KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Those Moments When I Feel I May Be a Republican


Because I lurk on right-wing blogs, I’m exposed not just to their lunacy, but also to some arguments they make that can begin to make sense if you have an open mind.

If you look at many of the cities in America that have the most intractable economic problems, the worst race relations, the most dire circumstances for minorities (let me just throw out three:  Baltimore, Detroit, and Chicago), you see cities that have been controlled by Democrats for decades, not just at the local level but at the state level.

So, when somebody says something like this:  “You’re living in poverty, your schools are no good, you have no jobs, 58% of your youth is unemployed — what the hell do you have to lose?” … well, let’s just say there may be a certain amount of logic.

And who said that?  Donald Trump.  Today.  And I have a hard time disagreeing with him.

In response to Trump’s speech, Hillary Clinton’s campaign tweeted “This is so ignorant it’s staggering.”

Fine.  What Trump said was ignorant.  Why?  Based on what.  How many years and decades of the same failed policies do we allow before we try something else?  Maybe there’s some truth there and we should discuss it and address it rather than trying to shovel it under the rug because it doesn’t fit our agenda.

I don’t know.  There are moments when I don’t want to be considered a Democrat, a liberal, a progressive in this country.  This may be one of them.

18 responses to “Those Moments When I Feel I May Be a Republican

  1. hirundine608 August 19, 2016 at 9:17 pm

    Honestly? The bankers control both candidates and have for a long time. Americans, seem to believe they have choice? That they are choosing between right or wrong. When the reality dictates, both candidates are run by lobbyists and bankers.

    They are both so close to what is called the centre, in what passes for a political arena. Let’s not rock the boat, the pollsters say? Beside the fact these two are cousins. Not exactly kissing but near enough.

    Mr. Trump seems to me, to be a blowhard. Full of rhetoric and uneasy with his own choices. On his third campaign manager by my count? What message does this send? Beside he has been bankrupt 3 times too and each time up. He’s personally wealthier than before but what about his debts? 12c on the dollar?

    Then we have Ms. Clinton who firmly demonstrates she’s willing to flout laws, for her own end. Not to mention, the trail of murders in her wake? If not murder? Extremely timely deaths. Does she have horseshoes, where the sun don’t shine? Sh’e taken on Cain … whoops, I mean Mr. Kaine. A Jesuit trained VP. If Hilary dies from medical issues? Then guess who’s up?

    Yet Americans seem to think their candidate of choice, is elected in an open and free manner? What a joke! Diversity? I see no diversity and it makes me wonder why few others can see the emperor has no clothes

    Nope the outcome is fixed. Either way. the ordinary American citizen is royally screwed. Cheers Jamie.

    • kingmidget August 19, 2016 at 9:19 pm

      While some of what you write goes beyond where I’m willing to go, I can’t disagree with the overall point. We’re screwed. I agree.

      • hirundine608 August 20, 2016 at 10:03 am

        We. that is the ordinary people have been “screwed” since coming out of the womb. To prove my point, perhaps? Take a look at the Roman civilization. Ruled by people like Caligula and Nero. Despots, in a word. These despots discovered that they could continue to rule, if they provided a diversion. Hence the Roman amphitheatre and the spectacles of blood letting they provided for the ordinary Roman citizen.
        We have our own versions of the amphitheatre with popular war films, etc.
        Like the popular “Matrix” films we need to choose between the red or blue pill?
        When Americans talk about left or right wing, in politics. Those difference are measured in millimetres not kilometres. Most opinion is a result of our personality as defined by Myer-Briggs. Our personalities are what drive and motivates us. I have my personality, you have yours, etc. I sense that king midget is basically a fair-minded person and someone who has a sense of moral obligation? No problem with that.

        Lately I’ve started to understand the Democrat and Republican party’s. I can see how in some ways Republican wish to emphasize the rights of the individual, over the rights of the Democratic state. Most of the people that are supposed to uphold these values. Have a more driven agenda. A more personal one of success and wealth. Opposed to one of ,”for the people”.
        In Canada and the U.K. It is a multi-party state, however the same problems of politicians still exists.
        The real way to change the world. Is to start with ourselves. My own goal is to accumulate enough good karma, to be reborn in a better place.

      • kingmidget August 20, 2016 at 11:00 am

        So my question for you is this … if we’ve been “screwed” that suggests we have been denied something. What do you think we’ve been denied? What do you think you personally have been denied by the powers that be?

