KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Chopped Salad!


20160409-181013.jpg

24 responses to “Chopped Salad!

  1. Trent Lewin April 9, 2016 at 6:56 pm

    Have you ever tried blending a salad like that? It tastes… unique.

    • kingmidget April 9, 2016 at 7:01 pm

      Well, after just consuming what was in the picture … by the time I was halfway through, it was pretty much all blended together. And it was scrumptious.

      • Trent Lewin April 9, 2016 at 7:02 pm

        Looks it. I meant in a high-speed blender to make a smoothie.

      • kingmidget April 9, 2016 at 7:03 pm

        Got it. Nope. And I don’t know that I ever will. I can do a fruit smoothie now and then, but a salad? Well, wait a minute … now I feel like I need to try it.

        Dammit.

      • Trent Lewin April 9, 2016 at 7:05 pm

        Mark, try it. Take a salad you would love to otherwise eat whole, put it in a blender with a banana and some ice, maybe a hint of cinnamon, and possibly some protein powder if you have some (the true veggie stuff). Add lots of water too, and some beans if you have em, experiment a bit, etc. And if it works, get some cold cups (you know, the ones with the steel straws), and suddenly you’re chugging these things for breakfast and lunch, and feeling like a goddam sexual tyrannosaurus… okay sorry for that last part, I had Jesse Ventura from Predator on the mind.

      • kingmidget April 9, 2016 at 7:09 pm

        Ummm … I already feel like a sexual tyrannosaurus!!! Not just feel like one. I am ONE!!!!

        I’ll have to ponder whether I really want to experience a blended salad.

      • Trent Lewin April 9, 2016 at 7:13 pm

        Okay, that was my hearty deep laugh for the night…. good one, Mark! Let me know if you try the salad smoothie. Success largely a function o the horsepower of your blender.

        And now back to the writing… it’s-a yelling at me to get with it.

      • kingmidget April 9, 2016 at 7:25 pm

        It’s yelling at me as well and I’m not listening.

      • Trent Lewin April 9, 2016 at 7:29 pm

        Come on Mark… you know you have to. Time slips. We slip right along with it. You have a calling, in my opinion. You can not listen. You can try to turn the other way, but it’s not going to mean that it’ll go away. Did you call this yearning a little while ago? What’s that mean other than that you are already on your journey. No real point in pretending that you’ve reached the place where you’re meant to go.

        Yearn away, my friend. I love that thought of yearning. My life feels complete in so many ways, yet I yearn so heartily it feels like pain at times. Figure I have to obey. Just have to let it go and see what happens.

        You named it. You know it’s there. Do it, my friend, just do it.

      • kingmidget April 9, 2016 at 7:33 pm

        Since I wrote that post, I’ve thought about an addendum and about how writing feels a part of the yearning … because of how you can never stop finding new worlds and new characters. It simply is impossible to be “filled up” as a writer, or artist of any other sort, because the possibilities are endless.

        And, yet, I still find myself struggling with the thing.

        I’m working on it. Every day. I try to get it done.

        And as always, thank you for your support and encouragement. Words cannot describe how much that means from somebody as talented and committed to the craft as you clearly are.

      • Trent Lewin April 9, 2016 at 7:40 pm

        Yeah I hear you – endless possibilities. They keep me up at night. I’m terrible at writing at night. I need early mornings and (though I know you don’t subscribe to the stuff) coffee. I need dawn, last stars, morning light, all that jazz. I need birds and the like. But I will say this – I’m just a dabbler. I love writing, but to what am I committed really? You have this inside you, and I think it may be that very struggle that defines where you will get with this. You’ve written your novels, put them out there, you’ve let it happen. No reason why it won’t happen again.

        Always here to encourage you. I would dearly like to see you find your way through this and hammer out something that won’t be forgotten. I think you have that in you.

      • kingmidget April 9, 2016 at 7:44 pm

        You say you need dawn and the morning and birds. What I need is the knowledge that I will have the time to do what I need to do to make it work. Really work. For years, I just wrote without really a lot of thought and I think it worked. But the more I write, the more I worry about the quality of what I’m doing (yes, I need to stop doing that). But the reality is that now I really, really care about the quality and that means devoting a lot more time and mental energy to the thing than I did for the first ten years. I need to figure out how to just write again and put off concerns about high quality until I have more time to do that kind of thing.

