KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

I Shoulda Been a Teenage Girl


Something happened to me around ten years ago and these songs that tend to be popular with teenage girls started to strike a chord with me.  Songs of loving and longing and growing old together.  Oh sure, an occasional song like that hit me in the right spot years ago.  True Companion by Marc Cohn comes to mind — it came out before my wedding and if I could have done it, I would have sung it to my bride on that day.

But, for the most part, songs were just songs.  I like certain sounds and styles, but I didn’t necessarily pay a lot of attention to lyrics.  I remember in college Jackson Browne releasing a couple of albums filled with politically inspired lyrics — those really worked for me back then.  But sad, sentimental love songs — eh, not so much.

And then something happened.  A friend exposed me to Katie Melua and she has some great love songs.  Chasing Cars by Snow Patrol.  I actually have a playlist of these songs.  And I started listening to Jackson Browne’s acoustic works and discovered that he wasn’t just a political protester, he had these songs that just spoke volumes to me — Sky Blue and Black and My Stunning Mystery Companion to name a couple.

But the song that has me convinced I shoulda been a teenage girl is this one.  Ed Sheeran seems to be one of those singers the teenage girl set absolutely adores.  I imagine his concerts being a non-stop screaming frenzy of girls singing along with them, tears streaming down their faces because they know, they absolutely know that Ed is singing these words to them.

 

I just love this song.  And I want to go to one of his concerts in the midst of that screaming frenzy and sing along too.

So, what I need is this … I need a manly man to tell me he likes the song too.  A man who still is in possession of his man card (because, for completely different reasons, my kids are convinced I may have never had one) who can attest to the idea that this song is okay for men to feel.

Anybody?

Anybody?

19 responses to “I Shoulda Been a Teenage Girl

  1. hirundine608 May 4, 2016 at 8:42 pm

    I don’t know. Haven’t listened to your song. Or rather the song to which alluded. However I see nothing wrong with emotions of any sort. Provided they are genuine. Too much in this world us full of the wrong sort of emotions. Hate and war. I’m sure you know what I’m talking about? So, rock on Like what you like. I’m not sure exactly, what a “manly man” should be? Does that really matter? Cheers Jamie.

    • kingmidget May 5, 2016 at 6:20 am

      I agree. I was just having a little fun. 😉

      I was listening to the song on my drive into work yesterday, singing it with abandon and had the thought that inspired this post.

  2. A Passionate Dreamer May 4, 2016 at 8:42 pm

    I am not a man but I love that you love this song. A man to me isn’t a man unless he can appreciate some romance. Relax babe. It’s awesome that you have a little bit of teenage girl fan crush in you lol.

  3. S.K. Nicholls May 4, 2016 at 9:49 pm

    I don’t know if you are referring to macho man or Adonis man as manly, neither of which I’ve ever had much success with. The macho man is mean and spiteful and the Adonis is narcissistic…neither of which is attractive, no matter how nice looking they are. I love that you love this song, also. It shows you have a heart and a soul that seeks to connect. Something many men never quite achieve. Well, that’s just been my experience anyhow. I’m an old married lady now. What do I know?

    • kingmidget May 5, 2016 at 6:22 am

      This was somewhat tongue in cheek. As I mentioned to another commenter, I was listening to the song on my drive to work yesterday and the thought that inspired this post came to me. I would never actually want to be a manly man and am totally comfortable with how I feel and think. 😉

      • S.K. Nicholls May 5, 2016 at 6:53 am

        That’s good to know because the manliest of men have no problem being selfless and kind 🙂

      • kingmidget May 5, 2016 at 6:59 am

        I think the fact that I was the youngest of four, with my only brother being the oldest and wanting little to do with me — meaning my primary influences were my mother and my two sisters led me down a different path to manhood. That said, my brother isn’t necessarily the mostly manly of men either. Somewhere my parents did something right in raising us. 😉

  4. vanbytheriver May 5, 2016 at 3:51 am

    It’s a beautiful song, enjoy the emotion. Put your man card on hold for a few moments, if that’s what it takes. ☺

  5. Trent Lewin May 5, 2016 at 4:19 am

    I’m with you. I love emotional songs too. I don’t adore this particular song, but there’s many others that fit the pill (including by this guy) that I do really like. It’s all music, my man. No shame!

  6. the father figure May 5, 2016 at 2:02 pm

    “You’ve just given me an idea for tonight’s post to re-establish my manhood.” You can reestablish manhood with a blog post? Tell me how it’s done!

  7. Pingback: Compensating For Last Night | KingMidget's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

