KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

You Can’t Fix Stupid


And this is one of the reasons I waffle between disengaging from American politics and going to war against the stupid that has taken over this country.  Disengaging is a virtual impossibility because I have spent almost 35 years engaging in politics and issues and discussions and all of it.  It’s like asking a tiger to change its stripes.

So, this morning my wife told me she needed my help responding to somebody on her Facebook page.  I went and looked and couldn’t help myself.  She posted a picture of a woman holding a sign saying “Without Immigration Trump Would Have No Wives.”  (Side note — this is an example of alternative facts from the left — one of Trump’s wives was not an immigrant.)

Anyway …

Years ago, when our kids were little, we had a neighbor with a son who was the same age as my oldest son.  About 15 years ago, they moved to North Carolina, but through Facebook, my wife stayed in touch with them and that son has “friended” her on Facebook.  He responded to her post.  (From here on out, to protect the identity of the young (he’s 22) and the confused, he will be referred to as “Young Dude” and I’ll play the role of “Old Man.”

Young Dude:  But she went through the process legally to become a rightful citizen didn’t she? 🤔 trump doesn’t have an issue with immigrants he has an issue with illegal immigrants as so should every law abiding tax paying citizen

My wife accurately pointed out that those being stopped at airports are here legally.  He then quibbled over the details of what a green card means and my wife had a few comments back and forth with him.  His last comment before my wife asked me to chime in was this.

Young Dude: As far as I remember he [Young Dude is referring to the Orlando night club shooter] was not born here and he had only had his citizenship for about 5-7 years and and if you look all the mass shootings in the last couple of years about 90% of them were done by muslims with green cards or had just gotten there citizenship and what kinda a coincidence was Canada just said they would take in any Muslim refugees that America denies well there was a shooting at a mosque in Canada but a couple days ago and the shooters were green card muslims I mean people gotta open there eyes

Old Man: Mateen was born in New York. He was a citizen of the US his entire life. The suggestion that 90% of the mass shootings in the US are committed by Muslims is laughable.

Young Dude: It’s true, San bern, boston, pulse night club, can you name any more that weren’t from Muslim or eastern country origin🤔and oh my bad I messed up one thing

Young Dude: That have happened in the past 5-7 years

Young Dude: What about when Obama put a hold on Iraq refugees coming into the country for 6 months no uproar there?

Old Man: South Carolina, Planned Parenthood in Colorado, theater shooting in Colorado to name only a few. Here’s an idea google “mass shootings in US since 2010”. You got more than one thing wrong. Muslim mass shootings are a drop in the bucket.

Young Dude: Well I’m running short on time so to clear everything up I support the Muslim ban and if you don’t like it de-friend me on fb cuz I’m going through it anyways

Old Man: in other words, I don’t know what I’m talking about but I know what I think.

Young Dude: Excuse me? I don’t know who the fuck you are but I really do have to go got my son to take care of he just got up

Old Man: Another thing you got wrong. Obama didn’t ban all Iraqis and what he did was in response to a specific threat the Administration had received. Comparing the two is disingenuous.

Old Man: one more thing. I don’t know where you got your info regarding the shooters at the Canadian mosque were “green card muslims” but that wasn’t accurate either. There was apparently only one shooter and he was a Quebec native and there are no reports yet that he was Muslim. Is there a point at which a person is wrong about enough facts that they might reconsider their beliefs that are based on those wrong “facts”? Instead of dropping an f bomb and refusing to acknowledge the possibility of being wrong?

Young Dude:  I can drop the f bomb if I want to I was even confer-sating with you anymore so I don’t know why the fuck you keep tagging me in your comment keep my name out of your mouth

And that’s where the “discussion” ended.  Should I respond some more.  🙂  I really want to go back and refer to his comment about people needing to open their eyes and suggest that he is the one with his eyes closed.

This is what drives me crazy about Trump supporters — their completely reliance on alternative facts and fake news to drive their beliefs.  And their complete refusal to acknowledge that they could be wrong.  Head meet sand.  Head implant thyself in sand.

How is it remotely possible to address this kind of willful stupidity?  How is it remotely possible to effectively respond to Trump when there are tens of millions of Americans like this?

