KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Discuss Amongst Yourselves


The church message board right outside my neighborhood is regular fodder for my never-ending dialogue.  Last week’s message was this:

If it’s over your head, it’s under God’s feet.

So, what I think of when I hear something is underfoot is that the thing underfoot is getting trampled on.  Is there something I’m missing here?  Discuss among yourselves and get back to me in the comments.

And this week’s message:

Ever been falsely accused?  That’s what happened to Jesus.

This one completely baffles me.  I don’t know where to begin with that or where to end.  What do you think?  Discuss amongst yourselves and get back to me.

Ultimately, what I don’t get about either of those messages is how they are intended to communicate anything positive to the community at large.  Again, am I missing something?

11 responses to “Discuss Amongst Yourselves

  1. sknicholls June 7, 2015 at 1:54 pm

    No. They are simply meant to incite.

    • kingmidget June 7, 2015 at 3:25 pm

      If that’s the case, I’m not sure what they’re accomplishing. Seems to me the message board is supposed to be about letting the community know about their services and the reasons people should walk through the doors. Oddly, I rarely see a message that’s very inviting. But, then that’s probably just me. 😉

      • sknicholls June 7, 2015 at 3:54 pm

        It’s not just you. Greg and I talk about it all the time. There are so many churches and a few times you will see things like, “Rejoice, He is risen!” and then you pass one that says, “Give God what’s right, not what’s left.” There’s even a church sign generator for people who want to crap lies in the name of the church on FB and other social media sites. http://www.says-it.com/churchsigns/ Don’t like what you see? You can make your own.

      • kingmidget June 7, 2015 at 4:00 pm

        Don’t tempt me. 😉

  2. Trent Lewin June 7, 2015 at 4:41 pm

    You’re not missing anything, Mark. In fact, if God is kicking back drinking a beer, he would probably get a chuckle out of all this.

  3. John Callaghan June 7, 2015 at 8:22 pm

    You’re making Jesus cry.

  4. John W. Howell June 8, 2015 at 1:30 pm

    It’s under the preach, teach and reach tenet of churches. No real intent to provide information just to make you wonder and as a result they might have a shot at your soul (and 10% pledge)

  5. coastalmom April 1, 2017 at 8:19 am

    LOL. I used to be in charge of the message board at my work. It could be funny and inspirational but politically correct. When we were posting job opportunities once my boss had me put:

    If you are awesome inquire within
    If you are not… try down the street!

    Within an hour, the owner called and said he’d gotten a complaint from the hotel up the street… lol.
    Anywaaay, I was set free to post whatever I wanted most of the time. like…
    The squeaky wheel doesn’t always get the oil…
    sometimes it just gets replaced!

    When there was a particularly annoying staff member I was dealing with.

    But I hear ya on the church message-boards. There is a thin line there. I feel that you have a second to make a difference. You can either post something that pricks the soul and makes someone think or feel about their own life…. it is not the place for agendas.

Leave a Reply

