KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Should I Listen


Right up there with God and ghosts in the pantheon of things I don’t believe in is Astrology.  Horoscopes.

Thing is there is this one guy who writes horoscopes that never cease to amaze me.

Here in Sacramento, we have an alternative newsweekly called the Sacramento News & Review.  For years, they have featured a horoscope column on the back page, after all of the marijuana dispensary ads, the risque personals, the ads for sex sites, and the rest of the flotsam of modern society, on the last page of the paper, they have their horoscope feature.

I don’t believe in horoscopes.

But there was a period of time awhile back when I was going through something, and then that other thing, when I read the horoscope column in the News & Review regularly and was amazed at how many times the author spoke to me.  Somehow he knew, far too frequently, what I was experiencing and what I needed to see in the words he wrote about my sign — Scorpio.

At some point I stopped reading the News & Review very often, but I still pull it out at moments when I have a few minutes to spare.

Tonight I stopped at Roma’s, the pizza place where they know my name because I’ve been going there for 30+ years now and Maria, who opened the place more than 35 years ago, is still behind the counter on a Friday night.  Just stop and think about that for a moment.

I ordered a pizza to go and Maria said, “Go have a Peroni.”  And I responded, “Of course.”  And towards the end of my second Peroni, I hit the horoscopes on the back page of the News & Review, which I was reading because I hadn’t planned on stopping at Roma’s and had no other reading material other than the free copies of the news rag that are ubiquitous in Sacramento.  And here’s what Rob Brezsny, author of Free Will Astrology had to say:

Fourteenth-century author Geoffrey Chaucer produced a collection of stories known as The Canterbury Tales.  It became a seminal text of English literature even though he never finished it.  The most influential book ever written by theologian Thomas Aquinas was a work he gave up on before it was completed.  The artist Michelangelo never found the time to put the final touches on numerous sculptures and paintings.  Why am I bringing this theme to your attention?  Because 2016 will be an excellent time to wrap up long-term projects you’ve been working on — and also to be at peace with abandoning those you can’t.

If anything describes the state of my writing life and my hopes for 2016, that’s it.  I want to finally put to bed my half-completed projects, which means either finishing them or giving up on them for good.  I’m ready to be at peace with the outcome, whichever side of the equation that outcome ends up being.

This is one of the things I’m working through my head as I explore the things I’ve set out to explore and try to figure out what lays ahead for me.  I have these great, incredible projects that I began over the past few years and for whatever reason I have been unable to complete.  Maybe, it’s time for me to kill my darlings and move on.  It’s time and Rob Brezsny, purporting to write a horoscope column, hit the nail on the head.  It is most definitely time to fish or cut bait.  To wrap these projects up … or be at peace with the alternative.

 

 

32 responses to “Should I Listen

  1. Carrie Rubin January 8, 2016 at 8:19 pm

    Wow, that is the most thought-provoking and intelligent horoscope I’ve ever read. Far more interesting than “you’ll meet a tall, dark stranger”…

  2. sknicholls January 8, 2016 at 8:35 pm

    I’m Scorpio, also, and feeling it right along with you.

    • kingmidget January 8, 2016 at 8:38 pm

      It’s uncanny. In another comment, I posted his website … http://www.freewillastrology.com. I suggest you take a look at it every week and see if there’s a connection for you.

      • sknicholls January 8, 2016 at 9:38 pm

        Thanks. I’ll check it out. I just sent NA off to the editor for the final proof. He can’t start on it until the 18th. I have two other books about 1/3rd the way complete and two outlines for NA series books with one partially fleshed out. Surviving sister was depressing me, and I got to the romance and stalled. Remembering what a romantic my mother was and how my parents relationship ended just got to emotional for me. The Conduit veered off in a direction I didn’t like, and I wasn’t really sure how to pull it back. I haven’t tried anything in first person…limited omniscient is just that, too limited to get deep enough for solid, well developed characters.Somebody recently read NA and shared with me that an independently wealthy P.I. was a difficult thing to relate to, have to get close to…I don’t see Richard as independently wealthy. His grandmother left him four million. He spent three in ten years and has a million left, which includes the half million dollar asset of the Kennel Club track…he’s a gambler. She wants to know why is he a gambler. She said he had no history with women/relationships, but he does…his wife left him for her lesbian lover, later he had fast cars and faster women. She wanted more back story, but I can’t see so much in an action paced read like this. It’s the beginning of series, the arc is beginning to develop. His other history notes will come along. We don’t learn why Coleman is called Coleman until Dorsey’s 8th book in the series. Now “I’m wondering if I need to proceed with book two of this series right away, or finish one of the other ones. I think it would be easier to go straight into book two of the Naked Eye series…and play with the others on the side when I get bored with it.

      • kingmidget January 9, 2016 at 7:04 am

        Completely agree … you’re doing a series, the history of the characters will come out over time. It would be another thing if this was the only book you were writing about these characters.

  3. cinthiaritchie January 8, 2016 at 9:47 pm

    What a great horoscope. Most sound as if they’re written by fifth graders but this one actually sounds wise. I wouldn’t totally abandon your projects but simply tuck them away somewhere and let them breathe in solitude. Someday you may want to revive them, who knows? At the same time, I realize how half-attempted and overly-attempted projects can bring a person down. I’m kind of struggling with the same thing right now, though my sign is Gemini. Still, I’m adopting your horoscope as my own.

