KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Song For Today


One of my new favorite bloggers wrote a post today about Glenn Frey and the memories his music brings back to her.  The post is a great example of the quality of her writing and the beautiful way she has of connecting small things to life moments.

I commented on her post about how important music is to me and how there are songs and songwriters who just have that something that all too frequently hits home for me.  I mentioned Neil Young, Griffin House, and Jackson Browne.  And said I needed to go listen to Sky Blue and Black.  So, I did.  And then I remembered the Jackson Browne song that speaks even more. I know I have posted this song before here, but if there was ever a day where I am feeling this song, it is today.  In virtually every way you can imagine.  More than ever before, I feel this, down in the marrow of my bones, into the very fiber of my being.  And I just don’t know how much longer I can go on pretending.  My apologies for the repeat…

7 responses to “A Song For Today

  1. Carrie Rubin January 20, 2016 at 7:47 am

    Great song, one I think many can relate to, especially when they’re trapped in a job that sucks them dry.

  2. Trent Lewin January 20, 2016 at 8:17 pm

    My friend, that is a lot of longing…

    • kingmidget January 20, 2016 at 8:26 pm

      It is … and I’m struggling with some contradictory impulses. I’m trying to include meditation and Buddhist concepts into my life that can hopefully help me deal with and accept some of the things going on. Or at least to manage them better than I am. But there are far too many moments when I simply don’t know if I can do that. Where I feel like trying that is a joke, that I really just have to turn the apple cart over. I’m in that mode these days. A unique combination of events at home and at work that have left me utterly flummoxed. A whole lot of longing involved and a feeling that there isn’t an area of my life these days where I am not pretending as a result. That’s not a healthy place to be.

      But as I always say when I get here … do not worry. I will be okay and I know that things will get better. Just wallowing at the moment.

      • Trent Lewin January 20, 2016 at 8:32 pm

        We all have those moments of intense wallowing… I know them well. I have a feeling at times that a bad day can only by its nature get worse with the next bad surprise at work or home… it’s funny but sometimes when I try to write it out, I’m so distracted by stuff that that fails too… making things worse. I hate that. But there’s always the morning to look forward to (ours are crisp and white at the moment), and I can often fool myself into believing that I just smelled cut grass, or a food truck. Here’s to that.

        If you ever need to vent, Mark, feel free.

      • kingmidget January 20, 2016 at 8:37 pm

        A food truck. That’s what I need. 😉

        Thank you, Trent. As I said, I’ll be okay. Just going through a rough stretch. I need a good day. A moment or two for me. It’ll happen.

  3. cinthiaritchie January 21, 2016 at 10:49 am

    Great song. Everyone is dying. It’s kind of scary. It makes me want to throw away conventions and simply live, you know. Because none of us knows how long we have and for the most part, we hide from that fact and fill our lives with the comfort of routine and daily lives and jobs and children and spouses and buying food at the grocery store, etc., all essential and all necessary and most beloved, but still, it totally sucks that our lives are so damned short.

  4. Rose Livinginfairyland January 27, 2016 at 2:51 am

    Some songs make you ache. It means something has to change, if you can bear to do it and are able to do it – but sometimes we can’t and we’re not.

Leave a Reply

