KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Privacy … Yeah Right


With apologies to my FB friends who have already seen the lead in to this …

When tech companies like Google, Facebook, Amazon, and, yes, Apple, stop using my personal information for their profit, I’ll start to believe they care about my privacy.

I find Apple’s stance regarding hacking the San Bernardino shooter’s phone to be laughable.  Yes, in an ideal world, our private information would be just that … private.  This isn’t an ideal world, however.  Companies like the aforementioned Google, Facebook, Amazon, and Apple, along with many others, mine our phones and our laptops and every other device we connect to for ways to increase their profits.  Have you ever gone to Amazon and searched for a book and then gone to Facebook and found an ad there for the book you just searched for?  I have.  Repeatedly.  And there are many other examples of how these companies use our personal data and information for their profit and gain.

So, spare me your false concerns about privacy, Tim Cook, and the others who are  coming to Apple’s defense.  With a duly authorized search warrant, particularly where such a heinous crime has occurred, the government has a right to search just about anything and everything.  Do I trust government to always do the right thing?  Absolutely not.  There are plenty of times when searches are conducted illegally and when search warrants are obtained under false pretenses.  And I definitely do not want government snooping in my business unless it has probable cause to do so.  The mass gathering of electronic records by the NSA is offensive and wrong.  But you know what … I trust the companies and tycoons that run private companies a whole lot less.

It is fascinating how we have completely given up any fight over our personal information when it comes to these companies.  In fact, I’m not sure there ever was any fight over that breach of our privacy.  But when it comes to our government trying to prevent crimes or to catch criminals, there is outrage from all corners.  Seems to be completely ass backwards.

8 responses to “Privacy … Yeah Right

  1. sknicholls February 18, 2016 at 7:34 am

    Then let the government figure out a way to do it and don’t make it Apple’s responsibility.

  2. Kevin Brennan February 18, 2016 at 8:37 am

    Another reason not to have a smartphone! 😛

  3. Carrie Rubin February 18, 2016 at 10:21 am

    I’m with you on this one. I’m more creeped out by and worried about the tracking of our movements by these tech companies than I am the NSA. The NSA has little interest in me, but Facebook, Google, and Amazon invade every aspect of my online actions. I’m not worried about it in a conspiratorial way, but as you say, when they do that, it makes their claims of privacy-protection harder to swallow.

  4. cinthiaritchie February 18, 2016 at 11:04 am

    It is totally ass-backward. What scares me the most is, as you mentioned, how easily we allowed this lack of privacy to happen. It’s scary how a new pair of running shoes I want to buy relentlessly follows me from one site to another: From Twitter to Facebook to Amazon to eBay to news sites to blogs–it never, ever goes away, until I check another brand of running shoes, that is. This is our new reality, and the sad thing is that we created it this way, and very few are complaining. That’s what scares me the most.

    • kingmidget February 18, 2016 at 11:07 am

      Yep. You don’t hear any politician talking about corporations profiting off of our information. It’s just a given and we allow it to continue. We have become lemmings in this tech-driven world. I just hate the holier than thou attitude of the tech companies claiming to be the guardians of our privacy.

Leave a Reply

