KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Just So You Understand


Today, the writers and commenters and Tweeters are all, well, atwitter because Donald Trump is refusing to disavow the endorsement he has received from David Duke, who was at one time The Grand Poobah of the KKK, or something like that.  He claims not to know anything about David Duke and won’t disavow him until he does his research.

Well, it turns out he knew David Duke well enough in 2000 to leave the Reform Party because David Duke was a member.

And, besides that … how can anybody who has been alive in America for the last 30 years and claims to be amazing and smarter than anybody else and who never forgets anything not know who David Duke is?

It’s just kind of amazing.  And sad.  And terrifying.  All at the same time.  That this man is very likely going to be the Republican nominee.  Although I still think there will be something that knocks him out or that he will one day say “hahahaha. It was all a joke.”

32 responses to “Just So You Understand

  1. 1wanderingtruthseeker February 28, 2016 at 5:03 pm

    I wouldn’t disavowed any body that could bring large groups of people to vote. BLM has endorsed Hillary and they are a group of criminals that hate whites only. Black lives don’t matter when it’s blacks killing blacks. Why don’t they protest then??? Whats wrong with whites being proud of their heritage. KKK who were lynching folks were democrats. And BLM is backed by democrats too.

    • kingmidget February 28, 2016 at 5:33 pm

      I’ll agree that I’m not a fan of Black Lives Matter. I prefer to think that All Lives Matter. That said, to suggest that they are just a bunch of criminals is too tar them with an identity that only fits a small number of them, while the KKK is founded and continues to operate based on the most offensive of racist beliefs. It’s not that difficult, if you wanted to, to see the difference between the two. And the idea that you wouldn’t disavow anybody who could bring large groups of people to vote is just kind of disgusting. There are some voters any responsible person shouldn’t want.

      • 1wanderingtruthseeker February 28, 2016 at 7:15 pm

        Why label the KKK the most racist when BLM members and the great civil rights leader are carrying signs saying kill white cops and shooting them TODAY not over fifty years ago. Can you tell me who is more racist? How can I tar and feather them all? At every Protest they have rioting, destruction of property and assaulting people. Democrats made both parties. Google it.

      • kingmidget February 28, 2016 at 7:26 pm

        The objective of the KKK is white supremacy. The objective of BLM is to end the mistreatment of black Americans by law enforcement. You describe some things that have happened at some BLM events and then suggest that they happen at all of them. There is not rioting, property destruction and assault occurring at every BLM protest. Feel free to provide any evidence at all that civil rights leaders are carrying signs saying kill white cops. There are, unfortunately, some idiots within the movement who are saying things like this, but they are few and they are not the leaders of BLM and they are not “civil rights leaders.”

      • 1wanderingtruthseeker February 29, 2016 at 8:10 am

        Like I said KKK AND BLM are brought to you by the Democrats. You want proof? The KKK was attacked by BLM members just beat and stab kill members. The BLM started Mike Brown folks rioting, looting and shoot white cops???? Have you paid any attention to all the blacks shooting white cops since the Superbowl half time show. Hands Don’t shoot was a lie proven by the autopsy. BLM members are a racist hate group. Only BLACK LIVES MATTER? What about other lives? I guess they don’t.matter

      • 1wanderingtruthseeker February 29, 2016 at 3:36 pm

        Who cares? Whites have the right to be proud of being white. Mistreating blacks??? Obviously you think the numbers of blacks population in jail are being is mistreating blacks. Buzz….. Wrong answer. It’s because black commit more crimes. Duh. Check the numbers. I guess black lives only matter if a white cop shoots them. Like I said and please don’t evade the question this time, why don’t black lives matter when you’re slaughtering each other????? Isn’t this mistreatment????

      • kingmidget February 29, 2016 at 8:03 pm

        There’s a difference between proud of one’s race and heritage and being racist. If you don’t know the difference, I can’t help you. Odd thing is that I don’t recall saying anything about incarceration rates, but you apparently know what I think about that. Buzz … wrong conclusion! As for “why don’t black lives matter when you’re slaughtering each other?????” I’ll let you figure out where you are wrong about that assumption as well. But as for the larger point … different actions and events require different responses.

        The problem with your entire response to what I’ve said here is that I’m not defending BLM. I’m not an apologist for them. And, the reality is that you raising BLM is a diversion from a more fundamental point. Anybody who can’t disavow white supremacists doesn’t deserve to be President. If you want to keep arguing with me about this, argue with what I say and not your faulty assumptions about me. If I were to take the same approach as you have here, I would be left with no other conclusion than that you must be a member of the KKK. But, notice, I haven’t done that because I’m only arguing with your actual words.

      • 1wanderingtruthseeker March 1, 2016 at 5:13 am

        You have been defending them thur out and saying KKK is the most racist organization. You do great at recording my comments but no so great at trying to make intelligent answers. I’ve laid everything out for you in simple truthful way. I can’t help it if you are just don’t understand the truth. Bye now.

