KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

I Am Complete Confoozled


Confoozled = Confused + Bamboozled  (or something like that)

I will never vote for Trump.

I believe Hillary Clinton has disqualified herself from the Presidency with the actions she and her husband have engaged in which led to them making over $150 million in speaking fees from special interests over the last 15 years.

I was ready to vote for Gary Johnson in November.  Although I don’t like that he’s a pothead, I was willing to ignore that in the interest of a lot of other positions he has on other issues.  Very anti-interventionist on foreign policy.  Very liberal on social issues.  A fiscal conservative.

But he doesn’t know where or what Aleppo is.  How can I vote for a candidate for the Presidency of the United States who doesn’t know this?  Seriously?  How?

25 responses to “I Am Complete Confoozled

  1. TamrahJo September 9, 2016 at 9:51 pm

    Well, campaign flubs don’t stir me much, unless I see a candidate changing their platform 180 degrees, every time a new poll comes in or they think they are losing – 🙂

    And, ya got love a publicly displayed statement that says, “”I take complete responsibility. I’m running for president of the United States. Look, I should have known what he was talking about,” he told CNN’s Wolf Blitzer.”

    One line that has been a foundation in so much of his campaign is, “Look, I’m just saying, if you tell the truth, admit your mistakes, then you can fix them” – and, quite frankly, I can’t even imagine what their campaign schedule looks like, as November approaches – 🙂

    He is human – and humans, no matter how fit, healthy, mountain climbing souls, they are, will drop the ball – likelihood increases after stint of 18-20 hour days –

    So, if we gauge by a flub, recognized, admitted via “Yup, I did that ” – seriously, WHAT THE HECK ARE WE VOTING FOR? Perfection? Someone who thinks they are perfect and will do everything in their power to keep the illusion alive, even when everyone around them sees the emperor has no clothes on?!?

    I don’t agree with every single point, I believe his consumption tax idea is a start, but, since I don’t have a full document read/ingested, run through my, “OK – let’s be negative and just pick this little idea apart as much as we can to truly gauge the possibilities for a ‘fail’ – then we know, how much risk? Ok to try? Failsafes, back-ups to put in place?’ – – LOL – –

    My mind is not a neighborhood anyone should visit after dark by themselves – – LOL

    • kingmidget September 9, 2016 at 9:58 pm

      Certainly is better than Trump’s belief that he’s never been wrong about anything in his life.

      • TamrahJo September 9, 2016 at 10:07 pm

        Yes, and I’ve actively put myself in the line of fire from avid Trump supporters for months now, and not ONE of them have given me a fact-based answer to my question, “How can you say you’re successful in business, when the majority of your endeavors end up in bankruptcy?” – My ‘favorite’ is “Well, when you gain big, you risk big and it doesn’t always turn out” – to which I say, “Well, yeah, but after 12-13 times, don’t ya think maybe your’e missing something and might want to look at your skill set, before trying again?”

      • kingmidget September 10, 2016 at 8:10 am

        I won’t believe he’s worth as much as he claims until his tax returns are released. I firmly believe they will tell a different story. The reality is that his only success is in licensing his name and many of the products tied to his name have failed miserably.

  2. TamrahJo September 9, 2016 at 10:04 pm

    P.S. – People are desperate for something better – to tell you how bad it’s gotten, no crap, no lying, no exaggeration, I have, in the last 6 months been asked 4 times why I don’t run for president – happened again today – – and all but one, were from intelligent folks I respect who fall on all sides of the Political Party fences – –

    Seriously, how desperate do people have to feel, to seriously chew me out when I laugh and say, “Sure, that a great idea – think they’ll let me work in a denim skort and have BBQs instead of black tie state dinners?” – and they say, ‘no, seriously have you ever thought of serving?” And, I’m thinking, “ARe ya kiddin’? Has this year upset you that badly?” –

    Ya know why? Cuz I know I couldn’t do a good job – hell, I read the events playing out and the predictions, BUT I, Ms. Research, couldn’t have answered the same question flubbed – and I, personally, don’t care –

    Cuz ya know – for me – there are folks who show up to do what needs to be done, there are folks that think, muse and get educated on the possibilities for solutions BEFORE blustering in with “I’m GONNA do this! Watch!” – etc. And one flub on a hot topic ain’t nothin – cuz I have a 1,001 one examples in my mind where that DIDN’T happen – 🙂

    Thanks for letting me show my support for the Johnson/Weld ticket – I could never run for president AND I haven’t even signed up to have signs ion my place, post on my blog or Facebook, in active/shared support – cuz ya know? Honesty about your journey isn’t always pretty, and 2.5 second world would just love to take one of my less than stellar moments to prove their point in their opposition to that campaign – – LOL

  3. Trent Lewin September 10, 2016 at 5:20 am

    You, sir, are apparently screwed. I don’t envy you this decision.

