KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

The Ignorance of America


A real conversation at the dinner table tonight with relatives, who will remain nameless and unidentified — except that these relatives were in the category of in-laws (and, by the way, not even quite in-laws — kind of one step removed from being actual in-laws) so there is no genetic connection to me.

“Mexican guacamole has gotten more expensive because of the shortage of water,” said individual A.  “A friend of mine bought a carton of guacamole at a store for $50, $60 and then went back the next day and it was $100.”

“Yeah,” responded individual B. “I knew when NAFTA was passed, American farmers would stop growing avocados.”

* * * * *

This raises a few questions for me.

What is Mexican guacamole?  And how does one know when one buys a carton of guacamole … well, let me back up for a moment.

Start over.

What is a carton of guacamole … sorry, Mexican guacamole … that would coast $50, $60 or $100?  Maybe it’s somebody who owns a restaurant?  Maybe?  And they buy it in bulk?  Well, that’s not a restaurant I’m going to anytime soon.  So … mystery of the $50 – $100 carton of Mexican guacamole is somewhat unresolved.

Back to the start.

What exactly is Mexican guacamole?  And how does one know when one buys a carton of guacamole whether it is Mexican guacamole or … American(?) guacamole?  And who the hell refers to guacamole as “Mexican guacamole”?

More importantly.

NAFTA was signed in 1994 — 22 years ago in case you struggle with the math of that.  And apparently it has caused the cost of Mexican guacamole to spike this year.  Am I understanding that correctly.

But, here’s the problem.

U.S. production of avocados, which apparently has never been a hugely significant part of world production has been pretty damn consistent over the years (to the extent a crop that is dependent on weather and water can be consistent).  What has changed is America’s eating habits and guacamole has become a very popular food item in America.  But NAFTA caused American farmers to stop growing avocados?  Ummm … no.

Another right-wing myth debunked.

You’re welcome.

11 responses to “The Ignorance of America

  1. Amy Reese October 22, 2016 at 9:34 pm

    Yeah, I’ve never heard of Mexican guacamole, but I have heard of good guacamole! That’s all that matters. And in bulk…not a good idea at all. 🙂

  2. cinthiaritchie October 23, 2016 at 12:36 am

    Mexican guacamole–OMG, too funny. And yet, kind of sad, too, how misinformed people can be, and sadder still is that they have no idea how misinformed they are. Still, I will probably chuckle the next time I order guacamole at a restaurant, wondering if it is indeed the very mysterious and very expensive Mexican guacamole.

    • kingmidget October 23, 2016 at 7:49 am

      So, I can understand somebody who lives in … oh, Indiana or Toronto … saying something like Mexican guacamole. But individual A has lived in California his whole life and he’s over 60. How does something like that sink into his head living here (where there is guacamole everywhere) so long.

  3. S.K. Nicholls October 23, 2016 at 12:57 am

    I dunno. We grow avocados here, and the Mexicans make guacamole out of it. It’s cheap. I don’t think I’ve ever spent more than $5.00 on any amount of guacamole. It doesn’t keep well, so gotta eat it fast or have a large crowd. I have two giant Florida avocados on my kitchen counter from a neighbor. They are homemade guacamole bound. I make it chunky, with fresh tomatoes, garlic and cilantro. It doesn’t last long.

    • kingmidget October 23, 2016 at 7:51 am

      Yep. In my research I discovered that Florida is the second largest producer of avocados in the United States, behind California. Your way of making guacamole is what turned me on to it. For years I never ate it — just didn’t seem like it would be any good. Then a co-worker made some at work where it wasn’t mashed into a puree, but instead was chunks of avocado and onion and jalapeno and tomato and cilantro. I tried it and haven’t looked back since. I’ll eat it in any form now.

  4. byebyebeer October 23, 2016 at 3:05 am

    Writing this comment while enjoying a bowl of Mexican guacamole for breakfast. Guacamole soup for lunch, then another bowl after dinner (like ice cream only better). Some of us need it by the carton, even when it hits $150 on the east coast. Family dinners can be rough, but I know what can make it better.

  5. Kevin Brennan October 23, 2016 at 8:01 am

    Thanks for the data. Next time I get into an argument about Mexican guacamole I’m forearmed!

    Part of the insidious message here is that you can tag anything with “Mexican” now and the connotation is negative. Trump did that. I’m waiting to hear about Muslim hummus or something and how it stunts the growth of American babies.

    Deliver us from stupid, amen …

    • kingmidget October 23, 2016 at 8:03 am

      The other part of the message … that NAFTA is responsible for everything and anything. It’s today’s version of the red scare.

      Hmmm … Muslim hummus. Now I don’t know which I want for lunch today … Muslim hummus or Mexican guacamole.

Leave a Reply

