KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Lesson I Keep Forgetting


It is impossible to reason with the unreasonable.

8 responses to “A Lesson I Keep Forgetting

  1. Bruce Thiesen April 15, 2015 at 9:03 pm

    Almost by definition…

    (See Middle East.)

    • kingmidget April 15, 2015 at 9:05 pm

      Yes. I keep hoping that by presenting facts and rational thought those who depend on lies might finally see the light. It has yet to happen. Why do I keep on trying? For some the comfort and ease of the lies is far better than the hard work of reason and thought.

  2. Vince Dickinson April 16, 2015 at 7:53 am

    Whether you refer to politics or marketing, emotion is what drives decision. When scientists and Al Gore told us the world was going to end because of global warming, and that became the focus of a number of image-heavy movies, it scared people into at least thinking about carbon and pollution and such.

  3. Sally April 16, 2015 at 10:38 am

    Nice! One of my lessons is similar: don’t expect normal from crazy 🙂

  4. Kathy April 16, 2015 at 6:25 pm

    I think people have their opinion and that’s that. So very many are not open to the other side, or *an* other side, or even considering a different opinion. They’ll defend their opinion/emotion/whatever to their death. They aren’t listening. There really isn’t any true communication. They pretend to listen, but when someone already deems “you’re wrong and I’m right,” all they do is pretend to listen to you. If people really listened, took time and thought about another way of thinking of something, it may change. I don’t understand why it’s difficult for people to open their minds and think about things — all things, any things — from a different perspective. You CAN hear something different from what you’re thinking or always thought, and learn something. You won’t spontaneously combust. When you refuse to think about things from other perspectives, you stagnate. I think some people don’t even realize they’ve become stagnate. It’s like now it’s just about being obstinate. And that is so boring and they don’t even realize how boring they’ve become. For some it takes suddenly walking in the shoes of others that you thought you’d never have to step in. I get that. Your mind never comprehended what someone else was going through until you went through it yourself. But that means you were lacking empathy on some level and you’d hope that experience would open your mind to other things you never had to consider. Honest debates are just that. They’re learning experiences and eye opening. In real debates, not name calling and acting like petulant children, I’ve always learned something I didn’t think about before. I’ve changed my mind on many things I thought were set in stone for me. I like hearing other views. When it’s just arguing the same thing back and forth, from both yelling parties, I just get weary and so tired. I used to like to have a good debate on politics. I don’t anymore and that saddens me. Well. You apparently struck a chord in me from somewhere. Alrighty then. I’ll just send this and go on my merry way.

    • kingmidget April 16, 2015 at 8:10 pm

      I think it’s far worse now then it has been in my lifetime. Used to be able to have really good conversations with people I disagreed with. Now, that’s virtually impossible to do. I don’t enjoy political debates anymore either because of that. We live in two different worlds these days and there’s no interest in understanding the other side or recognizing that there are shades of gray.

Leave a Reply

