KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Breaking from my Bloggus Interruptus…


… to discuss Alternative Facts.

I’m struggling with trying to figure out how to deal with the reality of a President Trump. He continues to amaze and offend me with his appointments, his tweets, his policies.  But the reality is that, under the rules of our elections, he won.  I have a tremendous amount of respect for those rules.  I’m an attorney after all.  Without rules, we are nothing more than animals.  Without rules, I don’t have a job.

I teeter between wanting to express my outrage at everything he does and wanting to say to all of my liberal brothers and sisters “he won, let’s see what happens.”  In my little liberal heart, I firmly believe that after two years of a Trump Administration, the American people will respond with a Democrat Congress, and two years later, a Democrat President. But who knows.  There’s a small piece of me that is intrigued by the idea of seeing what might actually happen with such Republican dominance.  I am not so confident in my views that I believe in them to the exclusion of all others.  I actually believe that the best way to success is through compromise and bipartisanship.  That conservatives have some good ideas and that liberal dominance is not the answer.  But … we have lived in this mushy world my entire adult life where neither party has true dominance at the national level.  Hence, the liberals never get everything they want and neither do the conservatives. Okay, the conservatives now have total control.  Let’s see what happens.

Also, I have grown tired of the partisan hysteria that exists on both sides.  The response from the left to every statement, every tweet, every decision, every word that comes from the new President just needs to end.  Take a breath and see what happens.  We look crazy and unhinged.  But the hysteria from the right is equally problematic.

Over the weekend, I got sucked into a political discussion on Facebook.  A friend there posted a few images from some of the more horrendous anti-Obama demonstrations to counter the argument that Saturday’s marches were an inappropriate act against President Trump.  A couple of her friends who were Trump supporters commented on it and I … well, I responded.  At one point, one of the friends said that many Republicans were willing to give Obama a chance, that he did so, but after two years when it became obvious that Obama wanted to take the United States down the path towards communism, well, he just couldn’t support Obama anymore.

Ignoring the falsehood that is “many Republicans were willing to give Obama a chance,” I focused on the idea that Obama pursued communist policies, as did another commenter on the thread.  We asked this individual what policies of Obama supported his claim.  His response?  That Obama had appointed several dozen czars during his Administration.

Yes, that’s right.  No specific policy that is communist or leading to communism.  Obama appointed czars.  I pointed out to him that the use of the word “czar” to identify a government official is generally a nickname the media uses.  That czar is not actually the person’s official title.  For example, the official title of the person who is called the marijuana czar in California is actually Director of the Bureau of Medical Marijuana Regulation.  The other commenter pointed out that czars were a creature of pre-communist Russia and were actually driven out of Russia by the communists.

We haven’t heard from this individual again.

My point?

I don’t know.  I guess it is this.  In this world of alternative facts, in which people have formed opinions and conclusions based on such complete and utter nonsense, opinions and conclusions from which they refuse to be dissuaded, I simply do not know what we can do.  We have become a people completely divided by two completely different realities. When people on my side of the debate question or attack those on the other side, we are accused of arrogance, elitism, or thinking those others are stupid.  How is it remotely possible to fix that?  (By the way, if you believe that Obama was a communist because he appointed “czars” you are stupid and I have a right to be arrogant about it.  Let me go even further … if you believe that Obama was a communist, you are stupid and I have a right to be arrogant about it.)

You want another example?  Every poll that is done that asks people what they think about the individual components of the Affordable Care Act shows that the overwhelming majority of Americans, including Republicans, support those components.  But when they are asked their opinion of Obamacare, the numbers are reversed.  There are people who receive benefits through the Affordable Care Act who oppose Obamacare because they don’t realize the two are the same thing.

I simply do not see a way out of this morass we have fallen into.

And again, under the rules of our system, he won.  I feel a deep desire to retreat and let what happens happen.  To escape the hysteria.  Let’s see what happens in this grand experiment he and America’s voters have foisted upon us.  While at the same time I want to scream from the mountaintop. To take action.  To do something.  I want nothing to do with any of this, but I find myself sucked into it each and every day, each and every hour.

I will be baffled for a long time about this.  Until then.

On the turning away
From the pale and downtrodden
And the words they say
Which we won’t understand
“Don’t accept that what’s happening
Is just a case of others’ suffering
Or you’ll find that you’re joining in
The turning away”
It’s a sin that somehow
Light is changing to shadow
And casting it’s shroud
Over all we have known
Unaware how the ranks have grown
Driven on by a heart of stone
We could find that we’re all alone
In the dream of the proud
On the wings of the night
As the daytime is stirring
Where the speechless unite
In a silent accord
Using words you will find are strange
And mesmerized as they light the flame
Feel the new wind of change
On the wings of the night
No more turning away
From the weak and the weary
No more turning away
From the coldness inside
Just a world that we all must share
It’s not enough just to stand and stare
Is it only a dream that there’ll be
No more turning away?

