KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Movie Stars at the Texas Roadhouse


I had dinner tonight at the Texas Roadhouse restaurant in Elk Grove, California.  While we waited for a table, a woman walked in.  I looked at her and then looked at her again.  She walked by and then back again.  I thought she looked familiar.

We got our table and some time later, the woman walked by and sat at the table on the other side of a partition from us.  I looked at her again and then it hit me.

It was Scarlett Johansson.

So, let me just say that if there is an actress that I would drop everything for, it’s likely Scarlett.  She’s the one I can’t take my eyes off of when I see her in a movie.  She’s the one I … well, I think you understand.

The woman in the restaurant wasn’t this version of Scarlett Johansson.

Not that there’s anything wrong with this version of Scarlett Johansson.  There’s nothing wrong with any version of her as far as I’m concerned.

No, the version of Scarlett at the Elk Grove Texas Roadhouse tonight was this one.

That’s from Lost in Translation, her movie with Bill Murray.

I’m absolutely convinced the woman who sat mere feet away from me was her.  The very normal, girl-next-door, un-made-up version of Scarlett Johansson.  The one that is 100 times more beautiful than the glamor version. After looking at her and then looking away and then looking again and again and again, I finally leaned over to my wife and told her what I thought.  She looked and rejected the idea.  A few minutes later, my wife than pulled up one of the Scarlett glamor shots on her phone and said “See.”

I just shook my head.  It wasn’t the glamor girl at the table next door to us.  It was Scarlett Johansson as a normal, living, breathing human being.  At a Texas Roadhouse in Elk Grove on a Saturday night in October.  And she was right there.

Can I have my dreams?

 

 

9 responses to “Movie Stars at the Texas Roadhouse

  1. byebyebeer October 23, 2016 at 3:10 am

    Lost in Translation is one of my favorite movies. What do you think they whispered to each other at the end? Wondering always bothered me a little. I’m sure it was her. Scarjo seems like the type to enjoy a good steak.

    • kingmidget October 23, 2016 at 7:54 am

      I really liked the movie as well, but have only seen it once. I don’t remember it well enough to remember the end, although your question stirs a fuzzy memory of the ending. I’ll need to watch it again. It was that movie that gave me my crush on her.

    • pinklightsabre October 24, 2016 at 6:46 am

      That was one of the best soundtrack choices for that moment, the Jesus & Mary Chain track, ‘Just Like Honey.’

  2. Kevin Brennan October 23, 2016 at 7:30 am

    I once saw Don Johnson in a San Francisco Mexican restaurant. I’d gladly trade him for Scarlett …

  3. gengenweb November 24, 2016 at 12:23 pm

    I’ve tried watching Lost in Translation a couple of times but just never could get into it. Not sure why, I love Scarlet and Bill.

Leave a Reply