      • hirundine608 August 20, 2016 at 12:26 pm

        IMO … wealth and prosperity for our families etc. In general the dice are loaded. People that have connections, obviously, do better than those without. Society in general, is poverty stricken from and by the bankers. The Federal Reserve is not anything to do with the American Federal system. It is a private bank and they print money and sell it to the federal government which in turn gets it back from each citizen through taxations. The last U.S. president who tried to limit the power of these bankers. Ended up being assassinated in Dallas. Lincoln too. Because he was limiting their power, through money printing. During the American Civil War the bankers would have loaned him money for the war. Instead he chose to print his own money. Which were called Greenbacks.

        The story and how the bankers gained power again through presidency of Woodrow Wilson is well documented. Each time a politician tries to change things. Assassination happens … hmmm?

        Lastly, what have I been denied? Just the same as Joe Blow around the corner. Watch as our taxes get used by politicians, for their and their supporters, benefit. I really do not think in those terms. I me mine are all ego based concepts and while I have ego too. I have spent years attempting to lose such I me mine stuff. I am retired now have another life from working for a living. Even though, I still have my own small business.

        All wars are bankers wars
        Cheers Jamie

      • kingmidget August 20, 2016 at 12:35 pm

        “wealth and prosperity for our families”

        I guess that needs to be quantified. The reality is that I don’t want what the wealthy and powerful have. I want to be able to live my life, work hard, and receive a decent value for my work, provide a decent life for my family and give my kids the tools and opportunities they need to achieve the same. Whether the bankers and politicians have gamed the system to their benefit has not prevented me from achieving the objectives I had for my life. I wanted nothing more. There are plenty of ways in which a “fairer” or more “equitable” system may have made things easier for me, but I’m not sure that “easier” should be the objective.

  2. Amy Reese August 19, 2016 at 9:47 pm

    I think there is a lot of corruption wherever you turn. And poverty is prevalent in all these cities. I think they have a bigger impact than other smaller, impoverished cites because there are so big and of course because of racial tensions. Who knows? I definitely don’t have all the answers.

    • kingmidget August 20, 2016 at 7:25 am

      There seem to be some problems that cannot be resolved. Particularly, when the powers that be continue with the same policies and ideas. It’s as if they’re afraid of considering alternatives. Meanwhile the people who are suffering as a result, just continue to suffer.

  3. TamrahJo August 20, 2016 at 12:34 am

    I’m going to ‘come out of the closet’ to you, on your blog, first – Sans catastrophic information I haven’t already unearthed, or can be proven – I’m voting for the Johnson/Weld ticket – I’ve taken flack for so many years over being ‘lazy/un-America/un-Patriotic” in the years when folks asked me who I voted for and i said, “I didn’t vote for anyone – this year” – I’ve been accused of the reason why Democracy is failing, assured my vote counts, and NO one believed me when I said, “oh, I know it does, and there wasn’t a single one the candidates I was willing to live with the fact, my single vote is what got them into office….” – 🙂 And so, I am calling upon you – take a trip through current campaign site, and then go through the debates left over from 2012, come back Town Halls that have been held this go round – read, listen – etc. You decide different? Your choice – but for me, that ticket is the only one I’m willing to stake on and hope I didn’t miss anything – and anyone who comes at me with a meme, 2.5 second opposition clip, etc., so far, my research reinforces my so far, increasing belief, ‘talk to the hand, cuz I’ve researched this more than you have and you better come at me with more than that, if you want to change my mind…” and I try, very hard, not to be that close minded – ! LOL When people affected in one industry say, years and years later, “Well, not his party, his decisions/leadership affected my personal life, but, in the end, I wasn’t hit that hard, found another job, quickly, didn’t pay higher taxes, and now, I see, it really was good for all of us….” from both sides of the two party fence, well….it’s hard to let go of that – – 🙂

    • kingmidget August 20, 2016 at 7:29 am

      Oh, I’ve already decided I’m voting for Johnson as well. Clearly, I won’t be voting for Trump and I simply cannot stand Hillary Clinton. After Bill left the Presidency in 2001, they made decisions involving how they would make money and interact with special interests that leaves her unqualified to serve as President. I will not vote for her. In California, she will get the electoral votes. So, I’m voting for Johnson. I don’t agree with everything he stands for — I wish he wasn’t such a pothead — but there are significant areas in which I agree with him. Foreign policy is a big one. Hillary might as well be a Republican when it comes to foreign policy. In fact, she may be worse than some of the Republicans who ran. I prefer Johnson’s foreign policy. So, you don’t have to sell me on this. 😉 I’m already there and have been for several weeks.

      I wish there was a credible way for voters to send a message to the two main parties that what they have done to us this year is completely unacceptable.

