KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Thinks I’ve Been Thinking #3


I’ve wallowed enough in my fiction-writing world.

It’s time to do something about it.

I’m going to publish Northville Five & Dime.

A couple of years ago I wrote a short story that was a couple thousand words.  I thought it was done and there was nothing more to it.  A little blip of a story that arrived in my head based on a writing prompt I saw on another blog.  Write a story about a shoplifter who is caught but offered a deal to avoid arrest. I came up with an idea and wrote that little blip of a thing.

Then I went to the Mendocino Coast Writer’s Conference and participated with a group of writers in a three session critique of our mutual writing efforts.  I submitted that little blip of a story for review.  The feedback was positive and suggested there was much more story to tell.  So I went back to my laptop and wrote.  A 30,000 word novella was the result.

I went it out to a few beta readers.  They spoke positively of it.  I asked the QueenMidget and one of the Princely Midgets to read it.  It was the Princely one who motivated me to do more.  He read the thing in one evening.  Yes, 30,000 words all at once.  And expressed his frustration that the story wasn’t complete.

So, I embarked on Novella #2 in what I decided would be a three part novella series that followed the characters introduced in Novella #1 through a couple more years of their lives.

And about 2/3 of the way through #2 I got bogged down as these things seem to go.  I’ve sat on it for quite some time now.

I can tell you that there are two people who have the greatest responsibility for getting me off my ass, to stop my wallowing, and start doing something with my writing again.  The first is S.K. Nicholls, who is moving forward with publishing the first in what I hope will be a series of Florida crime thrillers. The second is Kevin Brennan who has independently published some of what I think is the best writing you can find in the indie publishing world.  His most recent effort is #guerrillapublishing — an effort to sell directly to his readers.  An idea I have had for the last couple of years and am still toying with.

Susan and Kevin inspire and motivate me.  To not give up and keep trying this.  Keep moving forward and putting stuff out there.

Northville Five & Dime is the best option for me to do so at this point.  I sent it to Kevin for editing.  He provided me with great feedback.  Now I need to address his feedback, complete the final draft of novella #1 and then crack open #2 again and see if I can get it done.  And then move on to the final chapter of the story of Lily, Sophie, and Pete.

More to come.  More to come.

And thank you, Susan and Kevin, for your inspiration.

6 responses to “Thinks I’ve Been Thinking #3

  1. S.K. Nicholls September 17, 2016 at 11:34 pm

    Ahhhh…so thriilled for you. I am like your son in that I want to know the rest of the story. 🙂

    Thanks for the shout out, but I have to say without your motivation, encouragement and support Naked Alliances might still be sitting on the shelf. I ended up putting much more work into this book than I ever expected. I’m glad I had it professionally edited, even if it did take from October of last year to April of this year to complete two rounds of edits and a proofread. Whew….if readers only knew what writers do to get things in order.

  2. cinthiaritchie September 18, 2016 at 1:10 am

    Yippee, that is such good news. And good for you, for buckling down and writing (we all know how damned easy it is to write a book, lol). Can’t wait to read. Cheers and big congrats.

  3. pinklightsabre September 18, 2016 at 7:06 am

    Great story (the story of the story) and looking forward to reading more, and here’s to getting off your ass and good friends and people who help you do that, including the queen and the prince, that rocks. Your little casbah there.

  4. Kevin Brennan September 18, 2016 at 7:47 am

    Thanks for the props, Mark! Your experience reminds me that every project is different (like kids, I guess) and they need different approaches. Some of them fly onto the page, and others need to be cultivated for years, sometimes, till they mature. Example: I’m working on one right now I first played with way back in the ’90s. It’s taken this long to figure out the right way to tell the story, and now I think I’ve got it.

    Good luck with #2, and I’m betting once you nail that down #3 will come more easily.

  5. Amy Reese September 18, 2016 at 9:44 pm

    Great news, Mark! Good job for sticking with it. That’s a great accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

