best for this country as a whole. Sure, if you’re rich, and he is able to achieve what he wants, you’ll be doing great. But the rest of this country will suffer.

      But, even if you agree with his policies, at some point his behavior and his antics and his words must override the policy benefits you see he offers. At some point, there have to be some standards of behavior that have to be met to be worthy of the office.

      I’ll never understand people who voted for him and who continue to defend him. He has trashed so much in such a short time.

      As far as I’m concerned, he also is suffering from some combination of mental issues that render him unfit. It’s all just really stunning and I can only hope that he hasn’t destroyed this country by the time he leaves office.

      As for whether nobody made a difference since Reagan. The problem is that switching parties every eight years means these days that nothing is in place long enough to make a real difference. Clinton put in place some very good things, but many of those things were reversed once Bush II was elected. Obama also did some good things, and it seems like that anything he did is on the priority list for reversal under Trump. I can appreciate that you and I likely won’t agree on what the “good things” are, but the reality is our country has become like ping-pong over the last 30 years. Eight years on this side, eight years on the other, and back and forth.

Leave a Reply