      • kingmidget April 9, 2016 at 7:47 pm

        But I should add … part of the “yearning” post and the epiphany is recognizing that I got to do what I can with the time I have. And stop avoiding the search, stop avoiding writing, stop avoiding things because I don’t have as much time as I wish I had.

      • Trent Lewin April 9, 2016 at 7:56 pm

        Yeah I’m with you there. It’s about blaring out your voice in the time that you have. If it’s not perfect, so what? You’ll have time to edit, to reveal your thoughts fully. It’s getting the thoughts out that’s most important. It doesn’t need to be perfect the first time through, Mark! But it does need to be existent. You are so hard on yourself. You’re not perfect in one go, no one is. Get the heart of what you want to write down in the time that you have, and worry about making it exactly what you want later.

        God knows I have no time. My life is severely whacked. I don’t know how to explain it exactly. I mean, I could but don’t on my blog. But those instants – that couple of hours a week that I have, I write loud in that time, I throttle the seconds and make them longer than they are, because that’s all I got. And then I look back and see what needs to be reshaped or chiseled. I do my best. But there is no perfection in writing. There’s just heart.

      • kingmidget April 9, 2016 at 8:07 pm

        One of the little known secrets about my writing is that I do virtually no editing once I have finished a story. I have never been able to just let her rip when I am writing. The writing and the editing are all part of the same process that results in a finished product that sees little change once it’s done. Not that things couldn’t be improved if I were to try to, but … it’s just that when I’ve reached the end, it really is the end for me. That idea is complete.

        It’s why I now struggle with the requests I’ve received to maybe go further with The Jump. That story was done when I wrote the final words. I can see how there could be more as with most short stories, but in my mind, there’s no more story to tell.

      • kingmidget April 9, 2016 at 7:56 pm

        Something weird just happened and, I think accidentally, I just deleted your last comment. I read it though and I tried to respond with this … Thank you, sir. Thank you.

        Now I need to figure out what I did that deleted that comment.

      • Trent Lewin April 9, 2016 at 8:03 pm

        It was probably a nonsense comment anyway. Hope I made my point. Not that it’s my place to make a point, but you’re more a writer than I will ever be, Mark, and that’s something I feel to be true. Just want you to understand that too.

      • kingmidget April 9, 2016 at 8:10 pm

        Completely disagree with this. Let’s agree that you and I write in different ways and tell different stories. We do a pretty good job of telling the stories we want to tell.

        I’ve had this conversation with a co-worker who also writes. The two of you write stories in a way I wish I could. There’s kind of this organized chaos to the telling of the story. One that leads to some depth that I just can’t quite grasp with my own writing with my point to point to point style. Although I do think I’ve been able to expand my skills beyond the point to point to point at its worst. Just haven’t quite got to the point of the organized chaos. 😉

      • Trent Lewin April 9, 2016 at 8:15 pm

        I think you misunderstand. I don’t think there’s any difference. I think you have the desire for structure and some order, but I don’t have that at all. But I think you have the chaotic soul that writers seems to need – I think it’s in your writing already. Writing is about lack of control and complete subversion of what is real. It’s also about restraint. About control. I deeply feel the lack of control and the chaos. But I don’t have the restraint to balance it, and beat it down into something that works. I think you have both. This makes you a true writer, Mark, whether you choose to believe it or not.

  2. vanbytheriver April 10, 2016 at 4:26 am

    You see, I was just going to come on here and comment about how much I love the combo of avocado, tomato and egg…on a salad or anywhere.

    But I feel like I might be interrupting a profound conversation…so….backs away slowly……☺

  3. S.K. Nicholls April 10, 2016 at 5:21 am

    Now that really looks good plus I can probably eat it. 🙂

  4. Cezane & Michelle April 22, 2016 at 12:05 am

    *Salivating* – Cezane

Leave a Reply

