KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Why I Can’t Stand the Rolling Stones


I think I’ve mentioned this in passing in previous posts, but I was reminded of the specific reason today.  I grew up in the 70’s, really starting to get into music when I was in middle and high school.  I remember liking the Eagles (I’m pretty sure Hotel California was one of, if not the first, album I ever purchased), Queen, Boston, Styx, Rush.  You get the idea.

I was the youngest of four, so it’s possible that one of my siblings may have gotten into the Rolling Stones at some point, but I have no recollection of any of them doing the Stones thing.  I remember my brother being into Deep Purple and Black Sabbath and Led Zeppelin and KISS.  The walls of his room were plastered with KISS posters.  My sisters?  I remember Three Dog Night and Andy Gibb and who knows who else.  But no Stones.  I wasn’t exposed to any of their early music until later on.  And by that time, any impression I might develop of them was spoiled by this …

This song came on a Satellite Radio station today and it all came back to me.  Emotional Rescue was released in 1980, when I was sixteen.  It is what I think about when I think of the Rolling Stones.  Yes, they have some classic songs from earlier in their career — Sympathy for the Devil, Paint it Black, You Can’t Always Get What You Want (a song I absolutely love) — but for me, this song will always mean the Stones to me and the Stones will always mean this song.

Here’s what it really sounds like to me …

Without fail, when I’m flipping through the stations on Satellite Radio, as soon as I see or hear that a song is the Stones, I skip to the next station.  It’s not worth the risk.  They are the most over-rated rock band in the history of music.

20 responses to “Why I Can’t Stand the Rolling Stones

  1. Philip Walter September 9, 2016 at 8:00 pm

    I have only brought two albums, one is the CD of Steel Wheels which I really like, the other is Grrr, a greatest hits on Vinyl box thing, that I was going to have a beer and Vinyl night some time soon. I’m not therefore a huge fan, and have listened to Rush more recently than the Stones.

    • kingmidget September 9, 2016 at 8:04 pm

      I’d love to get a record player and go back to vinyl some day. Enjoy that, even if it is the Stones. 😉

      As I note, there are a few songs of theirs I really enjoy, but the rest to me are just so ugh.

  2. Trent Lewin September 10, 2016 at 5:25 am

    I wouldn’t personally call them over-rated. I think they have some awesome tunes, and I actually like Emotional Rescue – such a unique little song. That said, I wouldn’t listen to it over and over again, but for some of their others (you named a few), I totally would. I do think their newer stuff is pretty crap though.

  3. hirundine608 September 10, 2016 at 6:35 am

    Myself and a couple of friends were at the free concert in Hyde Park. The one that saw off the death of Mr. Jones and with MJ in a dress. I think that is when I started to feel numb towards them. After that it was all downhill. I still listen to music as it comes along. I consider my taste eclectic, from Shawn Colvin to Steve Earle. Gerry Rafferty to Little Stevie, Taj Mahal, etc. Too many to mention. I listen to classical, Vivaldi and Mozart and dip into others, like English composers, etc. I enjoy the music of the melodeon and try tinkering with one, every so often. Recently at the thrift shop I picked up a CD of Midnight Oil, which reignited my previous thrill, of 26 years ago. I have a lot of CD’s more than I need but you will only find one CD of the Solling Rones. One that I picked up on a whim and has only been played once or twice. I have no interest in satanic worshipers. So, they can fleece, the other public.

    It’s a bit before your time but if you want to read a good tale about Laurel Canyon? Try here https://www.sott.net/article/155794-Inside-The-LC-The-Strange-but-Mostly-True-Story-of-Laurel-Canyon-and-the-Birth-of-the-Hippie-Generation-Part-1
    There are a lot of parts, each next one, found at bottom of page. It might make you think? For it did me.
    Cheers Jamie.

    • kingmidget September 10, 2016 at 8:12 am

      Ah yes, Midnight Oil. Their first CD released in the U.S. was a classic. Will need to go find it and give a listen.

      Will read the piece about Laurel Canyon later today. Thanks.

  4. Kevin Brennan September 10, 2016 at 7:42 am

    Interesting, because I got into the Stones when I was fourteen in ’71, when “Sticky Fingers” came out. Then I was sold for good with “Exile on Main Street.” Those two records have kept me going ever since. (Though I also like a number of tunes on “Tattoo You” plus some of the old blues they did in the ’60s.

    Sounds like it depends on when someone first encounters the Stones in their teens. ‘Course, if you’re in your teens now, you’re going, “Mick who?”

  5. pinklightsabre September 20, 2016 at 8:05 pm

    Aw man, well if we’re going to argue about something in comment boxes, better this than politics, right? I’m not a musician, but I’ll bet there are those who would agree with them as over-rated. I’m not one of those total fans, but I’ll have to say I’ve listened to Beggars Banquet quite a bunch this summer. You might relate to this, but sometimes there’s a song that’s ubiquitous but you come back to it, like you’re discovering it for the first time. That “Sympathy” tune was like that for me this summer, over and over and over, really loud in my old Volvo wagon. Kind of too much treble. YOW. I actually like the falsetto on that Emotional Rescue, I like Mick’s swagger. They are Matt Groenig caricatures of themselves, really. You could be mine you could be mine all mine (poetry man!). Ha!

  6. Anonymous June 14, 2017 at 10:37 am

    “as soon as I see or hear that a song is the Stones, I skip to the next station…They are the most over-rated rock band in the history of music.” I completely agree. I want to poke my ear drums with forks. (Mick Jagger is one of the most physically repulsive human beings on the planet.)

  7. hirundine608 June 14, 2017 at 12:10 pm

    I have not really listened to much “pop” music since 1960’s. Every so often something perks my interest and give them a whirl. Since that time, Sympathy for the Devil was probably the catalyst for my non-appreciating. I like many different types of music and there is so much better, than the “Rollers”. I’m quite eclectic in taste. Dan Hicks, of Dan Hicks and his Hot Licks, jumps to mind. Midnight Oil? I have complete recordings of both Vivaldi and Mozart, etc. Different strokes, for sure, apply here. Strangely? In a fit of nostalgia I once purchased “Beggars Banquet’, on CD. What a waste of money that was. … Cheers Jamie

Leave a Reply

