KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Generally Speaking …


Why do women like musicals while men don’t?  (I ask this question after seeing Phantom of the Opera with the missus and experiencing 2 1/2 hours of the most mind-numbing entertainment ever.)

Why do drivers believe they are the center of the universe, the rules don’t apply to them, and if you follow the rules, you’re the problem?  (I ask this question after days, weeks, months, and years of experience on the roads and seeing people just become more and more stupid.)

Why does the current young adult generation seem so lost?  (I ask this question as I struggle with my own young adult children and their own struggles with growing up.  They are both boys.  Please don’t apply your own generalization to this and say “it’s because boys mature later.”)

Why does the political discussion seem to be totally dominated by the extremes of both sides — both of which seem completely and totally unwilling to consider there may be any validity to the other side’s views?  (Okay, that may not be a generalization.  It may just be true.)

That’s what I’ve got for now.  Discuss amongst yourselves.  Let me know what you come up with.

14 responses to “Generally Speaking …

  1. hirundine608 May 26, 2017 at 7:52 am

    I think musicals are so popular, men and women, is because you know the ending is predictable. That the music is quite sedentary and the love story is what the women adore. I have not seen PotO but I’ve heard some of the music. Maybe that’s one good reason to stay away from this one?

    Other drivers? Now you’re hitting a nerve. Poor driving skills is probably a result of poor policing? Here in Canada, you mostly do not see Police on the streets. You see them in cars, occasionally they have a vehicle pulled over. Mainly they use roadblocks to check for seatbelts and alcohol related. The days of police on “the beat” are lost. Lost to policy from higher up, of reaction over proaction. The judicial bears some of the blame, with endless lines of cases and overburdening of cases in the system.

    Lost youth? Ever was it thusly. It is a familiar refrain yet somehow as we age, it all remains the same. I can understand the frustration. Men/boys need to find their way. As much as you would like it to be different. Your own skills are and will be taxed. Until they get through the onrush of hormones. Girls have to learn that the boys are constantly trying to impregnate them. That’s the meaning of life. Procreation and self survival.

    Politics? Hmmm, like hucksters, politicians sell themselves. To their backers and the electorate. If the people are uneducated? Then you will find uneducated choices. The people behind the politicians are the ones pulling the strings. They’ve been doing it for a long while. Slowly, slowly, nudging it to their favour. Weeding out the honourable and strong ones. Until their governments, bends to their will.

    Lastly, it has been said. If you want to change the world? Change yourself. I would like to see a world more universally loving. So I’m trying to be that. Less critical and more loving. But it’s hard. Cheers Jamie.

    • kingmidget May 27, 2017 at 7:02 am

      “I would like to see a world more universally loving. So I’m trying to be that. Less critical and more loving. But it’s hard.”

      Couldn’t agree more with this comment. It’s my objective as well,, but as you say, it is sometimes hard to manage.

  2. Kevin Brennan May 26, 2017 at 8:12 am

    I’ve been dragged to a few musicals over the years, but as my wife likes to point out, most jazz standards come from musicals of the ’30s – ’50s, so shut up.

    In driving, I’ve adopted Steve Wozniak’s idea that we should all just help each other get where we’re going. It works, at least in terms of my own attitude …

    I don’t know about you, but I was fairly lost at age 20. Things seem to gel in the next few years. I’ll admit, though, I know a lot of people in their early 30s who seem to be living pinball lives. Bouncing all over the place.

    And finally, I don’t know of any left wing extremists in the political discussion. I think of left wing extremism as essentially Marxist/Leninist, and that’s been pretty much tamped down, don’t you think? Seize the means of production!

    • kingmidget May 26, 2017 at 2:01 pm

      Let’s put it a different way … the political debate is dominated by people on both sides who have no interest in listening to the other side to our nation’s detriment.

      • hirundine608 May 26, 2017 at 6:48 pm

        It is a mistake to think your nation is the only nation … even the lowliest of the world’s nations, needs support from us all. Or we are lost into the globalist agendas. Cheers Jamie

      • kingmidget May 26, 2017 at 6:56 pm

        Feel free to tell me what I said that suggested I think we are the only nation.

      • hirundine608 May 26, 2017 at 8:22 pm

        My dear kingmidget, it’s an overall projection. Not your fault. It is an American projection, from your country’s hegemony. One that i do not blame the citizens for.

