KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

51 Questions


You ever stop at a stop light and while a pedestrian walks in front of you and you make sure you are stamped down on the brake pedal, become convinced that it just won’t matter, that your car is going to leap forward and knock the pedestrian to the ground?

You ever drive home, sitting alone in your car, trying to escape the work day and settle in for the home life and imagine that somewhere out there is a parallel universe in which there is another version of you living a happier life?

Or maybe there’s another parallel universe in which there is another version of you driving home along the same road, living a much unhappier life?

And do you think that maybe, just maybe, given the choices, you’ll take the muddled middle in which you find yourself?

Do you ever wonder how the hell cotton candy is made?

I mean seriously, it’s basically just sugar.  How do they do it?

For you Americans, do you ever wonder how we got as screwed up as we have?

I’m thinking of our political system — is it possible it could get any worse?

Or do you think, the reality is that we are humans, and any system is going to be screwed up and we are no different?

But, really, if it’s as bad as it is now and it’s always kind of been like this, how have we survived this long?

For the rest of you who aren’t American, isn’t it obnoxious for us Americans to believe we are so special that it is only our system that is screwed up?

I mean, I read a lot of news about other countries — aren’t many, if not most, of them just as screwed up as we are?

What do you think about cops wearing body cameras?

Will the Giants turn things around?

Why is it that their ownership and management cannot spend the tens of millions of dollars they make winning a World Series on bringing in players that will ensure they remain competitive?

How do I figure out how to begin writing again?

You blog, you write, do you ever wonder why?

I was thinking about trying to start a positive blogging experiment.  Yes, I know.  There are others that have launched similar efforts.  But I realized that I, along with many bloggers I follow, frequently write complaints, miseries, things that are about what’s missing instead of what isn’t.  You in?

Or are you out?

Is there something missing from your life?

Do you wonder that?

Something fundamental and basic that means you, yes you, are not complete?

If you do, what do you do about it?

Do you file the thought away and just keep going?

Or is there a moment when you say … you know, it’s time for me to find that missing piece and plug it in and complete the jigsaw that is me?

What is that moment?

When is that moment?

What if it never comes?

Can we do something to ensure that the next President of the United States is neither a Clinton nor a Bush?

Yes, you and I, let’s start a movement to make sure of that.  Are you in?

Or are you out?

Where are you tonight?

Where will you be tomorrow?

If I could grant you the opportunity to be wherever you could be five years from now, where would it be?

Is this enough?

Have I asked you enough questions?

Did one of them maybe make you stop and think?

To laugh?

To cry?

Don’t you think any of those outcomes are good?

Isn’t sadness a part of life?

Of the human existence?

Shouldn’t we embrace it just as much as everything else rather than running from it?

Same with fear, right?

Same with doubt, too?

Who?

What?

When?

Where?

Why?

How?

10 responses to “51 Questions

  1. Pamela Beckford April 22, 2015 at 4:14 am

    The answers are all either yes, no, maybe, and it depends

  2. Carrie Rubin April 22, 2015 at 7:30 am

    Oh, my head is spinning. But not from all your questions. It’s spinning from the political maelstrom the 2016 election could turn out to be. I was reading the paper this morning and saw the long list of potential Republican candidates (why does Donald Trump always have to be on there? Ugh) and the very, very short list of Democratic candidates. One lone name. Quite the contrast.

  3. sknicholls April 22, 2015 at 3:45 pm

    The answers, my friend, are blowing in the wind. The answers are blowing in the wind.

  4. Amy Reese April 22, 2015 at 6:26 pm

    I can’t even begin to think about 2016 politics. I’m watching House of Cards. Watch it? I love Kevin Spacey. I decided this is as involved in politics as I can be right now. Oh, I’m kidding. But maybe I’m not!

Leave a Reply

