KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

The Good News


My son got a job!

Did I mention … my son got a job!

The long eight month nightmare of him going back to college with certain understandings in place about his responsibilities and ours and him making a halfhearted effort to fulfill his, while making sure he had plenty of time for the fun part of being away at college … it is finally over.

My son got a job!

And, in other news, in the last few days I have submitted a short story for publication and also submitted the first part of Northville Five and Dime (which could be a stand alone novella or the first in a three-parter) to another contest — the winner of which gets a publishing contract.

Some of the blogger/writers I follow talk about submitting.  There is a Facebook page I follow that has regular posts about writing contests and journals looking for submissions.  And all of that finally hit a crescendo.  I decided it was time to get back out there and see if something can happen.

And in other, other news …

Did I mention, my son got a job!  I have to say this.  His “effort” over the last eight months came very close to ending our relationship.  I just hope he can keep the damn thing.

Back to the other news.  After leasing a Nissan Leaf for three years and loving the lack of any trips to a gas station and hating the limited range (no more than an 80 mile round trip without charging), I got a new car this weekend.  The next best thing.  A Chevy Volt.  Which really is a better thing for me.  It has an electric drive train with a batter that produces about 50 miles of range between charges — more than enough for me to get to and from work every day.  So, my daily commute will still be entirely electric.  But, it also has a gas-powered engine that will extend the range another 350 miles.  This gives me the flexibility to go places on the weekend without inconveniencing my wife, who still drives a regular old gas-powered dinosaur.  😉

I realized something over the past few weeks as I looked forward to making the car change.  The limits the Leaf placed on me was having a negative impact on me.  I couldn’t get out to the places I really wanted to get to on weekends, so I didn’t go anywhere.  That’s all going to change now.

And … hey, did I mention that my son got a job!!!!!!!!!!!  You cannot believe how happy this makes me.  Although I’m still incredibly frustrated at what he has done, not just over the past eight months, but the last few years.  There’s some serious repair that needs to happen there — from both of us.

 

16 responses to “The Good News

  1. Sreejit Poole April 25, 2016 at 8:45 pm

    Congratulations to your son! That takes me back to getting my first job and how happy that made my mom. ( shoot that was more than 25 years ago?! guess it was traumatic for us all.) And good luck on the submission? I got my first rejection letter about a month ago. I was happy that they at least let me know. Then I was like, forget it and put the novella back up on my blog. You really have to have persistence in this business, and me… not so much.

  2. S.K. Nicholls April 25, 2016 at 9:15 pm

    Congrats on all counts! My husband is struggling with his relationship with his son right now. He doesn’t have a job. He hasn’t exactly lied to his dad about loosing his job, he just hasn’t told him. Hubby found out through a third party and that makes it sort of sour news. It’s been a few months and his son hasn’t said a word, but he’s been super excited about some invention he’s working on that’s supposed to make him lots of money (have no clue where he’s going to get the capital from or what he’s going to live on in the meanwhile…so far it’s been Aunt and mom’s money). He’s not willing to give up certain habits he has so he knows he can’t stay here. These “grown” kids are something else.

    I’d love a hybrid car or a Tesla. Not sure on the specs for an affordable Tesla. My Lexus’ leather seats are splitting. It’s a 2005, but only has 63K miles on it and I was told (just today) no, I can’t get a new car…it’s not in the, “I’d like to retire in three years,” budget. Seat covers??? Maybe. It’s tough being a dependent.

    • kingmidget April 26, 2016 at 6:43 am

      The “affordable” Tesla is supposed to be around $30-35,000, but it won’t be available until some time in 2017, at the earliest. But you can put a $1,000 deposit down on one and wait along with the 250,000+ people who have already put a deposit down. 😉

      Hard to understand these “adults” who think they don’t have to work.