 

20 responses to “Breaking from my Bloggus Interruptus…

  1. S.K. Nicholls January 24, 2017 at 10:03 pm

    How do you counter this level of ignorance?

  2. coastalmom January 25, 2017 at 7:27 am

    I really admire you. Your writing has always intrigued me. Your views make me think. My don and my daughter are on adamant opposite sides of this issue to the point of almost a division during the holidays. They both had good points. Also two of my friends who did not know each other, disagreed on my Facebook page. It has been an uncomfortable time for a lot of us. I registered as a Democrat when I was 18. But Reagan won me over years ago and I have to admit, that the majority of my family who I respect is conservative. And that does influence me. And I am morally convicted on many levels of many of the issues. But what is going on inside me is where my loyalty will always land. Not who my husband or parents or his parents vote for, not who my friends support, nor because I am registered with a certain party. In the end, it is the candidate that I have to believe in. And not only the facts but having to wade through all the propaganda on both sides. Unfortunately in the end, we had two choices that didn’t look great. Too bad we couldn’t take parts of each of the others and make a better choice. I loved Ben Carson’s personality. Etc. Anyway, in the end I voted for Trump. For the very reason you mentioned here, hoping that a total flip of all that hasn’t worked for the last two decades might. But I felt kinda like I was holding my breath and jumping into Ivey cold water hoping to help save our country. Not ignoring all the Trump facts or propaganda, nor the tweets that totally don’t reflect my gracious Presidential hero, Reagan at all. But like you said, he won. The protests are not protests, they are disgraceful riots. Made up of intelligent and downright nitwits! Some of those people had NO idea about any of the issues. Nor why they voted the way they did. That eight year old boy setting fires and his smart ass attitude was sad and pretty disappointing. He had no idea what he was doing. His parents are disgusting child abusers in my opinion and how bullies are born.
    The point is that depending on what side we have landed on, we all have formed strong opinions of the opposition. Some, whether they know why or not. Which is sad. At least learn the issues if you are willing to be arrested over it.
    We now have become so blinded that we can’t get inside each other’s shoes and even try to understand. When I heard that Trump was running, I truly thought he was joking. When I realized he was seriously in the running, I was literally scared. I’d just lost respect for him when he had to put that Rosie dig in his speech. I mean really? But amid all the stupid tweets & his insulting female clips that surfaced, I began listening to some of his plans. And they made sense. We are so in debt as a nation, I say he won. Why not give him a chance? What are these riots proving? They really are just appearing as uninformed spoiled brats. This post of yours is the first intelligent thing I’ve read from The opposing side. I am really hoping that he does some great things as President and keeps as many of his promises as possible and proves us all wrong and we can actually admit we were wrong.

    • kingmidget January 25, 2017 at 7:34 am

      More later, but the riots and violence were such a tiny fraction of what were peaceful marches. This is one of those alternative realities, to be honest. Millions of Americans marched on Saturday. Peacefully. Only a few hundred or a few thousand were violent and that was mostly on Friday. Why allow the actions of the few to taint the peaceful nature of the many?

    • kingmidget January 25, 2017 at 7:52 pm

      I hope you come back and read this comment because you’re the type of person I’d like to engage in a dialogue about this stuff.

      What you describe about your son and daughter is a perfect example of what is fundamentally wrong with the political debate in this country. That people can’t engage in a debate about these things without losing friendships or family members is just sad to me.

      And saying that, I’ll be honest, I don’t have a lot of friends who voted for Trump and I know that none of my family (including my in-laws) voted for him so it’s not a huge problem for me. But those few friends who did vote for him? I really struggle with how to deal with that. I’ve “unfriended” a couple of “friends” on Facebook because of their support for Trump.

      Because, while I wrote in my post that I believe we owe him the respect his victory deserves, because we need to respect the process, and because I’m willing to take a wait and see approach to what he does, his campaign rhetoric was offensive on many levels, and the decisions he has made in his first few days are a step backwards, as far as I’m concerned.

      You mention your concern that we are in debt as a nation and you’d like to give him a chance. The reality is that if he were to implement his tax policies, his budget policies, and everything else, our debt would explode. It’s really difficult to see the optimism and hope you have in what he may do when you look at it from my perspective.

