KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

I’ve Been Snookered


I’ve written before about how much I love my beer.  It’s been years, however, since I’ve willingly drunk from the mass-producers.  With all of the craft brewing and microbreweries around, there’s no reason to drink the swill from Budweiser, Coors, et al.

Sadly, some of the craft brewers have been bought by the big guys over the years.  That’s not to say the craft brewers work will suffer, but, you know, you’ve got to wonder.  Unfortunately, even if Budweiser or Coors owns a craft brewer, it’s not easy to find that out from the label.  They hide their involvement, which increases the concern, you know what I mean.

So, I’m in the grocery store a few hours ago.  I see a six-pack of something new that I’ve never seen before.  It’s a lager from Resignation Brewery.  On the label, they have a rebellious slogan — Resign from the Routine.  I looked around on the label some more to make sure I wasn’t buying a beer marketed as a craft beer but manufactured by one of the mass producers.  I didn’t see anything.  But still I wondered.  Other than the rebellious slogan, the packaging screamed Budweiser or Coors.  There’s something about craft brewers and their label and packaging design that can jump out at a person.  Their designs are trendy, snarky, artistic.  The mass producers?  Eh, not so much.

So, I bought a six pack of the aforementioned Gold Lager.  Took it home.  Fridged it for a couple of hours.  I just opened one and poured it into my frosted glass.  And looked a closer look at the label.  It’s brewed by Red Hook Brewery — which was one of the original craft brewers to make it big.  And which was bought by Anheuser-Busch a number of years ago.  The Anheuser-Busch that makes Budweiser and all its progeny.  Sigh.

The beer tastes like a slightly better version of Budweiser.  Craft beer it aint.  Sigh.

In other news, I wrote this post while taking a break from writing.  Working on Northville Five and Dime, Part Two.  Wish me luck.

5 responses to “I’ve Been Snookered

  1. Pingback: Fooled Twice | KingMidget's Ramblings

  2. sknicholls August 2, 2015 at 6:46 pm

    Good luck. I’m stalled on chapter fifteen of The Conduit. Have an editor who did an IE of one chapter, but I’m having some concerns about his methods. Got to communicate these.

    • kingmidget August 2, 2015 at 7:31 pm

      I wrote a chapter and I think I know where the next few chapters are headed.

      Regarding you and your editor, all I can say is this … I totally respect your effort to find an editor to guide you towards the finish line … and this … be careful with it, you still need to honor your instinct and intuition about how to tell your story.

      I would love to see what your editor is suggesting you should do. I personally don’t know how anybody can edit a chapter without seeing the entire story. But that’s just me.

      • sknicholls August 2, 2015 at 7:39 pm

        The IE is supposed to be a sample edit, so you can see how they work and they can see how you write. When I worked with the lady who referred me to this editor, as he has experience with thrillers, crime novels, horror…, she did a sample edit and her work is what I am familiar with. I understood the mark throughs, she color coded blue any words she added, she highlighted things she liked in green. Her comments were in a bubble to the side. She referred me to this guy and he sent the edit back with rewrites and at the END of each thing he changed, he highlighted the last word in the sentence and put comments in the bubbles. It’s hard for me to zero in on what changes he made. I’m going line-by-line. What a chore. Nothing in red. It’s confusing.

  3. Trent Lewin August 3, 2015 at 5:27 am

    Some luck coming your way, Mark.
    I usually whip out the smartphone in the beer store, and it generally tells me what is what. Pathetic, I know.

Leave a Reply

