KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

I Did A Dangerous Thing


Regular readers will know that I’ve been struggling with remaining physically active since tearing a groin muscle four or five years ago.  After about five years of running regularly, including running four half marathons, my running ground to a halt while I tried to rehab the muscle tear.  The rehab never really took, and I’ve tried off and on to start running again.  Each time I do so I tell myself that my objective is to be able to run three to five miles three or four times a week.  And nothing more.  I’ve been doing better at that over the past six months, but I went through a lull for a few months.  Until about a month ago.  I decided I had to get back to running.  For several reasons.  First, just for the overall health benefits.  Second, because I’m going on my first backpacking trip next month and I need to have some level of fitness to do that.

So, I started running regularly again a couple of weeks ago.  Just three to five miles several times a week.  That’s all.  Nothing more.  There is no half marathon in my future, so longer distances are unnecessary.  I’m just doing this for the general health benefits.  Right?  Right.

This weekend, I did this.  On Saturday, I went for a three or four mile hike near Auburn.  I was breaking in my new hiking boots and exploring the confluence of the North Fork and Middle Fork of the American River.  On Sunday, I went for a run.  Five miles.  As I approached the end, I was itching for more because things were feeling good.  This is the thing I have noticed about running.  The first couple of miles are always difficult.  My calves are typically tight and a joint here or a muscle there complains.  But then things start to loosen up, the endorphins kick in, my breathing evens out, and I get in a rhythm.  The tightness and discomfort of those first couple of miles go away and the next few miles are almost … enjoyable.  Which leads me to consider more miles.

I didn’t do that on Sunday because I figured with the day off on Monday, I could go for another run.  Which I did.  7.5 miles and when I stopped I was still in that “I could run further” zone.

Which all leads to why this is a dangerous thing.  If I can run 7.5 miles relatively comfortably, can I run 13.1?

I’ve told myself that I’ll never run that distance again.

Yes, I’ve told myself that.

But…

15 responses to “I Did A Dangerous Thing

  1. sknicholls May 26, 2015 at 6:45 am

    Be careful with yourself. I dunno. Seems like quite a while has passed since your original problem and you’ve taken good care of yourself. May not become problematic.

    • kingmidget May 26, 2015 at 6:54 am

      Oh, it’s still there. Just doesn’t bother me at the distances I’m running. With the longer distances — anything over ten miles — it was always the last couple of miles that killed me. Thank you for the encouragement.

  2. Nurse Kelly May 26, 2015 at 7:20 am

    I am an avid runner as well. I know exactly what you mean. But with those distances you could aggravate your injury and then not even be able to run 1 mile! If I were you, I would cut back and stay consistent for a long time at a shorter distance – for like a year. I did a post on avoiding running injuries recently, and that feeling of invincibility can get us in trouble! I hope you are doing other exercises as well so your muscles are balanced – that is truly key to preventing injuries. All the best to do! That really rocks that you’ve done half marathons! The longest I’ve done competitively is a 10K! 🙂

  3. Carrie Rubin May 26, 2015 at 7:22 am

    As we get older, it’s all about modification. But it still stinks when we can’t–or know we shouldn’t–do the things we used to. I had to recently give up reverse crunches for ab work. Had a disc injury that’s healed up nicely since I quit reinjuring it with that type of core work. And when I travel, I always liked to run about six miles on the hotel treadmill, mixing up jogging with all-out sprints. Can’t do those sprints anymore thanks to my knees. Can only run at a 6.0 pace or slower for about three miles, and only after a long warm-up. My stupid knees.

    So in other words, be careful and listen to that little voice inside you that says, “Proceed with caution, proceed with caution.” 😉

  4. Kevin Brennan May 26, 2015 at 9:20 am

    Another voice of caution. I wrecked my knees up doing too much too soon, and I regret that I can’t run now (though hiking’s not a problem). Maybe the human body isn’t built for the things we love to do!

  5. Kathy May 26, 2015 at 10:46 am

    Congrats to you!

  6. Amy Reese May 26, 2015 at 11:37 am

    Wow, good for you! If you can run past that 7.5 mile mark, go for it. Listen to your body. I would still just increase in small increments to be on the safe side. I haven’t felt that rush or endorphins for some time. I’m jealous.

    • kingmidget May 26, 2015 at 12:17 pm

      Yes. In my head I’m now thinking of 3 – 4 mile runs during the week with a 6 – 7 mile run each weekend. And sticking to that for a month or so. We’ll see. It’s weird how this all goes. A couple of weeks ago I walked out my door and didn’t make it to the first corner because of intense pain in both knees. I was very frustrated. Since then things have gone much better.

  7. atkokosplace May 26, 2015 at 2:16 pm

    I’ve had to adjust some things in order to work around injuries. I do too much and I know this. Taking it easy is not in my vocal, but I know I must in order to not make things worse, then a longer recoup. I pulled out my left elbow doing pull-ups and my right forearm lifting heavy weights. Both my fault as my technique was off those days. For me I know I have to have my head on right otherwise I get hurt. Gah! Well, I hope you find your groove and you don’t hurt yourself. Enjoy the run and your hike! Koko

    • kingmidget May 27, 2015 at 6:26 am

      Thank you for the encouragement. I’m going to try to settle into a running routine for the next few weeks with distances that are a little longer than originally planned and see what happens. Injuries and age suck.

Leave a Reply

