KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Two Americas


In one America, the President goes to a mosque to deliver a speech that recognizes the multiculturalism that is our country, the right to freedom of religion that is one of the foundations of our country’s founding, and to recognize that Muslim-Americans are exactly that Americans.

In the other, a Republican nominee (Rubio) then criticizes the President for making that speech and “pitting people against each other.”  In the other, all Muslims should be banned from entering this country, including small children orphaned by war.  (Christie)  In the other, all Muslims should be banned from entering this country, including those who are American citizens who travel abroad.  (Trump)

In one America, Americans ridicule Muslims and decry their use of the phrase Allahu Akbar, which means something like God is Great or God is the Greatest.

Oddly enough, in that same America, Republican nominees begin their victory speeches with “To God be the Glory.”  (Cruz)  Make it clear in debates that Jesus Christ is the savior. (Rubio)  And do all sorts of other things that profess the exact same perspective and dedication to God as Allahu Akbar means to Muslims — while living in that world in which Muslims are ridiculed and criticized and demonized for their profession of faith to God.

In the other America, all faiths, including the absence of faith, are cherished and respected.

Need I go on.

One wonders if there ever will be one America.

[Edited to add:  This is the kind of sentiment that Marco Rubio who wants to be your President believes is pitting people against each other.  From Obama’s speech yesterday:

“If we’re serious about freedom of religion — and I’m speaking now to my fellow Christians who remain the majority in this country — we have to understand an attack on one faith is an attack on all our faiths. And when any religious group is targeted, we all have a responsibility to speak up. And we have to reject a politics that seeks to manipulate prejudice or bias, and targets people because of religion.”]

10 responses to “Two Americas

  1. Carrie Rubin February 4, 2016 at 10:10 am

    It would be wonderful to think some day our country will be one within our differences. How I’d love to see that in my lifetime. I’ll try to bury the cynic and believe that I will.

    • Carrie Rubin February 4, 2016 at 10:11 am

      And by ‘the cynic’ I’m referring to myself.

    • kingmidget February 4, 2016 at 6:23 pm

      I’ll end up saying the same thing to you and Kevin. I struggle with the idea of writing about the idealistic thought of a united country because I know that it has never really been the case. There is and always will be a divide between the political factions in this country. But what bothers me is it seems to have reached an unusual depth. The different sides of the debate cannot even agree on what the foundational facts are. If we can’t even agree on that, how can we possibly get to solutions?

  2. Kevin Brennan February 4, 2016 at 11:22 am

    So infuriating. Absolutely Orwellian to call what Obama did “pitting people against each other.”

    You know, I watched the new film about the 1968 debates between Gore Vidal and William F. Buckley last week and realized that nothing has changed in nearly 50 years. So, no, I wouldn’t expect there to be one America for quite some time …

    • kingmidget February 4, 2016 at 6:24 pm

      See my response to Carrie’s comment. 😉

      I share your lack of expectation and I struggle with the idea when I write of my idealistic dream that we can actually get united at some point. Your right. Historically, it’s never really happened. There is always a divide. This one, though, seems far deeper and broader than the historical norm.

  3. Conversations With The Moon February 4, 2016 at 9:15 pm

    Great post…echoes my sentiments nearly exactly. As Carrie said, and as I think you know, I consider myself a cynic as well. However, in this instance, I believe the degree of the divide can be narrowed by a greater commitment to education. Specifically addressing the skill of critical thinking and analysis would go a long way to counter the lowest-common-denominator appeal of Fox and their ilk.

    • kingmidget February 5, 2016 at 6:44 am

      You may be right, but critical thinking isn’t something schools teach anymore. Unless it’s on the test. In my job I see far too many people in the younger generations coming into the workforce barely able to analyze anything.

  4. Trent Lewin February 6, 2016 at 5:34 am

    I seriously think you ‘mericans need a great big mudflat party with the rest of the world showing up, and maybe we can shame the intolerant wankers who just won’t get out of the past… I mean, 2016. 2016. And soon it will be 2020, and we’ll be living in the future, so how can these views still pervade or be acceptable?

    Obama, for my money, seems like a good soul. I’d invite him over for a beer. Trump/Cruz/Rubio – not so much.

    • kingmidget February 6, 2016 at 7:37 am

      I still have this small amount of confidence that enough Americans have moved past this intolerance, but then I think if there’s another terrorist attack between now and the election, we’re all screwed — the next President will be a hateful, intolerant jerk because we are too afraid of the bogeyman.

      And that’s the thing about all of the attacks on Obama. He is probably one of the most normal, most decent men to hold the office and he is so vilified by the opposition. I agree. I’d sit down and have a beer with him. The others — I’d throw the beer in their faces.

Leave a Reply