  4. Amy Reese January 8, 2016 at 11:00 pm

    I read those sometimes too in that rag. 🙂 It’s hard not to, right? Free advice and you can take it or leave it. Sounds like you’re on course. Go for it!

  5. Kevin Brennan January 9, 2016 at 8:00 am

    Wow, he is creepily accurate. In my horoscope, he nails a detail in a key year (how’d he know!), but of course I’m a skeptic so I’ll have to analyze whether I’d think the same thing about almost any year he might have mentioned. That’s the funny thing about horoscopes: we tend to see the personal connection without seeing the universal elements.

    That said, I agree with Cinthia that scrapping projects altogether isn’t a great idea because later, when you’re a little different, they might be revived. I’ve done that a number of times, and I still have dozens of fragments that I might just do something with one day.

    • kingmidget January 9, 2016 at 4:05 pm

      I’ve read his horoscopes enough over the years (not regularly, but now and then) to have serious concerns about my sanity or natural skepticism of the thing. You’re right, there could be universal elements, but damn, there’s something there.

      I’m not going to scrap the projects entirely … I like them too much for that, but I do need to come up with something I can to see to its end so I can put something out there again and hopefully shock the world. 😉

  6. John Callaghan January 9, 2016 at 11:03 am

    Hmmmm, this the kind of thing that would have me questions my non-belief. I’ve been doing a fair bit of that so far this year.

    • kingmidget January 9, 2016 at 4:05 pm

      I totally get it. I don’t know that there are certain beliefs or faiths I’ll ever acquire, but my thoughts in some areas are most certainly getting a bit mushier.

  7. Nurse Kelly January 9, 2016 at 1:03 pm

    Wonderful post, Mark! If that horoscope helped with your decision to “fish or cut bait,” then I say stick with them! Might as well look for the positive messages they might convey to you, if they are helpful.

    I read the characteristics about my sign, Aquarius, not too long ago, and every single trait was spot on. I don’t actively seek out my horoscope, but I will check it out if it’s published somewhere.

    • kingmidget January 9, 2016 at 4:07 pm

      Thank you! Still working on whether to fish or cut bait. But the timing of that horoscope is eerie.

    • kingmidget January 9, 2016 at 4:11 pm

      Enjoyed your last post, but you closed comments so I can’t comment there. It’s really a lot about what I’m going through — the reality is it’s about what I’ve been going through most of my adult life. The search for me and what my life should be. Made some major strides over the past year in identifying a concept for that, but still a lot of work to be done.

  8. butimbeautiful January 13, 2016 at 2:37 pm

    I’m in much the same situation – finish it or leave it! But there’s too much going on in my life to make this the year of put up or shut up..for one, I’ll probably be moving to somewhere rural and giving up my current job. In hopes, needless to say, of finishing things.

    • kingmidget January 13, 2016 at 2:48 pm

      Yep. I’ve been in that same place the last couple of years — far too much going on in the rest of my life to devote the needed energy to complete my writing projects. Wish I could escape to some place rural for a few months and dedicate myself to the projects.

  9. Holistic Wayfarer January 15, 2016 at 8:27 pm

    So you prolly wanna come up with an actual plan for the stuff you want to see through. Or. Just. Do. Them. =)

    • kingmidget January 15, 2016 at 8:30 pm

      I’m not much of a planner, which is really an odd thing to say because I generally am incapable of enjoying today because I’m always planning for tomorrow. Except when it comes to my writing projects.

  10. hirundine608 January 16, 2016 at 10:01 am

    There are many things under heaven and earth, we find difficulty understanding. Carl Jung tells us, we are born with a sense of religion. Which may be why so many are able to take advantage of that?

    Generally speaking. The horoscopes published, are one dimensional. In that they revolve around the sun sign. Whereas, the rising sign for which specific times of birth and geographical location are required. Rising sign then determines the order of the houses read about the individual. There is also Chinese astrology and Hindu, and Punjabi types. Personally, I do not look for my future, or auspicious times. Preferring to greet them when they come.

    Likewise it is easy to say, God does not exist? At least are you thinking about it. For me, God is not found in books or buildings. God is found in the heart. How can anyone say God exists? Until they have looked at him/her face to face. Life cannot be destroyed. It changes shape and becomes other life. Splitting the atom. Does not destroy that atom. It just sends the particles spinning. Attaching to other atoms.

    It is easy to argue that if God allows this or that, then he/she does not exist? Life is about free will and karma. If using free will, we able to determine whether or not there is a creator behind the scenes? Becomes the key.

    Religion is not exclusive to any sect. One may be religious. Without churches or books. It is found in our hearts. Every action has an equal and opposite one. That’s karma, in action. It may not always be apparent?Yet it’s there. When we die. Our karmic actions determine our next life. It is not just a black void.

    Our karmic action determines our next life. Whether here? Or on some distant planet, in the universe. This universe or another? Nobody truly knows. Yet there are plenty of “signs” pointing to it. One just has to look in the right places. Please retain your scepticism. Believe only what your heart tells you. We only have to be open to the concepts. Cheers Jamie.
    Holding the Ball https://hirundinedotnet2.wordpress.com/

  11. Pingback: Cheese Fondue and a Horoscope | KingMidget's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

