KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

It’s Been A While


20160319-150640.jpgI used to post a lot of pictures of food I made.  Don’t believe me?  Type “pizza” into the ol’ search box.

One of the kids is home this week for Spring Break.  His girl is coming over tonight for dinner.  He mentioned a couple of days ago about how she was craving hummus, so I said I’d make some.  And with hummus you gotta have fresh, homemade pita bread.  Don’t you?

I think you do.

One of the interesting things to me about bread is how just about every recipe consists of the same basic ingredients.  The cookbook I got the recipe for the pita bread from has a recipe for french bread that I’ve used for years.  Except that the pita has less yeast, they are exactly the same.

Anyway, hummus and fresh pita in a little bit.  Let me know if you’re coming over.

3 responses to “It’s Been A While

  1. sknicholls March 19, 2016 at 4:07 pm

    Looks delicious. I had lentil soup tonight and that bread would have been wonderful with it, but I’m still avoiding the wheat in the form of refined white flour. Your posts of pizza and pita bread make that very hard. 😉

  2. cinthiaritchie March 19, 2016 at 4:28 pm

    I’m coming over! I’m coming over! Well, I’m back in Alaska and it may take a bit, and by then everything will most likely be gone. I’m eating stir-fry right now, and pretzels. My motto: Everything goes better with pretzels. OMG, do you ever make homemade soft pretzels? If so, please post.

    • kingmidget March 19, 2016 at 4:42 pm

      We’ll meet halfway? Nah, that probably won’t work either. I’ve never been a huge fan of pretzels, although I’d prefer the soft kind more. Never having made them, I have no pictures. But now you’ve challenged me. Nothing interests me more than a new cooking/backing challenge!

Leave a Reply

