KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Moment


img_0610

I went on a short backpacking trip this weekend.  Up to Pollock Pines and then 29 miles into the mountains to park at Loon Lake.  Where my companions and I set off for a five mile hike to Buck Island Lake.  I learned a few things.  I can hike five miles up and down ridges and mountains with a backpack on and make it.  But just barely.  My old groin tear has caused significant weakness in my right leg.  If I want to continue doing these types of things I can no longer ignore it.  I need to do something about it.

I also learned that in a place that didn’t seem primed for a great sunset picture (the sun went behind the mountain ridge far too early and there were no clouds) some times if you just wait long enough.  It’s simple, it’s dark, but this may just be my new favorite.  I took it with my phone suddenly, when I looked out over the lakes surface and saw the little bit of glow at the horizon and thought “Maybe.”  Now, I think, “Most definitely.”

11 responses to “A Moment

  1. hirundine608 September 25, 2016 at 8:37 pm

    Yes, nice shot.iPhone? Cheers Jamie.

    • kingmidget September 26, 2016 at 6:30 am

      Yes, an IPhone. I had my digital SLR with me, but it was in my backpack and I didn’t feel like getting it out right at that moment.

      • hirundine608 September 26, 2016 at 10:04 am

        It is written that iPhone has best low light camera? Certainly worked well there. I don’t think my droid could have done as well. Many photography writers are pointing out that dedicated image captures are becoming an anachronism now. When you can capture images like that on phones.

        Nice one! Cheers Jamie.

      • kingmidget September 26, 2016 at 10:06 am

        Yes it did. It would have taken a lot more work to get this picture with my SLR.

  2. Trent Lewin September 26, 2016 at 2:42 am

    Wonderful. So in between flying all over the dang place in pretty sure I saw a post from you saying you’re publishing Northville. True story?

  3. Kevin Brennan September 26, 2016 at 8:45 am

    Beautiful shot! I like how what’s left of the color is all concentrated in that one spot in the saddle of the hills. Bet it was quiet up there …

Leave a Reply

