KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

It’s Getting Close


It’s been some time since I published anything.  The last novel crashed and burned miserably and then created a little bit of personal drama so I “unpublished” it.  But, there’s still the first novel and the two collections of short stories.

It’s been almost as long since I engaged in any serious promotional activities.  For months now, though, I’ve continued to sell somewhere between 10 and 20 e-book downloads, almost entirely of that first novel.  It’s One Night in Bridgeport — your standard legal thriller about a guy accused of rape and sucked away for a bit of small-town justice.

I’ve learned something in this.  If you want to sell books and have a little bit of a legacy, write in a genre where people will buy almost anything.  Particularly when it’s priced at .99 per download, I guess.

Anyway, this has been going on for months now.  Those downloads keep coming each month.  One of the interesting things about this is that the Brits appear to like the idea behind One Night in Bridgeport better than my fellow Americans.  For months now, more downloads of the thing have been purchased at Amazon/UK than Amazon/USA.

And this month?  Well … nobody, not even the Brits were buying any of my books on Amazon.  I just checked, though, and I got one from my new favorite country.  I’m going to have to work on my English accent and having a spot of tea and bangers for breakfast.

So, here’s the challenge … you haven’t bought one of my books?  You’ve got a Kindle?  Head on over to your nearest Amazon website and type in my name … Mark Paxson … make a purchase.  It won’t cost you much and you may like what you read.  It’ll give me a thrill if nothing else.  🙂

 

4 responses to “It’s Getting Close

  1. cinthiaritchie May 24, 2016 at 3:23 am

    Oh, oh, I want to hear more about the “personal drama” of the book you pulled. P.S. Prepared to be thrilled–I just bought your book. Cheers and have a good one.

  2. Kevin Brennan May 24, 2016 at 11:37 am

    You should see the flat line I’ve got going right now. Alas … 😩

    • kingmidget May 24, 2016 at 11:49 am

      It’s really disappointing. If I want to have people read my books and make a little money, write in a popular genre. If I want to write what I want to write, I should give up on readers and money. One of the reasons I unpublished that second novel is because it wasn’t selling. Although the story and the writing is many times better than Bridgeport, there just wasn’t any interest in it. Too literary.

Leave a Reply

