KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Land of Outrage


OK.  So I lied.  I think you all know me well enough now to know I wasn’t going to keep quiet.

While I am trying to reduce my exposure to the political wars, I’m not completely free from it yet.  So, I read things, I hear things on the news, and I wonder if the only thing left for us is outrage.

You may recall the outrage of the right when Barack Obama was elected.  Some of that outrage started to bubble up before he was elected.  He was secretly a Muslim, Michelle was really a man, the Obamas were a Potemkin family.  The Obama story was carefully crafted decades ago by William Ayers, the Muslim Brotherhood, and the KGB.  Or something like that.  Once he was elected, the Republican Party became the party of no, bent on preventing a second Obama term.  That didn’t go so well, although the Republicans were able to maintain their majority in the House and eventually take over the Senate as well, while expanding their reach in statehouses around the country.

My point is that before Obama even had a chance to show what he would do in office, was attacked, villified and dehumanized by the right.  Their outrage knew no bounds.

And now we have the outrage of the left.  My mother-in-law refers to Trump as the #1 Nazi.  Pence is booed for attending a very liberal play.  Protesters fill the streets with their voices and their chants and their signs that say “Not My President” and worse.  And all over the liberal blogosphere every step Trump takes is scrutinized and attacked and … the outrage just grows.

We are in danger of replacing the outrage of the right with the outrage of the left.  Of replacing the political correctness of the left with the political correctness of the right.  Of never actually engaging in any kind of real national dialogue because we are all too busy yelling at each other.

I know it’s hard to look at the outcome of this election and not be massively upset and to want to express our outrage.  But then, we are no better than the loons of the right.  Yes, that’s right, the loons of the right are being replaced with the loons of the left.  Rather than conjecture and hypotheticals and what ifs and personal attacks, why don’t we actually see what the man does once he is in office and the Republicans have a chance to follow through on their threats.  Let’s see where they go with it and then when we see that, why don’t we respond with something the Republicans never did.  Real substance, real ideas, and a mature, thoughtful response.

Booing the Vice President-elect as he attends a theater performance does nothing.  It somewhat amazes me that people thought it appropriate to do so.  Pence’s attendance at the play demonstrated a willingness to expose himself to different ideas, ones that may not necessarily form the backbone of his own thoughts and ideals.  And he got booed.

Calling Trump the #1 Nazi before he has even taken office is akin to Obama being called a communist, Muslim, homosexual, atheist thug who wants to take your guns.  There’s a right way to do this and a wrong way.  So far, as far as I’m concerned, far too many people are pursuing the wrong way.  The one where our outrage and disgust causes us to lose our collective minds.  I think it’s time to settle down and let the new Administration take shape.  President-elect Trump has that right.  Let’s be better than the right was to President Obama.  And see what happens.  If the worst fears we share prove true, let’s fight with everything we have.

22 responses to “A Land of Outrage

  1. A. L. Luttrell November 20, 2016 at 11:23 am

    Reblogged this on Arlin Report and commented:
    Well said.

  2. hirundine608 November 20, 2016 at 12:26 pm

    Perhaps, that is what is going on? When there is so little difference between candidates. That people Like George Soros, have to use superlatives, to create division? For, as sky is blue, there is not a lot of difference between a catastrophe or a disaster. The two things imply the people are being royally screwed. Purple is also the colour of the Jesuits, when they wear something other than black.

    There is always a lot of optimism after presidential victory. Expecting good things for the people. After 100 days, that optimism fades; as we realize the bankers still run the show.

    To cast Hillary as the “left”. Shows either, how much the electorate is out of touch with reality. Or that we are being fooled. There was never anything “left”, about that woman. A warmonger, that laughed about people being killed. “We came, we saw, he died”, … giggles. Now that lacks empathy for another human being. Regardless of whether or not it was deserved. Cheers Jamie

    • kingmidget November 20, 2016 at 12:30 pm

      Oh, trust me, particularly with respect to foreign policy, Hillary Clinton was no liberal, progressive, or denizen of the left. It’s one of the reasons I wouldn’t vote for her. When one of the most basic tests for me is whether I think a candidate will lead us to unnecessary war, it’s impossible to come to terms with her foreign policy. It’s amazing to me how many liberals were willing to turn a blind eye to the neo-con, “realism” of her foreign policy.

  3. Pamela Beckford November 20, 2016 at 2:00 pm

    I think we are already seeing what he can/will do with his various appointments. Sessions, Bannon, the list goes on. His true colors were revealed pre-election and are continuing to be colored in now. That being said, booing is never in good taste.

  4. Trent Lewin November 20, 2016 at 7:03 pm

    Obama didn’t attack a good portion of US citizens. Trump did. There is a difference. Obama didn’t dog whistle racist tendencies. Trump did. Sometimes you should protest. Sometimes you should raise your voice.

    • kingmidget November 20, 2016 at 7:15 pm

      I completely agree, but I think it would be beneficial for all concerned to take a breather and see what he actually starts doing when he is in office. Yes, all signs point to outrageous things to come. But, right now, it looks like people are protesting the results of the election. And that’s silly. The election is irreversible. Protesting the election is pointless and a waste of oxygen.

