KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

I Hate Myself


There I said it.  I … hate … myself.

What could bring this bold and public statement about?  There are so many options, but yes, you’re right, it’s because of that.

If you saw my last post, you’ll know that I’m hooked.

For months now I have been telling myself that I would not succumb.  I would be strong and recognize the folly of the thing.  I would ignore the articles, the bloggers, the pundits, and the debates.  I would read a little just to keep in touch with the substance, and then vote in November 2016.

But I would not be sucked into it.

I would not.

Ummm …

Yeah.

Sure.

Who was I fooling?

I can’t help myself.  I just find this election thing so utterly fascinating, so compelling.  So … sickening and disgusting.  I can’t help but watch.  Others are addicted to Survivor.  Dancing with the Stars.  America’s Got Talent.  The Walking Dead.  Me.  I’m addicted to watching the San Francisco Giants.  And, yes, the train crash that is the American Presidential selection process — which may actually bear some resemblance to The Walking Dead, which I know nothing about except it has something to do with the zombie apocalypse.  And if you watch enough, read enough, and think enough about American Presidential politics, I’m sure you’ll get the comparison.

So, anyway.

I’m absolutely totally hooked.  I’ve got to see what the right wing bloggers are saying about the latest debate, the latest Trump kerfluffle (I mean, seriously, he couldn’t actually suggest to the New Hampshire whacko that the idea of Obama being a Muslim is kind of a dead issue?).  I have to see what the left wing bloggers are saying in response.  I read voraciously about the tos and fros of the whole thing and it never seems to be enough.

I’m thrilled with Bernie Sanders (more on that at some later point, but I’ll just say now that it is because of my undying idealism), disgusted by almost everybody else.

And in the last couple of days something has happened that reveals the depths of my problem.

I have willingly …

Voluntarily …

Picked up my TV remote …

And in an effort to see what somebody, anybody is saying about what happened each day …

Turned on Fox News.

Help me.

Please.

The election is still almost 14 months away.

Help me.

Please.

Stage an intervention.

Save me from myself.

11 responses to “I Hate Myself

  1. Carrie Rubin September 18, 2015 at 8:04 pm

    Haha, I love this because I could say ‘ditto’ to everything. How I’ve gotten so caught up in this GOP rat race is beyond me. But at least I haven’t turned on Fox News yet. At least I still have that.

  2. Ike Jakson September 18, 2015 at 8:44 pm

    You want to tell me that you are going through this for politicians? Good grief, they all belong to the same species; sold their soul for money or expediency. Get on with your life, friend. No politician is worth this agony.

    IkeJ

  3. sknicholls September 18, 2015 at 9:11 pm

    I’m not going to discourage you because, quite frankly, your analysis of daily events is my greatest source of decent info.

  4. Kevin Brennan September 19, 2015 at 8:00 am

    Fox News? Oh man. You’re in deep, alright.

    Reminds me of the days when I used to listen to Rush Limbaugh just to get my pinko juices flowing. Ultimately I had to give it up because of blood pressure risks…

Leave a Reply

