KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

In Balance


I’ve had a couple of thoughts for posts over the last day or two.  There is the post that is enjoyable, involving music and memories and songs that have endured for me for years.  There is the post that is horrible and painful and about fears of what could be.  Both posts are too long to merge into one post.  So, I have to pick.  Yes, you know me well enough by know…

The upcoming Presidential election seems to be a catastrophe in the making.  This article suggests that America’s “soul” is in the balance.  This article suggests that Trump’s ascendancy to the Republican nomination may result in a needed destruction and rebuilding of the Republican party.  This post presents a well-written academic perspective on the thing.

I’ve spent the last year resisting the idea that we’re facing a catastrophe.  That any of this is a real risk to America.  That this coming election is about the soul of the country.  For one thing, I fundamentally don’t believe there is “one soul” of this country.  If you hang out enough on right wing blogs, as I do, you realize that there’s a whole other country out there that occupies the same space as the rest of us.  It’s the country where people really do believe that Obama is a Muslim.  That he hates this country.  That he is intentionally trying to destroy America and ignoring terorrists and so much else.  There is a huge swath of our country that beliefs this just as you and I believe that the sun rises in the east and the sky is blue.

As a result, the idea that our “soul” is at sake is just a bit far-fetched.  America doesn’t have a soul, as much as we’d like to think otherwise.

Another thing I have a problem with is believing that Trump is really as dangerous and scary as he seems to be.  For months, I’ve downplayed his chances to get the nomination and now to actually win the whole thing.  To me, he is playing a role — this election has turned into a gigantic reality show for him, where he is seeing just how much he can say, how extreme he can be and remain viable.  I’m not so sure anymore, however, and because of that, I’m not so sure he isn’t dangerous or scary.

A couple of days ago, I had a conversation with a relative who insists Trump is a fascist.  I’m not yet there, but I can see why people reach that conclusion.  There’s a piece of me that still believes he is not as bad as he seems.  If he were to actually win the election, much of this would go away.  He would realize all of these things he has spouted for months now was just a ploy to win and once he wins, he’ll recognize that much of it is bad, bad, bad, and he would govern more reasonably than his campaign suggests.

The problem is that with each week he just gets worse.  More extreme, more bigoted, more … well … fascist-like.  It’s getting harder and harder to minimize what he is saying and the possible impact his election might have.

So, I go back to that first article.  Maybe this election really is about something related to the “soul” of America.  Maybe this election really is about something fundamental and vital to the idea of America.

I only wish that the other choice was more worthy of consideration.  When it comes to what makes up the “soul” of America, I’m not sure Hillary Clinton represents that “soul” any better than the Trumpster.

This is the worst Presidential election and choice I have had since 1982 when I first was able to vote.  I’m not sure either choice preserves our “soul.”  Instead, it is a choice between two evils and that isn’t much of a choice at all.  For weeks and months now, I have been saying that I will not vote for Clinton.  The more Trump speaks, however, the more plausible a vote for Clinton becomes because of just how far he is willing to go in playing to people’s racism and bigotry and intolerance.  As bad as Clinton is, from my perspective, unless Trump changes his tune, I’m beginning to buy in to the notion that he must be stopped.  No matter what.

 

10 responses to “In Balance

  1. Conversations With The Moon June 15, 2016 at 9:07 pm

    I’m holding on to the notion that Trump will be defeated…that there is enough of “our country” left to end this nightmare. But I’m also, sadly, of the opinion that Trump and this emergence of right wing extremism will eventually lead us to someone like Trump being elected. Our political will has been an exercise in immediate gratification for so long I’m not sure that a catastrophic paradigm shift isn’t the logical outcome of our (the collective “our”) unwillingness to exercise the personal discipline necessary for effective change. Sitting on the couch with a beer in our hands watching Fox or the local “news” has just been too attractive for too many. I hope I’m wrong.

    • kingmidget June 15, 2016 at 9:13 pm

      It’s more than just the laziness and immediate gratification you suggest. Spend some time on right wing blogs and it is about intolerance, bigotry, and hate. A chunk of this country that believes they should be allowed to do whatever they want, the government has no authority over them, and they cannot stand the idea that they must live in a country where people believe otherwise. And they live in an alternate universe in which up is down.

      • Conversations With The Moon June 15, 2016 at 9:15 pm

        I’m taking responsibility for “our countries” laziness and immediate gratification. I don’t know how you do it. I couldn’t spend more than a few minutes immersed in that cesspool of mental illness. Kudos for being willing to look over the fence…

  2. Kevin Brennan June 16, 2016 at 8:07 am

    What troubles me is that the Republican base that’s so hot for Trump isn’t going anywhere even if he’s defeated. They’ll continue to knock off moderates by putting up Tea Party primary opponents, and Congress will continue to block anything President Clinton tries to do. I don’t see how the cycle gets broken until the House goes Dem at some point in the ’20s.

    Having just read Jane Mayer’s “Dark Money,” I feel like the oligarchs have already won. We just live in their ant farm.

  3. hirundine608 June 16, 2016 at 10:32 am

    Ummm … America’s soul went out the window long ago. When the assassination of JFK to stop him taking back the Federal Bank from it’s minions. For the benefit of the people. Likewise Lincoln.

    Most countries are run by the same people. Elections are just the mechanism used to hide the fact.

    The U.S.A. is run by the British Crown … no, not the Windsors. The Rothschild’s etc. D.C. is a corporation run by them. Has it never seemed strange? How three places in the world are completely autonomous? D.C. The City of London and The Vatican. … This is the real world we live in. The power and the hidden structure of the Zionists.

    • kingmidget June 16, 2016 at 11:41 am

      I completely agree that America has lost it’s soul. The larger point, however, is that no country can really claim to have one.

      • hirundine608 June 16, 2016 at 12:23 pm

        Quite so and likely never could. Once we became run by violent psychopaths. The notion that we have to “buy” land and the food supply became controlled. We are now economic slaves. Cheers Jamie

  4. Kathy June 16, 2016 at 8:03 pm

    You know I think Trump is a buffoon. But if he *did* win, I would certainly find it amusing to see all the people flee to Canada that said they would. Because I don’t believe them. They’ll have all their reasons why they “couldn’t move right now.” (And there just may be a few writing them up as we speak…just in case.) I think they all made that claim because they’re betting on the fact Trump won’t win. But if he did, this would be amusing for a while, watching them either scramble to get out as quickly as possible, or come up with reasons why it just wasn’t feasible at this time. Yep, this would amuse me.

Leave a Reply

