KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Why I’m Worried


Two words:

Donald

Trump

Until this week, I have been confident there is no way he could win the general election in November.  I’m not so sure anymore and am, in fact, worried that he will actually win the thing.  Why?

Because no charge, no allegation, no amount of criticism or attack has worked against him.  As Reagan was the Teflon President, Trump appears to be the Teflon Candidate.  The things he has said over the years that are a matter of record and keep getting exposed during the campaign don’t matter.  The things he has done don’t matter.  The outrageous and offensive things he has said and done during the campaign … say it with me … don’t matter.

Meanwhile, his attacks and criticisms, no matter how outrageous they have been, have worked against every candidate the Republican party threw at him.

I worry about how this will turn out.  I worry about what he will do to Hillary Clinton in the months between now and November.  He has demonstrated that he doesn’t care about the “rules” that typically apply to these things and that his supporters will absolutely eat up whatever he said and does. and that he will say or do whatever it takes to win.  Because winning is the only thing that matters to him.  The only thing that matters to him is winning.  He is a classic example of the ends justifying the means.  His need to win trumps (sorry for the pun) all.  I don’t know if Hillary can withstand that.  I just don’t know.  There is a wave of frustration and outrage that Trump is riding further than anybody thought possible.  Whose to say this is where that wave ends?

My only hope is that in November, enough women, minorities, and members of all the groups Trump has attacked remember those attacks and vote against Trump.   I can only hope that there are enough intelligent, thinking, rational people left in this country that he cannot win.  Otherwise, we will be screwed.  Absolutely, monumentally screwed.

I only wish the alternative was a better one than Hillary.

14 responses to “Why I’m Worried

  1. Trent Lewin May 3, 2016 at 8:22 pm

    We are also quite worried about this, but I think this isn’t really about Trump actually winning something. I think this is about the demise of the Republican party. Trump, despite the rabid support base, is in reality unelectable. It would just be too much of a farce to have him up there – wouldn’t it?

    • kingmidget May 3, 2016 at 8:26 pm

      I thought so but he has I officially won the nomination of one of the two major parties. How could that have happened? I’m just gobsmacked by that. It does say something really bad about the current state of the Republican Party, but still. He f’ing won the thing!! Bizarre is the new normal this election cycle which means no prediction holds any value.

  2. Ike Jakson May 3, 2016 at 10:19 pm

    I want to make it quite clear that I thought long and hard before getting the keyboard to do this. I respect you and your right as Blogger and don’t want to be negative on your terrain.

    However, you seem to look at the World through eyes of one section of American life.

    The World is s different place to what it was in 1960; the entire scene has changed. America is not seen like in 1960, or even in 1976. We have lost our fears of Russia and China and we don’t have problems with Islam.

    In short, no matter what you think, the World despises Hillary Clinton as they despised Obama. They don’t want a Democrat or GOP in the White House. In short they want Trump.

    You may quite correctly argue that it has nothing to do with the World whom you choose. Yes, but that used to be the case but that has also changed. Hillary and Obama made it the business of the World ever since Gadaffi and
    Egypt.

    If I offend anyone with this I shall understand because I loved America at one time, if you don’t want to publish this comment.

    • kingmidget May 4, 2016 at 5:55 am

      I fundamentally disagree with you that “the World” wants Donald Trump as President. Donald Trump would be a disaster for America and for “the World” in so many ways. You also seem to fail to recognize that “the World” has no say in who the next President of the United States is. That decision is left to American voters.

      I’ll leave it at that.

  3. Pamela Beckford May 4, 2016 at 5:19 am

    Please, oh please, don’t let The Donald be our next president. And I live in the state that voted for him yesterday. And we wonder why our state is in the mess it is in

  4. S.K. Nicholls May 4, 2016 at 7:40 am

    I’m resisting. It may be futile. I can’t do it.

  5. Kevin Brennan May 4, 2016 at 10:09 am

    I’m getting the same feelings, Mark, and my hope is that the numbers supporting his campaign now aren’t sufficient to get him elected in November (an extreme and motivated wing of the party). That said, Hillary is qualified but deeply flawed, and she’ll have to inherit some of the Bernie enthusiasm in order to inspire the kind of turnout that will beat Trump.

    The last time I felt like this, Reagan wound up beating Carter … and the rest is history.

    • kingmidget May 5, 2016 at 6:19 am

      I was talking with a co-worker about this yesterday. He sent me a link showing how Clinton would trounce Trump in the electoral college if the election were held today. I sent him a link from May 2008 showing that if the 2008 election had been held then McCain would have beat Obama. There are six months … so much can happen between now and November. That Trump is one of the last two standing, means it’s a 50/50 shot now. That’s just scary and disgusting. And we still haven’t really recovered from the Reagan years.

Leave a Reply

