KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

What Do You Believe?


I believe there will always be a tomorrow.  Without tomorrow, why have hope?

But there comes a moment for each of us when there are no more tomorrows.

And that’s okay.  That is good.  That is right.  That is how it should be.

 

What do you believe?

8 responses to “What Do You Believe?

  1. S.K. Nicholls June 19, 2016 at 11:33 pm

    Yep. Zero population growth. Else we kill the planet. Negative population growth needed in some areas. Population relocation? Better population planning? There’s hope. If we can just get along.

  2. hirundine608 June 20, 2016 at 11:08 am

    Sure, I recognize this as being a truism. Yet close attention to the now, gives the tomorrow it’s due. Like Baba Ram Dass from 1960’s says “Be here now”. Cheers Jamie.

    • kingmidget June 20, 2016 at 7:54 pm

      You raise something I write about frequently … my inability to experience today because I am so worried about tomorrow. But it’s not necessarily what I meant with this post. I think. I don’t know. Sigh.

      • hirundine608 June 21, 2016 at 10:24 am

        I might have replied to at least one of those posts?

        As positive it is to think about the tomorrow. “Tomorrow never comes”, as granny was wont to point out. How do we deal with the now? Is probably pertinent? I use meditation. It has the ability to teach us to focus. To not let the mind control us. Mind is a good servant but terrible master. For it is always looking to sate itself, on something else. Your reported efforts to control beer intake and running. Are good. Yet, our control mind is more difficult. At least for me. That’s why i find meditation beneficial. It help me to focus on self improvement. … Good luck! Cheers Jamie.

      • kingmidget June 21, 2016 at 8:05 pm

        I’ve tried meditation off and on, most recently about 6-8 months ago. I can definitely sense a change when I try it, but it eventually becomes one of the many things I want to do with so little free time to get those things done.

        And I also get the rest of what you’re saying. There’s this constant battle in my mind and in my heart about what I need to do, what I want to do, and what I know is better for me to do. My efforts with beer? Eh, not so much today. And every day I think about trying to replace my dependence on it with something else, like running, that would be better for me. Still working on it. 😉 Thank you for your support and encouragement.

  3. hirundine608 June 22, 2016 at 10:07 am

    Yeah, meditation ain’t easy. That’s why it helps to have a method that can be used while doing things. Sitting alone in a room becomes an encumbrance, when trying to juggle a family life. At least that’s what I have found. Of course there’s going to be a battle in your mind. Mind does not give up easily. I’m not here to preach, just to encourage your progress. … Rock on, Cheers Jamie.

    • kingmidget June 23, 2016 at 6:23 am

      Agree with everything you’ve said. It’s also a bit of the chicken or the egg thing. On some level, I feel like my life and my mind are both too cluttered to make a serious effort with meditation, but meditation is supposed to help alleviate the clutter, I think. I think the idea of meditating while doing things may be the route to go, now I just need to do it. 😉

      And you’re not preaching to me. I appreciate your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