  4. Kevin Brennan August 20, 2016 at 7:41 am

    Resist, Mark! Resist!

    First of all, most of the problems of the big cities were caused by white flight, which decimated the tax base. I know. I’m from St. Louis, and the effects are plainly visible there.

    Second, not much Trump might do on the federal level would help these cities. Or African Americans. Or poor people in general. State and local governments have a lot more to do with quality of life on that level. Fixing the schools, for instance.

    And finally, I’m not aware of any specific policy Trump favors that would help. Are you?

    In other words, talk is cheap.

    • kingmidget August 20, 2016 at 7:57 am

      I completely agree that there isn’t much that Trump or anybody at the national level can do. It’s why I laugh when I hear Trump say he’s going to do something about crime or education or whatever.

      But what bothers me is that, on so many levels, liberals have been trotting out the same theories and ideas and policies for years and decades and the problems seem to continue on and in many cases get worse. If these issues involve state and local governments and those state and local governments have been controlled by Democrats for decades, I can’t help but wonder whether Democrats and their ideas are really capable of solving the problems.

  5. hirundine608 August 20, 2016 at 1:47 pm

    Wealth is always subjective. One of the wealthiest families. Are the Breakspear”s, yet few know of them. http://www.thebabylonmatrix.com/index.php?title=911:Black_nobility

    When I was in my mid-forties, I owned two farms, amounting to around 17 acres of land with houses and outbuildings, etc. Then a divorce and loss of much “wealth”. Still it was actually a blessing, for me, since it bought me more inner harmony and happiness. Previously, I had worked for it. Night shifts, swing shifts, 6t0 hour weeks etc. Divorcing my ex. was also difficult. After 23 years, a lot of water had passed through.

    That’s a part of my personal story but not what I’m making reference too. Whenever a person thinks they have succeeded; life has a habit of leaping up and knocking you down. Nobody will help least of all governments. As you get older, you become less able.

    People in middle age seem to think? That they will carry on? That major illness will pass by? That the strength and effort they had even up to middle age, will always remain. No matter how fit you are at aged sixty, at 65 it has changed then at 70 too more so. Some people do maintain a fitness level. Even then, it takes much effort and the rewards become slim.

    Somehow I have become diverted from your original post. In four years it will be another set of, africanus equus asinus’.

    While all changes everything remains the same. I too write my blog, yet try to stay away from giving people like myself a forum … hehe! Good luck! Cheers Jamie.

    • kingmidget August 20, 2016 at 3:39 pm

      I have no problem with creating a forum for discussion about these things. My biggest issue is whether the discussion is respectful and avoids the crap-flinging that occurs at most political blogs. You have always been respectful and informative and I enjoy the give and take we have on these topics. I’m always open to other views because I’ll learn from them. Never hesitate to share your thoughts in my corner of the internet.

  6. TamrahJo August 21, 2016 at 6:03 pm

    I love this quote: Thought it might show support for you and your way of thinking: “It is common sense to take a method and try it. If it fails, admit it frankly and try another. But above all, try something.” – Franklin D. Roosevelt, early speech during his first term in office – 🙂 All around me, I see folks who aren’t willing to admit it frankly, but keep on doing the drill, “Insanity is doing the same thing, over and over, and hoping for different results…” – – LOL

    • kingmidget August 21, 2016 at 6:09 pm

      Yes. And we’re doing this all over the place these days.

      • TamrahJo August 21, 2016 at 6:38 pm

        Had a service provider who updated their billing system, recently, no launch/changes coming email, no nothing, beforehand, and receive email, “You’re in danger of losing service” – long story short, condescending chat support no good support/info files, easily found – to get problem fixed, before the (get this!) service paid for through the 27th this month – – and by the second chat support email that was defensive, condescending, and didn’t even indicate personage had READ my “Well, I checked this, this, this, and this, did this just come to me because of this?” – and basically blamed my payment being declined, which wasn’t true – and I TOLD them I had already checked – Between that, my health insurance coverage and Nathan’s school showing him ‘billing’ with a $2,000+ surpluss, but sending me bill, asking for $901 payment before September 8th – WELL – I’m thinking, “Exactly how hard do I have to work to be a paying customer of yours?” – -LOL And so, I am hard at work, wasting time to meet other’s whose systems are so broken, they are living in La-La land – – LOL all while I quietly research and find a way to circumvent and no longer ‘vote’ for them, via $$ – and, just about much more? I will go on an online tear and say, ‘well – I’m continually told such things, but it hasn’t happened, and at this point? no need to support this business – hope they are bankrupt within the year, so someone who can do it right has a chance – – LOL

Leave a Reply

