KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

I Had A Dream Last Night


We had bought a house, but somehow we still had our old house.

We are visiting the new house.  Walking through it, figuring out how it would work for our family.  We are younger.  The kids are younger.  My younger son is still young enough for me to hold and carry if needed.  My older son is a never-ending talking machine of five or six.

I’m in the new house on the ground floor.  I’m looking out the back window at the backyard.  It’s a large multi-level backyard.  Apparently, in my dreams I am wealthier than I am in real life.

On a lower level of the backyard there is a pool in which algae is growing.  Damn, I say to myself, I’m taking care of the pool at the old house, keeping it clean and algae-free, why aren’t I doing that here.

I realize suddenly that I am wading through several feet of water.  I begin to panic because I don’t understand how there could be water in the house.  I push my way through the water to figure it out when I hear a noise.  I turn around and see a spout of water shooting out of the ceiling of the room.  Damn, I say to myself, broken pipe.

I run upstairs to the master bedroom where my wife and kids are to warn them.  My wife is putting clothes in the closet and is oblivious to the fact that there is water pouring out of the wall of the master bedroom. In numerous places.  I mean water is literally streaming down the wall.  Damn, I say to myself, this house is going to collapse.  I have to find help.

I yell at her and grab the kids and run out of a door.  I have to find the shut off valve for the water so it stops pouring through the house.

I’m outside on a walkway that goes from our house to other buildings.  The house was built near some hotels and the other buildings look like they could be the backs of hotels and strip malls, but I don’t understand how my house could be connected to them.  The house wasn’t that close.  I don’t understand where I am.  I have my kids, but my wife didn’t follow.

I also know that the water shut-off has to be at ground level somewhere but I’m one floor up and I can’t figure out how to get down to the ground.

I turn to go back to the house but there are more doors and walkways and I have no idea which door is to the house.

I call my wife on my cell phone and tell her she has to come out, that I can’t figure out how to get back in, but she remains oblivious to the pending doom.  The house is going to collapse and I need to find the shut-off and somebody who can take a look at it and fix it.  My wife tells me she’s going to keep unpacking.

Suddenly, I’m out on the street.  My younger son is in my arms crying and I’m trying to get him to stop.  My older son is still with me and he’s asking those questions five-year-olds ask.  The questions I have no answers for right then because I’m panicked.  I don’t even know where the house is anymore.  I’m surrounded by hotels and businesses and on a busy street filled with traffic and people who don’t seem to know or care.  I have no idea what to do.

I wake up.

I rarely remember my dreams.  This has absolutely nothing to do with the election.

5 responses to “I Had A Dream Last Night

  1. Kevin Brennan November 11, 2016 at 9:21 am

    Hmmm. I think it has everything to do with the election! 😉

  2. Carrie Rubin November 11, 2016 at 9:27 am

    Yep. Been having dreams like that myself lately.

  3. Audrey Driscoll November 11, 2016 at 10:14 pm

    I’ve had lots of dreams like that — houses and water, except mine have leaky roofs and mushy ceilings. I think they come from anxiety, and there’s enough of that around these days.

Leave a Reply

