KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Head Shaker


I’ll spare the innocent here and avoid disclosing the identity of the individual who posted this, but some things amaze me:

Getting ready to prepare my taxes and want to give a big middle finger to all the bums who abuse the welfare system. And two middle fingers to a government who allows this. And thanks to the unconstitutional mandated health care tax, I am paying more than ever before while making less than ever before!

Well, I was going to until I just realized that the source of this beautiful quote has blocked me from commenting on his blog.  I just love it when people post crap like this and are unwilling to accept the words of those who think otherwise.  So, yeah, it’s this guy.  Here’s the essence of my comment to him:  the amount an individual U.S. taxpayer pays towards welfare is miniscule.  The amount a U.S. taxpayer pays towards welfare cheats is microscopic.  The amount a U.S. taxpayer pays towards wasteful wars and defense spending that have only made things worse for this country around the world is, on the other hand, significant.  It is always odd to me that people who complain about the drop in the bucket that is welfare spending, accept without question and, in many cases, demand more defense spending that only generates a never-ending cycle of ever more.  The billions and trillions this country has spent in failed efforts to “defend” this country, which have only contributed to a need for more, exceeds welfare spending by many multiples.

And the comment about the health care tax … if he meant it the way I read it, this means that he is paying the tax people pay when they don’t get health insurance.  Which means he thinks the rest of us who have health insurance should be paying for his health care.  Because that’s what part of our insurance rates cover — health care for the uninsured.  It’s really kind of disgusting to me.  The hypocrisy that is.

[Edited to add:  Here is the final sentence in the Hillbilly’s About page: “Everybody is welcome here on my Hillbilly porch. I might rant, rave, and melt down at times, but always feel free to hand me a beer, and speak your mind.”  I guess he didn’t actually mean that.]

 

 

9 responses to “A Head Shaker

  1. Amy Reese February 21, 2016 at 9:02 pm

    Yes, shaking my head too. I worry about the future, Mark.

  2. Pamela Beckford February 22, 2016 at 4:59 am

    The belief that is commonly, yet erroneously, held is that people who receive government benefits are lazy. Most actually work but they work in jobs that most of us wouldn’t want and can’t make enough to afford basic living expenses. I could go on and on and on about this. Maybe I should actually do a blog post about it.

  3. sknicholls February 22, 2016 at 8:08 am

    So far, I have avoided getting political on my blog, but I’m really about to go ballistic. I can’t get over the number of people who profess to be well educated and speak from “personal experience” and still believe Trump would be good for this country and Hillary is a saint.

    • kingmidget February 22, 2016 at 8:53 am

      Completely agree. But I do get some of Trump’s appeal. People have had it and he plays to their desire for things to get shook up. He “says it like it is” and that’s the only thing that matters to his supporters.

  4. cinthiaritchie February 22, 2016 at 2:42 pm

    Poor misinformed dude, almost feel sorry for him. But I don’t. He’s kind of a jerk, eh? P.S. I saw a pic of him and you could totally beat him in a 5K race. I don’t know why that makes me feel better, but it does, lol.

Leave a Reply