      I’m frustrated and upset at what the election says about America, but the reality is that he won. The Republicans never gave Obama a chance and that offended me and led to damage over the last eight years. I’d like see the Dems not make the same mistake.

      He’s not actually a Nazi unless and until he starts imposing policies that are fascist in nature.

      • Trent Lewin November 21, 2016 at 2:46 am

        He’s on record saying vile, stupid things. Perhaps he only said them to win, but even so he said them. He has declared himself for the type of person he is. If you don’t protest a man like this, what do you protest? Give Trump a chance… sure, but he ran a campaign on not giving people chances and he should be accountable.

        Plus his administration is already taking shape. Steve Bannon? Even we know who that is. Should we give him a chance too? Sure. But why?

      • kingmidget November 21, 2016 at 8:21 pm

        Our chance to avoid this was to deny him the office. Once that was lost, we owe our respect to the process. Trust me, I don’t respect him, I fear the things he may do, but he won the election, he has the right to put together his team and the right to put forward his proposals. And we have the right to object when those things become real, but until then, I really think we should all take a breath and see what happens.

      • Trent Lewin November 22, 2016 at 7:23 am

        Steve Bannon appointed. Jeff Sessions. Stuff has already happened. But what galls me is that we’re normalizing this guy’s behaviour because he’s the President. Fine, he won, we know that. Does that excuse the type of person he is? Does that make his behaviour okay? Does it mean people shouldn’t protest him given the type of person he is? Are we excusing the despicable nature of this man because he is President, in lieu of standing up for the basic principles of our humanity that should be in fact more important than who is elected? I ask facetiously to some degree, but I do ask this. In the extreme, if this guy were an outright racist, tyrannical manic and he got elected, would we give him a chance then? Perhaps the answer is yes, but I think that answer would compromise our humanity (dramatic statement, I know, but I feel it).

      • kingmidget November 22, 2016 at 8:25 am

        I agree with everything you say. I don’t want to normalize or excuse his behavior — while the half of the voting public that voted for him does.

        I’m tired of the outrage. I’m tired of the echo chambers of neither side listening to the other and instead both sides spend more time dehumanizing the other than they do actually trying to solve issues.

        The whole nature of the discussion has become tiresome and damaging. The dynamic needs to change. That change clearly isn’t going to come from Trump and his supporters so it must come from us.

      • Trent Lewin November 22, 2016 at 7:57 pm

        Some division is too deep.

      • kingmidget November 22, 2016 at 8:06 pm

        You know, it’s interesting. People refer to me as an Eeyore. They call me the Angel of Darkness and the Joykiller. They comment regularly on the long sighs I deliver at work and my seeming unhappiness and pessimism with life. And they have it all wrong. As much as I read on the left wing and right wing blogs that suggests there is no hope of bridging the divide, I still have this hope and belief that it is possible. And it has to start with somebody from one side of the debate making the first move. Why not our side?

      • Trent Lewin November 25, 2016 at 9:00 pm

        I think moving towards a side of ignorance and racism accomplishes very little. Sometimes you fight. Your forefathers did, several times. They stood up for something and didn’t compromise. Is this that time again?

      • kingmidget November 26, 2016 at 6:58 am

        There’s a part of me that would like to see the Democrats in Congress vote in opposition to things, but not to use parliamentary moves to block Republican efforts. We are in a unique place where the Republicans control all levers of power at the national level. This piece of me, after decades of such a harsh divide in this country, says “okay, you got the power, do what you want. Let’s see if America actually likes your ideas.”

        And then there’s the part of me that say s”hell no.”

      • hirundine608 November 26, 2016 at 7:08 am

        Politicians may well be elected to the seats. They do not represent the will of the people. They represent the will of the bankers. This will is obtained by the money given; to run for the positions and then blackmail. When something needs to get done for them. The rest is smoke and mirrors. Democrat, Republican, Green or Independent. It all runs the same way.

  5. Sreejit Poole November 20, 2016 at 11:10 pm

    I feel like everyday I wake up ready to accept that he is not so bad, and every day he goes on to prove that he is the man he has been portraying himself as over the campaign. I don’t want to believe that he’s a racist. And I keep thinking he’ll just throw us a bone and give us something to feel good about, and then we see Bannon and Sessions, and I’m like, really? It’s funny because now all of a sudden someone like Mitt Romney, who’s 47 percent quote was the unthinkable low of before, is a breath of fresh air for us as someone who is at least measured in his speech, and dignified with his actions, although ideologically in another hemisphere from myself. I feel like the protests show Trump that everyone is not on the same page with his rhetoric. Yes, the Not My President, chant seems ignorant, but if Trump is going to surround himself by only generals and hardliners, then he has to hear the descent from somewhere. But I can’t help but stay positive and believe that he is better than he seems. I just want him to prove me right someday. Or at least for one day.

    • kingmidget November 21, 2016 at 8:23 pm

      I couldn’t agree more and I’m not optimistic that he’ll end up better than he seems, but I just feel like he won the election, whether or not we wanted him to, and there is a certain level of deference that should be given to his ability, his right, to put together his team. And we see what comes after.

  6. byebyebeer November 21, 2016 at 3:45 pm

    I couldn’t agree more. Well said.

Leave a Reply

