KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Love Over Hate


Over on the right side of this blog is a quote from Martin Luther King, Jr.:  I have decided to stick with love. Hate is too great a burden to bear.

Here is probably the most powerful representation of that message I have ever seen.  (By the way, there are multiple videos in a series at the head of the article.  You should watch them all.)

13 responses to “Love Over Hate

  1. Trent Lewin June 21, 2015 at 5:15 pm

    This one really mucked with my head, Mark. I feel like we’re reaching a tipping point. But love is the answer. It is always the answer. I saw the movie Selma on a plane today and was in tears at several points. There are such old, belligerent wounds in our history, I don’t know what but time – and the aforementioned love – will take them away.

    • kingmidget June 22, 2015 at 5:53 am

      I don’t know what’s going to happen. The reality is that there are two sides of the human race. Those who find it easier to love and those who find it easier to hate. There will always be some of the latter and these days there seems to be a lot of the latter.

      • Trent Lewin June 22, 2015 at 5:10 pm

        Our better nature is made of great stuff. And we are all made of stars.

      • Trent Lewin June 22, 2015 at 5:25 pm

        Are you going to publish any fiction for us any time soon, by the way? How is the writing going? Is it going and if so, how’s it feeling?

      • kingmidget June 22, 2015 at 7:06 pm

        Ummm … more later. 😉 No, seriously, I read this comment when I got home from work. Then I went for a 3.5 mile run and thought about how to answer it. I’m still trying to figure that out.

      • Trent Lewin June 23, 2015 at 4:42 am

        Come on Mark. I feel like I’m the only one publishing fiction on WordPress these days. It’s a lonely hole into which I have descended. Bring your running shoes and join me. We will run around in circles, and make the hole that much deeper – who knows where it will go.

      • kingmidget June 23, 2015 at 6:25 am

        You know, you’re right. Compared to a year or two ago, I’m not seeing much fiction posted in my reader. There are still a few, but not as much. I’m working on it, Trent, I’m working on it. I’ve got something I’m going to try to finish — your comment prompted me to take a look at it again and I came up with an idea — so we’ll see. Thanks for the prodding.

      • Trent Lewin June 23, 2015 at 5:49 pm

        WordPress is a bit of a wasteland for fiction. Not the right audience for it and the people who write it tend to be hermits. I have to tell you, I can’t handle much more about the amazing oddities of peoples’ lives… I want more. I want stories.

        I hope you get at it, Mark. If you do, I’ll be there to read.

      • kingmidget June 23, 2015 at 8:50 pm

        There is a very small community of people on WordPress that I enjoy. It’s like a little bit of a family away from my family, but about 98.7% of what’s in my reader every day is stuff that I just pass on by. And very little of the fiction seems to be worth reading. Maybe I’m just following the wrong blogs? Or maybe it’s a problem with my attention span? But that’s why I appreciate your occasional forays into fiction — it is always worth the time. I was planning on plugging back into a short story I got stalled on tonight, but instead we had a solar power rep visit us and we decided to have solar installed on our roof. So tomorrow.

      • kingmidget June 22, 2015 at 8:14 pm

        I’ll leave it at this, my internal editor is killing me. I simply have not figured out how to turn the bastard off and he/she/it keeps telling me what I try to write is crap and I can’t get past that.

      • Trent Lewin June 23, 2015 at 5:55 pm

        Mark, I always think of you as a progressive type, but I suggest you go buy a gun and shoot that internal editor dead. He or she is up to no good – and likely wearing a black hat as they contrive all manner of mischief. They are simply not to be trusted. Maybe your internal editor is a character, and you should talk about how they’re harrassing you, and what you’re going to do about it. Because you have to do something about it. You can’t get in the way of your own writing, my man. Let it out and don’t bother editing, and see what happens. Trust yourself – you are a damn fine writer, just believe that and let it happen.

      • kingmidget June 23, 2015 at 8:51 pm

        Thank you, sir. I spend a part of every day trying to figure it all out. Maybe I need to perform an exorcism, or get a proverbial gun and fire one bullet. You may be on to something there. Thank you for the encouragement.

      • Trent Lewin June 24, 2015 at 3:41 am

        Exorcise it with the writing, my man. I need you posting some fiction, seriously I feel entirely alone. There are a few others writing, but so few and it is a number that’s dropped off. Reaffirm my faith in the creative spirit that burns within us!

Leave a Reply

