KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Memory Lane


My last post started me on a path through a number of songs from my childhood.  In the comments, I mentioned one of them to Carrie Rubin.

I remember this.  In my bedroom, in the dark, getting a clock radio so I could listen to music at night like my siblings were able to.  Listening to KFRC — a San Francisco hits station that reached Sacramento.  The DJ was Dandy Don Rose.  It’s from that radio that I first started listening to pop music, instead of the albums of my parents — albums like Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass and Chet Atkins and Burt Bacharach.  Interesting thing is that as I type the names of those artists, I really want to check them out on Spotify and re-experience them.

There’s a song I always associate with my earliest days listening to that radio in the darkness of my room as I battled my nighttime fears.  It’s the song I mentioned to Carrie, who responded that the song was a real tearjerker.  I didn’t remember that, so I listened again.  Here it is.  I’ll let you decide.  But thank you for joining me on this trip down memory lane.  What are the songs you remember from way back when?

9 responses to “Memory Lane

  1. Carrie Rubin March 7, 2016 at 8:17 pm

    Oh, Herb Alpert. Now you’re really taking me back.

  2. sknicholls March 7, 2016 at 10:36 pm

    My mom listened to Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass, Johnny Mathis, Petula Clark, and Diana Ross and the Supremes. My dad listened to country singers/bands. By the time I had my own stereo, I was far removed from the pop scene.

  3. TamrahJo March 8, 2016 at 9:30 am

    Mostly, I grew up listening to tales of gun slingers, brothers who end up walking different paths – strong women who nevertheless end up singing the Lovesick Blues (sheesh) and what happens when a lawyer from Philadelphia tries to run away with a wild, west cowboy’s favorite gal – – LOL When you think about it – it really does explain alot – fortunately, Wings of a Dove and Ave Maria and such things made their way in there, too – – 🙂 And JH/HS choir helped to broaden my base – 🙂

  4. cinthiaritchie March 9, 2016 at 12:08 pm

    OMG, Rod McKuen wrote that song. I was madly (madly!) in love with Rod McKuen. I was sure that he was the only man who would ever understand me.
    I, too, had a transistor radio and used it to listen to the Cincy Reds baseball games late at night because, you see, I was also madly in love with Johnny Bench.
    Memories, eh?

Leave a Reply