        When the U.S.A. interferes with any legitimate government, It is bound to happen.

        This is a discussion.

        If you are offended? Please? Please accept my apologies?

        Did you state that? No! Unequivocally not.

        Yet, one needs to get by that whole ideology. The American people project that somehow? That they are the only nation on earth that matters. It comes in the way your countrymen write.

        How quickly they bridle, at the suggestion of “they are the only nation”. For they know how it happens;

        The American people are being manipulated by the bankers. Look at how many wars, come from the USA and how many from other countries. Like Iran, Syria, China or Russia? Nicaragua, Vietnam,

        Since 1776 only 21 years of peace. http://www.washingtonsblog.com/2015/02/america-war-93-time-222-239-years-since-1776.html

        When the American politicians act as though they are the Police of the world. Who asked them to be so?

        Playing on the peoples fears and tickling the egos.

        America is very powerful, yet is being systematically robbed. By those same bankers.
        “War is a racket”. Maj. Gen. Smedley Butler
        Cheers Jamie.

      • kingmidget May 26, 2017 at 10:39 pm

        My problem was that you responded to a comment I made with your comment about “the only nation” without any explanation or qualification. To me it was a clear suggestion that you think that’s what I think or was suggesting. If not, my bad.

        That concept of America as “the only nation” is so far from what I believe and is what drives me crazy about many in this country. It is why I frequently am attracted to real libertarians who want to remove America from the world stage. It is why I have opposed virtually every foreign intervention this country has engaged in over the last 35 years (the length of my time as an adult).

        The truth, however, is that it is not just Americans who believe their nation is “the only nation.” It is a problem with those who have nationalist tendencies in virtually all of the countries of the world. The only difference is that America because of its “power” and dominance can actually put that concept into play much more than virtually any other country. And it’s that which sucks us into endless war and damage caused to other nations and peoples.

        By the way, many wars we have become involved in did not start at our instigation but began as local conflicts that we took over due to our geopolitical “needs.” Vietnam — didn’t start it. Syria — didn’t start it. Nicaragua — didn’t start it. I’m not excusing what we did ultimately in each of those locations, but those wars all started without us.

    • kingmidget May 26, 2017 at 10:41 pm

      When I was 20, I did not know what I wanted to do with my life, but I knew that I was in college and that was the path I needed to be on. So, even with being “lost” I still understood what my responsibility was. I fear mightily that my oldest son will be one of those people living pinball lives from now and costing me both financially and emotionally.

      • hirundine608 May 27, 2017 at 7:53 am

        Maybe ? Or, the boy may find his feet?

        The superficial view that USA did not start these wars. You may wish to look deeper into that? The actions against Syria, for example, was outlined as early George Dubya and likely before that. The countries were already in the gun sights. The CIA was involved in all those places. Prior to “official engagement”.

        So okay, they did not start them? So, why do they interfere?

        The bankers do not like oil producing countries to want payment, in real assets like Gold. They want them to expect payment in comparatively worthless petro-dollars. Each time a POTUS has tried to shake off the power of the Federal Reserve. They get killed by assassination. … Strange eh? Cheers Jamie

      • kingmidget May 27, 2017 at 9:43 am

        Yes. The boy may find his feet. I remain cautiously hopeful.

        As for why America interferes in other peoples’ wars — that is the $64,000 question. I’d prefer we didn’t. As I said, there are only one or two times in my adult lifetime I have supported American intervention abroad. The rest are actions I wish we had thought better of.

        You blame it on the bankers. I’m not going there. I think it is just our arrogance and hubris as the “superpower” that we have to constantly try to sway things where we think they should be.

      • Kevin Brennan May 27, 2017 at 6:13 pm

        I don’t envy that aspect of fatherhood. It’s got to be grueling … He’ll find himself eventually, though. Late bloomer, maybe.

      • kingmidget May 28, 2017 at 7:39 am

        It is very grueling. I’d just like to see him make some progress, move forward a bit, get some stability … and hold on to it.

  3. mphadventuregirl July 10, 2017 at 11:16 am

    I love musicals because they are a wonderful way to tell a story. Songs help you emotionally connect to characters in a way that spoken word can’t.

Leave a Reply