      I think us liberals need to take a breath, take a step back, accept that he won and that he has a right, therefore, to select his cabinet and pursue the policies of his choice. But I also think that people have a right to protest the impact of those choices. You mention the riots and clarified that you were referring to the riots during the inaugural parade. Even then, the rioters were a small percentage of people who were protesting or marching or demonstrating. In other places I equate it to this — blaming liberals and the left, or Democrats, for the rioting that occurred during the inauguration is like blaming conservatives and the right, or Republicans, for the racists on their side of the political spectrum. I think it’s wrong when we on my side of the debate say the right is racist. I think it’s equally wrong to focus on the extremely small number of leftists who are prone to violent demonstrations.

      Like I said, I hope you come back and read this comment. I hope you and I can continue our discussion. People like you and me need to be able to discuss these issues and find some common round, or the extremist whackos on both sides will win.

  3. Kevin Brennan January 25, 2017 at 7:33 am

    After reading this, I almost regret calling Trump the Antichrist … 😈

    • kingmidget January 25, 2017 at 7:34 am

      No. Don’t regret that!!!!

      • Kevin Brennan January 25, 2017 at 7:53 am

        But more seriously, I don’t think we need to wait and see. It’s perfectly clear what we’re going to be getting: the Republican agenda, which includes a lot of anti-environmental policies, a lot of irresponsible deregulation, a lot of religion, and a lot of lying. We can’t stop any of it right now, so we’ll definitely see how it flies. But I think it’s still important to speak out against outrageous words and actions. Clearly there’s going to be ample opportunity for that.

      • kingmidget January 25, 2017 at 7:36 pm

        I agree. It’s pretty clear with the first few days of his administration that he’s keeping the faith with what he said during the campaign. The “wait and see” is what the impact will be on our economy, environment, and society. And whether the voting public will approve.

        And there is a way we should speak out. I just would like to see something a little more selective than the hysterical reaction to every little thing he says and does.

      • Kevin Brennan January 25, 2017 at 10:13 pm

        I think the problem is that outrageous acts feel like they require big responses, so you get some shrillness. There’s already a lot I find pretty outrageous, sadly.

  4. coastalmom January 25, 2017 at 7:38 am

    I was just referring to the parade after the inauguration.

  5. hirundine608 January 26, 2017 at 7:36 am

    Moving to Canada, isn’t an easy thing to do.

    The American people have got their work cut out for them. First thing, IMO. Is to have an effective multi-party system. The way that the current system works, makes it easy for manipulation. Whether by Russia? Or by the bankers? When the two candidates up for the seat, are frick or frack. Their only chance of success is movement for and on behalf of the bankers and the military complex. Which are the same thing basically.

    The bullet that was dodged, was having Ms. Clinton elected. The rest is well, simply the bad medicine that comes with a Mr. Trump win. His selections for government posts are somewhat predictable. Perhaps, slightly worse on the surface than the Ronald Reagan ones. His were a little more slimy.

    At least having an ex-General nicknamed “mad dog”. You pretty much know what you will get? Rather than the Zionists that Mr. Reagan appointed. Cheers Jamie.

    • kingmidget January 26, 2017 at 8:51 am

      I agree that we need a change to our two party system. One of the problems is that most of the “third parties” are on the extreme ends of the spectrum so they’ll likely never grow big enough to have an impact.

      Regarding dodging bullets. Let’s wait and see whether Trump may be a larger bullet we should have dodged.

  6. hirundine608 January 26, 2017 at 9:24 am

    Undoubtably Mr. Trump will be good for his type of supporter. He is probably a different type of bullet? While I really wish to avoid that whole “Clinton” discussion. I’m not afraid to point out her obvious flaws.

    What is interesting is that; you say third parties are at the extreme ends of the spectrum? When tit is he supposed mainstream parties have warred since WW2 with this list too long to print. http://www.globalresearch.ca/list-of-countries-the-usa-has-bombed-since-the-end-of-world-war-ii/24626

    To myself, that is extreme.

    Whatever happened to good ol’ diplomacy? I guess it doesn’t make the bankers, so much profit?

    Is building a wall between Mexico and the U.S. not extreme? I wonder whether it’s to keep people out? Or in? I understand from a humorous FB post that Canada, has started putting up a “privacy hedge” along the 49th parallel? It’s how the news is spun.

    Lastly the extreme of today. Is the mainstream of tomorrow. Just ask Adolf. Cheers Jamie.

    • kingmidget January 26, 2017 at 10:02 am

      Right wing third parties would be doing far more than build a wall. Left wing third parties would have done far more than Clinton would have.

      I’ve made it clear that I was no fan of Clinton.

  7. Holistic Wayfarer January 26, 2017 at 6:41 pm

    I am neither a liberal nor a conservative but am deeply offended by Trump for perhaps obvious reasons (race, gender, a faith he totally misrepresents…). I appreciate your position.

Leave a Reply

