KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Not A Song For Today


So, I need to explain … a question on Jeopardy tonight led me to Spotify to listen to a little bit of Rainy Days and Mondays by The Carpenters.  It was a trip down memory lane.  The thing about Spotify is that it identifies “related artists.”  For The Carpenters, a couple of those related artists were Neil Diamond and Barry Manilow.  I checked in with Sweet Caroline and I Write the Songs.  And then I saw a related artist for Mr. Manilow … Captain & Tennille.  And I knew I had it.

So here is a song that is most definitely not for today.  Some memories are better left undisturbed.  And if you watch it and listen to the intro to the song … Henry Kissinger?  Really?

12 responses to “Not A Song For Today

  1. Carrie Rubin March 7, 2016 at 7:51 pm

    Ha, now there’s a blast from the past. I used to love me some Captain and Tenille. How cheesy they seem now.

  2. sknicholls March 7, 2016 at 10:06 pm

    I can’t relate. By this time I was deep into rock and roll and C&T was right up there with Donny Osmond, David Cassidy and the Partridge Family. I was under the blacklights with Steppenwolf, Iron Butterfly, and Pink Floyd. I was also a wee tad precocious.

  3. cinthiaritchie March 8, 2016 at 1:38 pm

    OMG! No, no, no, please do not let that song play in my head all day, lol. I never liked Captain and Tennille much (don’t think there was much to like about them, hee, hee) but Neil Diamond’s “Brother Love’s Traveling Salvation Show” could really get me going.

Leave a Reply

