KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Fooled Twice


Fool me once, shame on you.  Fool me twice, shame on me.  Go back to that linked piece and I complained about a beer packaged as a craft beer that is really produced by a brewer owned by Anheusere-Busch.  A lager that has all the features of a mass-produced bottle of swill and not much related to that of a craft beer.

I also bought 312, an “Urban Pale Ale” brewed by Goose Island Brewing Co., a craft brewer that got its start in Chicago in 1988 as a single brewpub.  I just googled Goose Island.  Guess what Wikipedia has to say about it — owned by Anheuser-Busch.  Guess what it doesn’t taste like?  A craft brewed pale ale.  Pale Ale should be hoppy, not massively so, but hoppy enough to have a bite to it.  This beer — almost no bite.  Instead just some odd something that bears no relationship to a pale ale.

I’m going back to my tried and true brews and focusing on all of the local breweries that have cropped up in the last year or two.  At least I know they are interested in producing quality beer and not owning the world.

5 responses to “Fooled Twice

  1. John W. Howell August 3, 2015 at 5:56 am

    I have been totally impressed with IPAs. I find it hard to drink the regular stuff anymore. I got an IPA brewing kit for father’s day and need to get it going.

    • kingmidget August 3, 2015 at 6:31 am

      I’ll have an IPA every now and then. My biggest issue with the new craft brewers is their need to maximize the hops. For a long time, IPAs were the hoppiest beers around. Now, they are almost mild in comparison to what brewers are doing. My preference is for pilsners and lagers, but a pale ale, an IPA, and a laundry list of other styles every now and then is a good thing.

  2. Kevin Brennan August 3, 2015 at 7:29 am

    Luckily there are still plenty of good indie beers out there. I used to do a little homebrewing and even grew my own hops one year, believe it or not. My results were never as good as the local brewpub stuff so I stopped trying to replicate it. Sad, though, when a perfectly good small operation sells out to one of the big boys. The quality never survives.

    • kingmidget August 3, 2015 at 12:49 pm

      I home brewed for about five years. Gave it up for time with the kids. What was I thinking? Also, as you say, as much as I enjoyed it most of what I made wasn’t as good as the craft brewers. As for the corporate takeover of the successful microbreweries, it is sad. Fortunately, there are enough indies out there to keep us beer snobs happy.

  3. Philip Walter August 8, 2015 at 9:05 pm

    There is a local craft brewer Emerson’s that was taken over by one of the big brewers, however they’ve managed to maintain their own identity and quality without any drop in quality, which is remarkable, and rare I would imagine. Other big brewers have tried to market ‘craft’ beer, one even used the name ‘Crafty Beggars’ It was dross.

Leave a Reply

