KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Looking Forward


Over the next 6-8 weeks, this will be my life.

A four day weekend trip with the family to my sister’s house near San Luis Obispo. It’s been quite awhile since we’ve done this. I’m looking forward to it. She lives in a beautiful part of the state with plenty of options for beaches and nature’s beauty.

A weekend camping trip with my boys. Or solo if they can’t make it. We’ll be headed to Lake Almanor for a couple of nights. I’m ashamed to admit we’ve never done this before. I’m looking forward to it and hope it begins a tradition that will eventually expand to some backpacking trips as well.

An overnight work trip to San Diego. I’ll let you decide whether I’m looking forward to it. 😉

A five day trip to Vancouver, British Columbia. I’ve never been there. I’m looking forward to it.

A two night camping trip into the Sierra Nevadas with a group of about 25-30 people. We went on this trip last year. The organizer provides and makes all of the food. We get to just show up with our tent and sleeping bag and relax. I’m looking forward to it.

An overnight camping trip to Tamales Bay that will include a night-time kayaking trip where we will be able to see bioluminescent sea life. I’m looking forward to it.

A month or so ago, I told myself I wanted to make sure that I did something every weekend this summer. A long bike ride. A long hike. A day trip to the ocean. An overnight here. A long weekend there. I want to do every one of those things I just listed up there. And I look at the list and ask myself … where’s my opportunity to relax. Sigh.

There will be plenty of opportunities to relax within those trips. Yes, there will.

I’m looking forward to it.

7 responses to “Looking Forward

  1. Pamela Beckford June 17, 2017 at 4:16 pm

    I was in Vancouver a year ago. What a beautiful city! The waterfront was just what I needed at the time. Looking forward to pictures from your trips.

    • kingmidget June 17, 2017 at 4:18 pm

      If you have any suggestions on places to see or visit, I’m all ears. We are going to see Neil Diamond while we’re there and plan on spending a day in Whistler. Other than that , no plans.

      • Pamela Beckford June 17, 2017 at 4:21 pm

        The aquarium was nice. I was pretty stuck with no transportation so I didn’t see so much. But I walked miles and miles every day on the waterfront. I just saw Neil Diamond a couple of weeks ago. Good show but he’s definitely getting older. Seemed to be shuffling across the stage.

      • kingmidget June 17, 2017 at 4:23 pm

        We are staying in Gastown which looks like it is on the East end of downtown. I expect we will do a lot of walking and exploring. We won’t have a car either.

  2. Carrie Rubin June 17, 2017 at 4:28 pm

    Sounds wonderful. Lots of reading time too hopefully!

  3. Kevin Brennan June 19, 2017 at 11:59 am

    Sounds like a jam-packed summer, man! Given the temps around here, I’m surprised you’re not heading for Iceland, though. 😉

Leave a Reply

