KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Song For The Day


A fellow blogger has invited writers and bloggers to contribute to a 90s nostalgia-themed effort.  While he’s open to just about anything, one of the elements he’d like to see are nostalgic pieces about Nirvana.   I told him that I was more of a Pearl Jam fan and had never really got into Nirvana.  A comment discussion ensued and, as a result, I spent much of today listening to Pearl Jam’s first album.  One of the 26 albums that are on my top 5 albums of all time list.

 

11 responses to “A Song For The Day

  1. pinklightsabre September 17, 2016 at 8:13 pm

    Mark, I’m happy the post triggered some love for that Pearl Jam record for you. Tomorrow I’ll dip into it myself (that record). I like when good things come around like this, so thanks for reading and playing. I dipped into your posts about Hillary too but we have company — this is the challenge of being present in this age, right? Thanks for linking over to my post, I appreciate it — hope you’ll cook up something for my blog too if you’re inclined. Bill

  2. pinklightsabre September 17, 2016 at 10:18 pm

    That’s cool, how he goes a little bats towards the end there but has a kind of “I’m-in-my-mid-40s” stammer to it, stumbles some. Right, good one. I think they did this in that MTV unplugged too, I seem to recall that too. The lyrics real dark toward the end. He accesses something in his singing that’s maybe normal and accepted to other singers (like duh, the diaphragm) but it sounds so amazing with him at times like this. Nice selection and thank you for sharing. I listen to songs from them like once a year but when I do, it’s perfect. (I played the other YouTube songs you just sent and feel the same.) Thanks for that —

    • kingmidget September 18, 2016 at 7:03 am

      I put the Pearl Jam album on Spotify and listened to it in my car as I ran errands yesterday. All of the songs are great, but this one is the best to me. Something about the “drive” of the song. That’s the only word I can think of to describe it. The song just feels so relentless. And, yes, the lyrics are definitely dark. As were many of their lyrics from that album.

      • pinklightsabre September 18, 2016 at 7:08 am

        I listened to it from the start last night before going to bed and think the last song is best, or I like the mood of it most at least. They were kind of ahead of things with that Jeremy song, sadly too prophetic.

  3. coastalmom October 9, 2016 at 10:11 am

    This inspires me to write more passionately. I could see cranking this song up and rolling down the windows and feeling like a rebel. My taste of music is a little more jazz or ballads… I used to think that my first husband genre was more rock and roll. I am dating myself to say… I can go back to the 70s and 80s I loved the Rolling Stones and Queen he loved Wish Bone Ash which not a lot of people have heard of. We were friends with the lead singer of Ambrosia back in the day. I ran into Dave Pack at an even I coordinated and booked him at and it is crazy how those old songs can totally snap you back to a place inside yourself where you are that age again!

    • coastalmom October 9, 2016 at 10:12 am

      Ahhhrghhh my keyboard keeps sticking. Sorry for the type-os!

    • kingmidget October 9, 2016 at 4:33 pm

      I had an interesting conversation with my mom last week. We were talking about music and I told her I remember her buying me an album I had requested way back then and when she handed it to me she said something like, “Now, Mark, you know I don’t like this music and I think it’s a waste of money. You won’t be listening to this for very long.” What I told her last week was that I still listen to that music. The album she bought me was a Queen album and I still listen to them regularly. As you say, listening to that music takes me back to a time and a place. And the reality is that some of their songs are just really, really good.

      But my tastes in music have changed. Current music that is produced now that might be considered similar to those groups I liked as a teenager doesn’t do much for me now. I’m basically into singer-songwriters, acoustic performers. Much more stripped down music than I was back then.

    • kingmidget October 9, 2016 at 4:34 pm

      And you’re right … that Pearl Jam song is so powerful and passionate. If only I could capture that!

Leave a Reply

