KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Book Review My Way — Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion


I’m struggling to figure out how to satisfy my reading needs these days.  I go for weeks relying on the library, then I buy a couple of paperbacks, then a few e-books for my Kindle, and back and forth I go.  I think that’s a good thing because each avenue leads me to different kinds of books.

With my Kindle, I struggle to pay “full price” for e-books.  What amazes me is that there are traditionally published books where the e-book costs more than the paperback.  Lots of them.  I just find that stunning and exhibit A of what is fundamentally wrong with the publishing world these days.  As a result of that struggle, I decided to start looking in the bargain bin in the Kindle Store and see what’s there.  This was prompted in part by Carrie Rubin offering up a couple of recent novels she read and enjoyed.  One of which was, although traditionally published, was in the $2.99 for the e-book range.  I read it.  It wasn’t classic literature.  But it was a page-turner.  So, I went back to the bargain bin for seconds.

Somewhere in the Kindle Deals section I came across Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion.  The blurb seemed interesting.  It was decently reviewed and it was only a couple of bucks.  So, I bought it and started reading it yesterday.  And by the end of the first paragraph, I was disgusted.  Here is the final sentence of that first paragraph:

My friend M says the irony of being a zombie is that everything is funny, but you can’t smile, because your lips have rotted off.

A zombie novel?  Seriously?  I did not sign up for zombies.  Count me as somebody who has completely avoided the whole zombie craze.  As I read and boiled at the introduction of a zombie as the narrator, I was convinced that the Amazon blurb for this book made no mention of zombies.  It didn’t.  I insist it didn’t.  I would have never bought the damn thing if it had.  I have absolutely no interest in zombies.  And even less in zombie love stories.

So, yeah, 24 hours later I read the final pages of Warm Bodies.  The e-book ends with a sample of Isaac Marion’s next book, The New Hunger, a prequel to Warm Bodies.  I thought about it.  I thought about writing this post.  I thought some more.  I was going to slam the powers that be that would write a book blurb that leaves out that key ingredient to the story.

Then I started thinking about the story and that there was another book about the two main characters … how they got to where they were when Warm Bodies picked up … and I started to get intrigued by the idea.  There was something about Warm Bodies that just got its hooks in me, zombies and all.  I wanted more about these characters, as unrealistic and farfetched as the whole story was.  I wanted more.

So, I went to Amazon and checked out Book #2.  It’s only available in paperback.  From third party sellers.  This for a “follow-up” prequel to a novel that was apparently made into a movie and is published by Vintage.  No e-book.  No availability through Amazon.

Here’s the kicker.  I checked the blurb out again to confirm its content before I went off here about the foul practices of the publishing industry.  And there it is in the second sentence of the blurb:

R is having a no-life crisis — he is a zombie.

I absolutely guarantee that sentence wasn’t there when I looked at this book to buy a couple of days.  What happened?

What happened is that I read a story that started with annoyance and frustration and turned into something I wanted more of.  And, oddly enough, it aint there.

Now I don’t know what to do.

6 responses to “A Book Review My Way — Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

  1. sarahmarcel1 September 7, 2015 at 7:22 pm

    Have you watched the movie?

  2. Carrie Rubin September 7, 2015 at 9:45 pm

    Did you get “The Kind Worth Killing” for $2.99? I assume that’s the book you’re referring to since you mentioned to me you read that after seeing my review. I didn’t get that good of a price. I think I paid over $10. Which I really don’t like doing for an ebook… (And I tend to avoid zombies too. Not my cup of tea.)

Leave a Reply