 

7 responses to “You Can’t Fix Stupid

  1. pinklightsabre January 30, 2017 at 7:16 pm

    Keep responding. Not to the anonymous in the comment boxes as much as in person. It is SO easy to dehumanize talking through boxes. I learned that working a Starbucks drive thru in the mid 90s. Real easy for people to hand their trash and crap-change from their ash tray when you’re separated by a few feet. (Bank tellers probably feel the same since they put in those pneumatic tubes.) Ha, glad you got that off your chest though Mark. We’re here for you buddy. 🙂

  2. Kevin Brennan January 31, 2017 at 7:55 am

    Depends on what your goal would be in getting back to him. If you hope to somehow enlighten him, I can tell from his diction that it ain’t gonna happen. He’s entrenched on the Dark Side. If you want him to see that you’ve arrived at your opinion by reading and thinking instead of just jerking your knee, maybe it’s worth another round. 😉

    Not to dehumanize him, but he sure sounds like an alt-right foot soldier to me.

  3. hirundine608 January 31, 2017 at 9:29 am

    I don’t know?

    If I was wanting? It’s easy to find disparaging comments about anything and anyone. What’s harder is to step back and leave the deluded to their delusions.

    Stupid has not taken over your country. It’s always been stupid. Not the country but the plenty of people, in it. Same as mine. Both of them. What is actually the great denominator, is the forum of the internet. Prior people would daub the walls, etc. with their slogans and bigotries.

    Having visited a muslim country twice now. Each one was supposed to be secular. I found then to be obnoxious. Having never been to Italy or Spain. I might find them the same way? My visit to Greece was an eye opener. Walking into a small shop for some beer and finding a Greek Orthodox priest blessing the rows of product with a bunch of oregano and water … presumably holy? As we lined up to pay. No they didn’t stop business. We all received the shower of water droplets from the priest. As we were leaving, we all got a plastic cup of Coca-Cola and some cookies.

    I digress. Generally the US has more of these types of crimes. Some of them are “false flag” and some of them are likely because the perps are triggered through a personality implant. I happen to believe there is an agenda.

    As for your friend the Young Dude? Let him have his delusions. You can take a horse to water but you can’t make it drink. People of that age are full of their own convictions and it has less to do with Mr. Trump, rather than their own hormones.

    I find even the so-called “left” in U’S. is far to the right on issues I remember from 1960’s. Those and since then.

    The notion of left or right in politics, comes down to us from Russia anyway.

    Denoting oneself as a liberal or conservative. Are ideas, designed to confuse. Conservatives, don’t conserve and Liberals are not really liberal in their ideas or policies.

    Mind control has been an issue for a while. Researched by the Nazi party in the death-camps. The researchers then co-opted to the U.S. after. Ewan Cameron is notorious; for being in charge of that program in both Canada and the U.S.

    JFK prior to being murdered had some pretty harsh words for the CIA. Little wonder they were involved in that then.

    Politics at any level is not a stand-alone issue. It’s all tied into the overall picture. Cheers Jamie

    • kingmidget January 31, 2017 at 7:50 pm

      I agree with you that the internet has made this much worse. The ability to broadcast anything and everything to a broad audience has, rather than leading to a more informed populace, led to a less informed populace more convinced of the rightness of their beliefs because they get confirmation of those believes from the internet.

      As for Young Dude — I’d like to ignore these deluded individuals, but … ah, yes, I should just ignore them. Problem is they have taken control of this country. ergh.

  4. hirundine608 February 1, 2017 at 7:46 am

    Currently, I find a large distortion of facts from the MSM [mainstream media] CNN has been caught lying about the news, several times. The whole temporary travel ban issue is hugely distorted. Both Mr. Clinton and Mr. Obama have done similar. No outcry then?

    Where was the outcry when the bombs were dropping in the Middle East? Divide and conquer, is a maxim from way back. As long as the people of USA are divided? Then they are conquerable. What happens here on Earth is small potatoes to the bigger universe. Stand outside on a clear night and look at the stars. They are all suns. Most of them have planets. Mathematicians tell us we have at least eleven dimensions in our world.

    It is not entirely out of the realm of possibility? That we ARE being run by the lizard people? Divide and conquer. Cheers Jamie.

  5. hirundine608 February 1, 2017 at 7:18 pm

    Sure .. why not. They are not the lizard people I was referencing. But .. whatever? Cheers Jamie

Leave a Reply