  4. hirundine608 September 10, 2016 at 6:54 am

    Mr. Johnson sounds like most other Presidents. Think Ronald Reagan, or Dubya. They didn’t have much grasp on geography either. While I do not understand American politics like I should. It seems too much importance is placed in the position. Yes, the President has executive powers. Still it should be a balance? Between Congress, the President and the Upper House. The President can only set policy. It should be the lower chamber to enact that? If it were me? I would be voting Johnson, while holding my nose. After all, it’s not the first time a drug addict has held the position. Didn’t Dubya have a nose for it? Mr. Johnson is unlikely to unleash hell, in the form of nuclear weapons. He probably will see peaceful resolutions instead of the usual rhetoric? For too long politics in America has meant either Frick or Frack. Make a difference and choose Dumbo? I dunno? Whoever wins, if the bankers don’t like them, they’re gone. Cheers Jamie.

  5. Kevin Brennan September 10, 2016 at 7:35 am

    You haven’t acquired sufficient fear of a Trump presidency yet, my friend. When you do, your only option will become obvious.

    (Take it from me, a two-time Ralph Nader voter!)

    • kingmidget September 10, 2016 at 8:14 am

      As I’ve said to others, if California really is competitive and there’s a risk that Clinton will lose the state such that my vote is necessary than she has lost enough of the rest of the country that my vote still won’t matter.

      • Kevin Brennan September 10, 2016 at 8:51 am

        All I know is, I need a t-shirt that says, “Silence is consent.”

      • kingmidget September 10, 2016 at 8:52 am

        Voting for Johnson, which I’m still likely to do, is definitely not silence. I agree with you with respect to those who do not vote.

      • Kevin Brennan September 10, 2016 at 10:12 am

        You’ve probably seen this already … http://nyti.ms/2cOkQkY

      • kingmidget September 10, 2016 at 10:22 am

        I had not seen it, but just read it. Thank you. It’s thesis is one that I fundamentally reject. I have considered voting for her as the strongest “no to Trump” vote and I still may do that. Right-wingers say not voting or voting for the 3rd party candidates is a vote for Clinton. And left-wingers say the same thing about not voting for Clinton. I just reject that idea. It turns this into a zero sum game that I don’t think is reality. There shouldn’t just be two options particularly when both of them are so bad. I see “vote for the lesser of two evils” all the time on the right-wing blogs. Well, evil is still evil, even if it is lesser. I’m not saying Clinton is evil. I just can’t do it.

      • kingmidget September 10, 2016 at 10:23 am

        One more comment … even if he isn’t smoking pot during the campaign, the way he campaigns is certainly indicative of my idea of a habitual pot-smoker. 🙂

  6. Bruce Thiesen September 10, 2016 at 1:30 pm

    This was so unfortunate. A real miss. But when you stack it up against all the things that have been said by the many other people who wanted us to vote for them this year, it doesn’t really stand out. There is a long, long list of statements that would make this one fade away. I never had any interest in voting for Johnson and Weld, so no impact here personally.

    I would like nothing more than to have a well organized third-party that was principled, thoughtful, wise and able to govern competently and with inspiration. Maybe next year, as they say.

  7. William C. Paxson September 10, 2016 at 4:10 pm

    I see 2 solutions.

    One, take 2 aspirin and go to bed with nurse.

    Two, into a glass squeeze the contents of a bottle of whiskey and drink what’s in the glass.

  8. S.K. Nicholls September 14, 2016 at 8:17 pm

    I’ve voted since 1978…every election, local and otherwise. This is the first year of my 56 year-old life that I am seriously considering not voting. Yes, I fear Trump and cannot do anything that might convey supporting him, yet, I cannot support Hillary. If I don’t vote, I will be making a mistake. Jill Stein??? I dunno….I’m so lost.

    • kingmidget September 15, 2016 at 6:09 am

      Jill Stein appears to be a whacko, but I’m not sure.

      I’ve voted in almost every election. In 2000, I did not vote for President because i couldn’t stand Al Gore and wasn’t gonna vote for Dubya. I don’t want to “not vote.” I’m somewhat at a lost, I’m confoozled, at the moment.

Leave a Reply