      • kingmidget March 1, 2016 at 6:46 am

        You’re hilarious. Go back and read my first response to your first comment. You’ve laid everything out??? Only by making unfounded allegations that have no basis in reality that you refuse to back up with any facts. “great civil rights leaders are carrying signs saying kill white cops” “at every protest they have rioting, destruction of property and assaulting people” “they are a bunch of criminals” I could go on, but you get the point … massive generalizations that have no basis in fact and that when challenged on, you ignore the challenge and can’t back your generalizations up. “Laid everything out” … only if one accepts your word as the truth no matter how ridiculous it is. Nor have I said that the KKK is the most racist organization. As I said, you’re hilarious.

      • 1wanderingtruthseeker March 1, 2016 at 6:49 am

        Midget I’m going to block you now. Now go play with your BLM buddies!

      • kingmidget March 1, 2016 at 6:51 am

        It’s funny. A couple of months ago, I sat in a bar and had a lengthy conversation with an African-American man about why I thought Black Lives Matter was wrong to call their movement that. But, you have me as a member of the organization. Never been to a protest, never done anything related to the movement. That’s the problem with your method of argument.

      • 1wanderingtruthseeker February 29, 2016 at 3:41 pm

        Oh yeah, when is the last time you heard of anybody being lynched, cross burning (other than the ones that are done by blacks, trying to blame white people are sky rocketing. Fake racist attacks in colleges, neighborhoods, everywhere) by the KKK?

  2. Carrie Rubin February 28, 2016 at 5:04 pm

    Even my 18-year-old son knows who David Duke is. Trump is full of it.

  3. cinthiaritchie February 28, 2016 at 5:19 pm

    At first Trump was ridiculous. Then he was embarrassing. Now he’s scaring the hell out of me. And P.S. He damned well know who DD is.

  4. Amy Reese February 28, 2016 at 5:20 pm

    I don’t think Trump can slime his way out of this one. People aren’t stupid and they can connect the dots.

  5. Pamela Beckford February 29, 2016 at 4:29 am

    The days of me thinking this whole thing with Trump is a joke are over. Now it’s a nightmare. He’s on a huge ego trip and I don’t see him changing

    • kingmidget February 29, 2016 at 6:20 am

      I’ve decided that a lot of this has to do with his desire to make sure he stays the #1 story in the press. Every single day. Day after day. What can he say or do that ensures he is always the lead story. That’s all he cares about. Any press is good press and his supporters eat it up.

  6. Conversations With The Moon February 29, 2016 at 6:53 am

    This whole Trump “thing” is simply surreal to me. That it has gained traction is startling. That he doesn’t disavow the racists who support him is wholly expected. Maybe this is the natural progression of a society/culture that has been headed down the road of madness for some time. I still have faith that “The Donald” and his ilk will be trounced in the general election. If not, God help us all…

  7. Bruce Thiesen February 29, 2016 at 7:21 am

    None of this matters to the people who want him in the WH. They can’t imagine anybody else.

    Just add his KKK statement to the long list of unthinkable and atrocious things that he has said. The guy has no idea what he is doing and is unquestionably unfit for public office. The adoration he harnesses is very disturbing. The power of fear and confusion.

  8. Kevin Brennan February 29, 2016 at 7:54 am

    You know, in so many ways it feels like we’re getting the country we deserve. Only half of eligible voters turn out for presidential elections, and more Americans care about Beyoncé’s half-time show than about global warming. I’m taking politics off my TeeVee for the foreseeable future because it’s turned into an episode of “The Gong Show.”

  9. sknicholls March 1, 2016 at 6:46 am

    What scares me most is that NONE of the Republican candidates are fit to hold office. We can’t let them win.

    • kingmidget March 1, 2016 at 6:51 am

      I’m actually unwilling to go that far. Yes, I disagree with them on most, if not all, of their policy positions. But “unfit” for office. I don’t know.

      • sknicholls March 1, 2016 at 6:53 am

        I’m thinking of Cruz and Rubio, and of course, Trump.

      • kingmidget March 1, 2016 at 8:29 pm

        I guess the thing for me is that the main issue I have with Cruz and Rubio is that I disagree with them on their policies and positions. I think being “unfit” for office suggests some illegal or unethical behavior that renders them unqualified and I’m not sure they meet that test — although some of Cruz’s tactics during the campaign might get him there. I haven’t heard of anything Rubio has done that raises the same kind of ethics concerns.

      • sknicholls March 1, 2016 at 9:21 pm

        I hear rumors about Rubio but haven’t investigated their validity. Cruz scares me as much as Trump. He’s freaking evangelical. I can’t see any one of the Republicans as fit.

      • kingmidget March 2, 2016 at 6:31 am

        I agree that Cruz is scary. As for Rubio, I think he’s far less talented than his supporters claim.

Leave a Reply