  3. Amy Reese April 25, 2016 at 10:39 pm

    Congrats to your son and you! I bet you’re relieved. It’s time for a new chapter. And on to new adventures to you in your new car. 🙂

  4. Seenorway April 26, 2016 at 1:57 am

    We invite you all to visit Norway! Digitally, that is! 😉
    On our blog: http://www.SeeNorway.wordpress.com you may find more than
    5000 ‘full-screen-pictures’ from Norway, and best of all: It’s all free!
    Of course, you can’t freely use our pictures, but it won’t cost
    you a penny to enjoy them all. They are all posted for your pleasure!
    Be advised to follow the links to our INDEX once you find it –
    (at the end of any post you may choose to open).
    It will make it way easier to find what you are looking for!
    Welcome to Norway! 😉

  5. Trent Lewin April 26, 2016 at 3:41 am

    Great news about your son, Mark! Sounds like he needed that (and you did too). I’m not ready for my kids to grow up, but have this horrible feeling that they are doing it too quickly for my liking.

    Let me know how the Volt goes. I drool over those new Teslas… but that’s way too much money to spend on a mere automobile.

    So… submitting, eh? This makes me happy. I think you will surprise yourself on how you do. My best wishes go with you, but you have the talent to shine in such competitions and with such submissions. You should take your Maureen Nesbitt piece and submit it, I really really liked that one. Just beware of restrictions on previously-published materials, as some places consider blog publishing to be previously-published.

    On the above note, I have a piece that I’d love for you to have a look at. It’s entirely whacked out and disjointed, but it speaks to me like few of my pieces ever do. Will fix it up and send to you via e-mail, would appreciate your thoughts.

    • kingmidget April 26, 2016 at 6:45 am

      Yes, the kids grow up too fast and then when they’re supposed to spread their wings and leave the next, it seems they don’t quite get what that means.

      We’ll see what happens with the submissions and I’m going to keep looking around for other opportunities to submit. I’m not done yet.

      I saw your email and look forward to reading the story.

  6. vanbytheriver April 26, 2016 at 4:19 am

    And your son got the job. I can feel your joy. ☺

  7. MamaMickTerry April 27, 2016 at 7:07 am

    YAY for your son! And yay for your submission. Keep us posted!
    (YAY! Your son got a job!)

  8. Kathy April 27, 2016 at 9:56 am

    I’m so happy to hear you’re submitting. You have a talent and others need to enjoy it. Thinking about “grown” kids today…. the rule in our house was you had to move out at 18. Period. No ifs, ands, or buts. I think it was told to us at birth, because I can’t remember ever not knowing this. Of course we could attend college, but it would be on our own dime. No ifs, ands, or buts. And although we were encouraged to attend college, I didn’t have a car yet (we weren’t bought one… “no ifs, ands, or buts”) it was hard enough going to work from my little studio apartment on the bus. Wasn’t brave enough to attend night college by way of bus, which still wouldn’t have worked since buses stopped running at a certain time. Can you even imagine if kids were told that today? First, parents wouldn’t let a daughter live in a studio apartment downtown on her own without a car. Second, parents wouldn’t let their daughters NOT have a car — protection and all. I know that was a long time ago, times are different, but many things aren’t that different. A teenager walking alone downtown at 0-dark-thirty (gets dark by 5PM in winter) from a grocery store was still as much a threat as it is now. And no cell phones then! In fact I lived there 6 months before I could afford a telephone. I’m so very happy your son got a job! What excellent news!

  9. Philip Walter April 30, 2016 at 11:47 am

    The Volt was so maddly expensive here that it is not sold anymore, twice the price of a regular similar car. Never going to be a big demand which is a shame since I may have been keen at one point. Now how’s you son getting on in finding a job?

    • kingmidget April 30, 2016 at 8:53 pm

      It is more expensive than comparable gas powered cars, but there’s a federal tax credit and state rebate that helps make them much more affordable. It’s a shame they are so expensive there. I really like the idea. A battery for daily commuting with gas for longer trips. A good bridge to the future when all electric cars have better range and faster charging.

Leave a Reply

