KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

It’s About Control


Here’s why.

16 responses to “It’s About Control

  1. S.K. Nicholls May 9, 2016 at 11:43 pm

    Wow. I feel your pain. Newly diagnosed as a diabetic I gave up sugar. And wheat. I ran out of things pleasing to eat. I’m cheating now and my FBS is up from 100-110 to 130-140. I’m trying to convince myself that modern science is all wrong and that the old rules of a 140 FBS being a normal one is correct and that Big pharma just reduce the threshold to make more money and have more diabetics to prescribe to. But I dunno. I feel awful foggy, almost lethargic, when I eat sugar or wheat.

  2. Carrie Rubin May 10, 2016 at 4:49 am

    Wow, great article. Thanks for linking to it. At first I didn’t realize you wrote it. I’m on my phone and didn’t see your name on the bottom. But given how well-written it is and how quickly I was sucked into it, I should have known it was yours. Congrats on the 21 days. Good on you.

  3. hirundine608 May 10, 2016 at 2:11 pm

    Nice post and challenge, for yourself. Around fifteen years ago, I too found the one or two alcoholic beverages after work, were becoming a ball and chain. In Canada we have government run alcohol outlets. Yeah, you can buy them elsewhere but usually the price is higher.

    Driving by mine on a daily basis on the way home from work, started to become a challenge. They had such a good selection of craft beers too. How I dealt with it was through cannabis. Yeah I know … it’s illegal. Yet I grew it, in a closet and it helped me get over the hump of an alcohol habit. I never went near a bar or had a drink with a meal. Kicking a cannabis habit is much easier.

    Anyway, I still drink beer very occasionally. Yet I’m careful, that when the case is empty not to indulge again, for some months. Would I recommend my method? Not really. Yet it also helped me, kick the nicotine habit in the early eighties. So I would tout, it’s curative qualities. BTW I became very good as a grower but never more than six to eight plants. Four growing, then four in flower. The male pants were weeded out. But actually make a good substitute while waiting for the females. I liked it best as a cookie or candy. THC has an affinity for fat. So I would like to try it in butter, one day?

    I don’t run, except across a busy road but I do walk for pleasure. Also did taiji and some kung fu. I never had a problem with pop. I like water and indulge in carbonated water. But tap water run through a filter, is very nice, too. I’ve always liked water since a kid. Thanks for sharing your story. I hope it is an inspiration to others. Cheers Jamie.

    • kingmidget May 10, 2016 at 7:40 pm

      Yes. There have been many times in recent years when I have left the house in the morning with a fridge empty of beer and magically when I get home in the evening I have a couple of six packs in my hands. I know all too well the draw of grocery stores on the way home. 🙂

      Regarding other options. I have never smoked marijuana and am not sure I’ll ever start. While I drink water, I do like to have flavored things to drink. I’m considering buying a juicer and trying to make my own juices so I can eliminate the added sugars in most flavored drinks.

      Thanks for your comment and support!

      • hirundine608 May 10, 2016 at 8:22 pm

        I do not recommend my method but was being truthful. These days, I do not partake of any libations. Once in a blue moon a nice brew but that’s it. Like I wrote, I preferred my “grass” in cookies or baked goods. Smoking is very smelly and not as effective. I bought a juicer, around January. As well as a couple of books. It’s a masticating juicer and very good at extraction. Yesterday I had rhubarb, strawberry and watermelon juice. Absolutely delicious. Oh and I had a few carrots in it too. I know of the juicers as being touted as “cleansing”. But I just like the juice. These I heartily endorse. I am a vegetarian and find the juice as being a great tonic. I am going to try some pomegranate, when next in season. I enjoy that POM juice from time to time. Very invigorating. Cheers Jamie.

      • kingmidget May 10, 2016 at 8:29 pm

        I just ordered a juicer and a recipe book. I’m not doing it for the cleansing. Just for a healthier approach to what I drink. I’m looking forward to giving it a try. I really want to make some of these changes and am hopeful it will work and it’s something I am able to stick with.

      • hirundine608 May 10, 2016 at 9:18 pm

        Nice! I think you’ll enjoy it …

  4. Kathy May 12, 2016 at 4:57 pm

    When I stopped smoking, I kept a couple packs in the house. It was really for “just in case I wanted one.” As time went on, I realized having them there, and me not touching them, was my little personal victory. I remember when I finally tossed them. I was very proud of me. And, speaking of dreams I didn’t tell anyone I had stopped, I just didn’t smoke. I never said the word “quit” because it sounded too final and caused me to be instantly depressed. But mostly, if I started again, no one could call me on it. I didn’t frantically wave the air around me when others smoked, and I let smokers that came to my house still smoke. I wanted to still be in my same life as it always was. They could smoke; I just stopped. I still call it that. “I’ve stopped for X-amount of years.” Still can’t use the word quit, even after all these years.

    • kingmidget May 13, 2016 at 6:39 am

      I have frequently thought of taking your approach. Just stopping and not telling anybody, but that’s hard, particularly with beer since it is such a huge part of my daily habits and people who know how much I love beer would notice when I’m not drinking it anymore.

      So, I caved yesterday. Had both a soda with lunch and beer with dinner. I just needed to.

      • Kathy May 13, 2016 at 11:32 am

        Everyone I knew smoked! We’d go out somewhere where WE always smoked, and I swear not one person noticed. Sheesh! I must make a very small impression on people! Only one time did someone say, “Hey, did you quit?” (that nasty word again) and I said I felt a cold coming on and it didn’t taste very good earlier. They never asked again. NO ONE!! Are you getting headaches from stopping sodas?

      • hirundine608 May 13, 2016 at 2:47 pm

        Good … it’s not the end of the world. I expect you only to be more resolute, to carry through your decisions.

        In the early 1970’s I worked for Schweppes, in England. In their quality control dept. They had the Pepsi rights, under license. They do not measure the acid content. For it is off the charts. The sugar content was measured on a refractometer that had a cast iron base, eaten away from the fluid. Working there also cured me of drinking from glass bottles. If you could have seen the stuff, that was in the returns? Cheers Jamie.

      • kingmidget May 13, 2016 at 8:12 pm

        Yeah. I now that soft drinks are just horrible without any nutritionally redeeming value. That’s why I want to stop them. Plus all that sugar!

        I’m working on it.

  5. Kathy May 12, 2016 at 5:00 pm

    I meant to add, the dreams were the most vivid I’ve ever had and truly made me want to smoke. I didn’t but used to go to bed and think, “Stop it! Stop dreaming about it.” My subconscious never listened. Now and again, I still dream I have smoked.

Leave a Reply

