KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Something’s Wrong Here


A friend has recommended Harlan Coben to me a couple of times.  As I neared the end of the current book I’m reading (more on that later), I decided to get the Coben book she most recently recommended — The Stranger.  I went to Amazon.  Searched for the book.  Got the details.  Hmmm … that’s interesting.  The cost of a paperback version of the book is cheaper than the Kindle version.  And because I’m a Prime member, I get free shipping.  How does this possibly make any sense at all?

9 responses to “Something’s Wrong Here

  1. MamaMickTerry April 27, 2016 at 7:06 am

    Hmmm…I’ve encountered weird pricing on Amazon, too. I already give them waaaay too much of my money 🙂

  2. Kevin Brennan April 27, 2016 at 8:44 am

    From what I’ve heard, that pricing is coming from the publishers, not Amazon. They’re trying to push up the price of ebooks from the $9.99-ish level Amazon has established.

    Meanwhile, we’re having trouble getting people to pay more than 99 cents for an ebook!

  3. hirundine608 April 27, 2016 at 9:06 am

    I’m not much of a reader anymore. My eyes can’t take it. Either sleepy or watery, these days. Even so, for the books I read, i try to keep to a minimum of the eBooks. eBooks are easier to read … you may enlarge the type and the reader [an iPad] is lighter and easier to handle. Yet, there is something about a paper book that just plain … works. It can be shoved into a backpack or pocket with ease. If you drop a book, you’re not going to spend hundreds for a replacement. Folding the page corner because you don’t have a bookmark. Writing in the sidebar? Passing it along to a friend when you’ve finished with it. All these things make books still preferable, for me. Cheers Jamie.

  4. Pamela Beckford April 27, 2016 at 10:19 am

    I just bought two new releases in hardcover at only one penny higher than the Kindle version and, same here, I’m a Prime member. But I wish I would have gone ahead and gotten the Kindle versions – my Kindle is far more convenient than hauling around a hardcover book.

  5. Carrie Rubin April 27, 2016 at 10:29 am

    I don’t like that either. I try to rationalize with myself that an $11.99 ebook (for example) is still cheaper than a hardcover, and I get the same enjoyment, but it’s still a tough price to swallow.

Leave a Reply

