KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

This Makes Me Sad


Few celebrity passings bother me and I frequently don’t understand the reaction of others when a celebrity leaves this world.  This one, thought, definitely made me sad.  There was something so perfect about this movie and this actor’s performance in it.  So incredible.  This scene, in particular, no matter how many times I saw the movie left me in anticipation.  It is such a perfect entrance and introduction to the character.

5 responses to “This Makes Me Sad

  1. Carrie Rubin August 30, 2016 at 6:45 pm

    I loved that movie too. One of my favorite quotes is what Wonka says near the end: “And so shines a good deed in a weary world.”

    • kingmidget August 30, 2016 at 7:01 pm

      Yep. The NY Times obituary mentioned that the movie didn’t do well in its theatrical release because parents didn’t like its message that gluttonous, selfish children who go unpunished are problematic later on. Or something like that. And I was just blown away that parents would be turned off by that message. Seriously?! Never mind that I’m the type of person who doesn’t typically see messages in stories and movies and until I read that I never understood that was “the message.” To me, it’s just an incredible movie with incredible performances and just a great, great story.

  2. Amy Reese August 30, 2016 at 7:07 pm

    i was sad, too. That’s one of my favorite movies of all time.

  3. Cayman Thorn September 3, 2016 at 6:36 am

    The original was indeed a magical place, to which the remake could not replicate. There was a soul to the Gene Wilder version, it was a special thing to enjoy. .

    Nice tribute.

Leave a Reply

