KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

On Vacation. 


Where’s King Midget?

13 responses to “On Vacation. 

  1. hirundine608 July 29, 2016 at 1:10 pm

    Whooo-eee! Yeah I was wondering that too? Have a good one ! Cheers Jamie

    • kingmidget July 29, 2016 at 1:52 pm

      Got a guess for where I am?

      • hirundine608 July 29, 2016 at 3:12 pm

        My best vacations were those spent at home, exploring woods and mountains of my home Province, of British Columbia.

        So, my guess too. Is at home, with the family?

      • kingmidget July 31, 2016 at 6:44 am

        Alaskan cruise. The picture was at Ketchikan. Last night we spent a few hours in Victoria.

      • hirundine608 July 31, 2016 at 7:09 am

        Oh right … it’s my hometown now. Cheers Jamie

      • kingmidget July 31, 2016 at 7:17 am

        A nice city I wish we had more time to explore.

      • hirundine608 July 31, 2016 at 7:46 am

        Right, many people like it. Victoria now sprawls, easily 20 miles in all directions. Wealthy retirees come to spend their retirement money and play with their toys.

        When my son was young, he lived here with his mother and I would pick him up for time spent with me. The town then, was very working class and quite easy to find housing and compared to Vancouver. It was quite laid back. Now it rivals Vancouver in terms of Asian investments, in housing etc. Or if not their investments many sell their Vancouver homes to move here and commute. Ah well … sigh! Not my lifestyle yet deal with it. Cheers Jamie.

      • kingmidget July 31, 2016 at 8:02 am

        Totally agree. As a place to live, I wouldn’t stay in Victoria. Small towns like Ketchikan or Sitka or those along the Oregon Coast. Much more my speed.

      • hirundine608 July 31, 2016 at 8:54 am

        Yes, exactly. My fiancee’s daughter, lives in Anchorage. That is another town I would not want to live near.

        I haven’t visited Oregon coast, in 30 years. In fact since the onset of American homeland police state. I have endeavoured to avoid the country U.S. altogether.

        I can spend my money here in Canada. Used to live in a small town. Now that is becoming a big one and is completely unprepared for it. No proper planning, etc. At least Victoria being the Capital, has a better idea of that?

        My time left here on this planet is quickly … more quickly than i likely know, or wish. Is coming to an end. So in all probability I have only 15 to 20 years left. I do not know? Just guessing? Once you get into your sixties in age, a person needs to readjust their thinking. As grateful as I am for life, it will not last. Cheers Jamie.

        PS. Glad you liked your cruise and Victoria. It is picturesque, for sure! Especially Mt. Baker in the distance. J.

  2. A Passionate Dreamer July 30, 2016 at 6:12 am

    How is your vacation going? Are you still in Alaska? I’m so jealous!

Leave a Reply

