KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

If You Are a Republican in America


According to the polls, the current leader for the nomination as the Republican standard-bearer for 2016 is this man.  Read the article.  Watch the video.  Reach your own conclusions.  But your leading candidate for the nomination to serve as President of the United States who sees nothing wrong with belittling and dehumanizing virtually every … well, I don’t even know how to finish that sentence.  How about this … everybody who isn’t him.

So …

If You Are a Republican in America …

DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

P.S.  There is so much more I could have said here, but I’m trying to hold my fire.  I’m trying to see if the Republican voters and the Republican Party will return to some level of sanity and normalcy.  It’s up to you if you are a Republican in America.

12 responses to “If You Are a Republican in America

  1. cinthiaritchie November 25, 2015 at 7:40 pm

    This scares the hell out of me. The people in the country scare the hell out of me. Is there really so much hate and narrow-mindedness? Do people really care about skin color? Do they really hate minorities so much? I thought we were progressive, I thought we had come so far. All of this really depresses me. And, like I said, scares the hell out of me.

    • kingmidget November 25, 2015 at 7:47 pm

      I have always believed there is about 1/3 of this country for which I can have no hope. The question is what’s going on with the other 2/3. What stuns me is that Ben Carson rose and now is falling as more evidence comes out about his complete lack of any qualification to be able to serve as President, but Trump, no matter what he says or does, continues to ride at just about 25% support within the Republican Party. On some level, that supports my view about there being a certain percentage for which there is no hope. On the other hand … REALLY?!?!?!?!?! One of the other things I’ve been saying for years is this … I live in California, one of the bluest of blue states. As a result of that, people who live here have no concept of just how conservative other parts of the country are, and we don’t understand how a man like Trump, or Carson, or Cruz, or … can appeal to as many people as they do.

  2. Carrie Rubin November 25, 2015 at 8:00 pm

    Oh, I can’t even. How horrible. And then he always tries to excuse it afterward by saying his actions weren’t deliberate. That looked pretty deliberate to me. Talk about unpresidential. Ugh.

    • kingmidget November 25, 2015 at 8:06 pm

      It boggles my mind that he is anywhere above 2% support in the polls, but that he continues to lead? It says something is deeply wrong with our country. I regularly wonder if this is all just a ploy — that he really is doing this just to see how far he can go. That this was all just a stupid little game he wanted to play and he is just as stunned by his “success” so far as the rest of us.
      But, then, he just keeps on going … and getting worse.
      Can you imagine what would happen if Clinton made fun of a disabled person?

      • Carrie Rubin November 25, 2015 at 8:20 pm

        I was speculating the same thing to my husband last night about Trump never expecting to get this far, and now it’s just snowballing on. He’s going with the flow and seeing how far he can take it.

        And yes, if Clinton had done that, they’d convene yet another hearing.

  3. Kevin Brennan November 25, 2015 at 8:14 pm

    I feel like we’re coming to a tipping point, where the heinousness of these positions will become obvious, but somehow that tipping point keeps getting pushed further out. We’re all hearing the F word this week — Fascism — and that’s not far from reality. After all, “Fascism should more appropriately be called Corporatism because it is a merger of state and corporate power.” Ask the man who said that. Mussolini.

    • kingmidget November 25, 2015 at 8:19 pm

      When Reagan was President, I said this … “I’m not sure if I agreed with any position or policy of Ronald Reagan” … and that was at the tender age of an individual in his late teens and early 20’s. When GWB was President, I said this … “I’m not sure there is anything he has done that I agree with.” And, now, listening to Trump speak, I say this … “I simply do not understand how we have grown up in the same country. He speaks a foreign language that bears no meaning to me and holds values that have no significance to me.” Tipping point? You betcha and I worry about what direction we’re going to tip. I have optimism that it will tip in my the direction I favor, but, living in liberal California, I worry we don’t truly understand the conservatism of other parts of the country.

      • Kevin Brennan November 25, 2015 at 10:20 pm

        I think the conservatism you’re talking about is really a myopic form of identity politics, in which people can’t see beyond their own limited world. They don’t think in terms of universal rights; they think in terms of their rights. They see their community, their family, their needs, and their viewpoint. Nothing else.

        To say the least, it’s depressing. It’s also very destructive.

  4. Pamela Beckford November 26, 2015 at 6:35 am

    And I live in a totally red state (Indiana) where our governor has embarrassed those of us who are reasonable time and time again. I am so fearful of what is going to happen. I truly believed that Trump would make a splash and then go away – unfortunately the longer it goes on, the more worried I am. Where are all the people who agree that he is just an entertainer and not qualified to lead our country????? As much as I really don’t want any of the republican candidates to be president, I am especially worried about a couple of them.

    • kingmidget November 26, 2015 at 7:27 am

      “Where are all the people who agree that he is just an entertainer and not qualified to lead our country?????”

      His support in the Republican party has never got above about 25-28%. I’m still hoping that as more of the bottom tier candidates drop out, support will coalesce around an alternative. And it looks like people have wearied of Carson, so hopefully it won’t be him.

  5. sknicholls November 26, 2015 at 7:57 am

    Trump is such a loose cannon, I can’t comprehend how ANYBODY can see him as Presidential material.

Leave a Reply

